11 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Lewisville?
In short
A auto repair shop in Lewisville, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lewisville Building Inspection Division charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Lewisville
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor Registration | City of Lewisville Building Inspection Division | $0–$100 per year, by trade | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lewisville Fire Department, Fire Prevention | $25–$75 per permit, by type | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Waste Hauler Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lewisville Health Services Division | $200 per truck | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lewisville
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Lewisville Building Inspection Division | Varies — formula on the Lewisville page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lewisville Building Inspection Division | Varies — formula on the Lewisville page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Lewisville Building Inspection Division | $100 per certificate | per certificate | 2026-08-27 |
| Electrical, Plumbing and Mechanical Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lewisville Building Inspection Division | Varies — formula on the Lewisville page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Backflow Testing and Tester Registration | City of Lewisville Health Services Division | Varies — formula on the Lewisville page | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Lewisville?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a auto repair shop in Lewisville, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Contractor Registration: $0–$100 per year, by trade
Fire Operational Permit: $25–$75 per permit, by type
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lewisville permits page and the TX state page.
Is Lewisville expensive for a auto repair shop?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Lewisville sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Lewisville charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Lewisville?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Lewisville, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Lewisville Building Inspection Division, City of Lewisville Fire Department, Fire Prevention, City of Lewisville Health Services Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Lewisville Building Inspection DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Sign Permit, Certificate of Occupancy151 W Church Street, Lewisville, TX 75057www.cityoflewisville.com/for-business/building-services/building-permits
- City of Lewisville Fire Department, Fire PreventionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Operational Permit151 W Church Street, Lewisville, TX 75057www.cityoflewisville.com
- City of Lewisville Health Services DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Backflow Testing and Tester Registration, Waste Hauler Permit151 W Church Street, Lewisville, TX 75057www.cityoflewisville.com
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Lewisville that other businesses do not?
Contractor Registration
$80 a year for a general contractor, a sign contractor, an irrigation contractor and a customer service inspector; a backflow tester is $100. Mechanical, electrical and plumbing contractors pay NO FEE — Texas licenses those trades at state level and limits what a city may charge them, and the schedule says so in as many words. That makes Lewisville unusual in naming the exempt trades explicitly rather than leaving an owner to work it out. The city's Fee Schedule effective 6 July 2026 states the $80 and the exemption in a single line, so both halves come from the same current document.
Shared with other businesses in Lewisville
- Fire Operational Permit — City of Lewisville Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $25–$75 per permit, by type, per permit. Also required for coffee shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Waste Hauler Permit — City of Lewisville Health Services Division, $200 per truck, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lewisville, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Lewisville permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Lewisville?
The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 3 of these permits. A contractor or trade needs Electrical Contractor License, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 2 | 1 | 4 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 2 | 1 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lewisville permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Lewisville Fee Schedule, effective 6 July 2026City of Lewisville · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
- City of Lewisville Code of Ordinances chapter 2, article VIII, section 2-201, Fee scheduleCity of Lewisville · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
