Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-10-09

What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Mcallen?

In short

A veterinary clinic in Mcallen, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department charges $48 per permit, all types for the permit renewal fee. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Mcallen

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Backflow Prevention Device Permitonly if it applies to youCity of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department$4 each, for one to five devicesnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Commercial Plumbing PermitCity of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department$39.60 base fee, plus $4.80 per fixture, floor drain or trapnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Commercial Mechanical PermitCity of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department$39.60 base fee, plus $15.60 for the first $1,000 of unit value and $3.20 for each additional $1,000not stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to youTexas Department of Licensing and RegulationNo feenot yet in effect — rules being written2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Mcallen

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Electrical PermitCity of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Mcallen pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Permit Renewal Feeonly if it applies to youCity of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department$48 per permit, all typesnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Mcallen pageone-time, per application2026-10-09
Commercial Building PermitCity of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Mcallen pageone year; lapses if work is not commenced within six months of issue or is suspended or abandoned for six months2026-10-09
Commercial Remodel and Alteration PermitCity of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Mcallen pageone year; lapses if work is not commenced within six months of issue or is suspended or abandoned for six months2026-10-09
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department$79.80 per signone year; lapses if work is not commenced within six months of issue or is suspended or abandoned for six months2026-10-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Mcallen?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Mcallen, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Commercial Plumbing Permit: $39.60 base fee, plus $4.80 per fixture, floor drain or trap

Commercial Mechanical Permit: $39.60 base fee, plus $15.60 for the first $1,000 of unit value and $3.20 for each additional $1,000

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Mcallen permits page and the TX state page.

Is Mcallen expensive for a veterinary clinic?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Mcallen sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Sign Permit: Mcallen charges $79.80. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Lubbock to $114 in Amarillo, with a median of $88. 1 charges less and 3 charge more.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Sign Permit varies by $39 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Mcallen?

Permits for a veterinary clinic in Mcallen, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a veterinary clinic need in Mcallen that other businesses do not?

1 of the 4 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Mcallen: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.

Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027

Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.

Shared with other businesses in Mcallen

  • Backflow Prevention Device Permit — City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department, $4 each, for one to five devices, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, salons and barbers and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
  • Commercial Plumbing Permit — City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department, $39.60 base fee, plus $4.80 per fixture, floor drain or trap, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, auto repair shops, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
  • Commercial Mechanical Permit — City of McAllen Building Permits & Inspections Department, $39.60 base fee, plus $15.60 for the first $1,000 of unit value and $3.20 for each additional $1,000, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Mcallen, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Mcallen permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Mcallen?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A auto repair shop needs nothing here that a veterinary clinic does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Mcallen, TX, compared with a veterinary clinic
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a veterinary clinicOnly a veterinary clinic needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops3310
Coffee shops4311
Fitness studios5312
Restaurants6313
Salons and barbers3221
Retail stores5223
Contractors and trades3132
Childcare centres1041

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page, salons and barbers page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Mcallen permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.