8 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in El Paso County Tx?
In short
No permit applies to every contractor or trade in El Paso County Tx, TX. All 8 depend on your premises, the work you do or how you are set up. El Paso County Sheriff's Office, Alarm Permit Officer charges $60 per commercial alarm permit, initial and each renewal, valid three years for the commercial security alarm permit (sheriff). 4 of the 8 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in El Paso County Tx
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Road-Cut Permit, County Roads (Road Inspection & Maintenance Fund)only if it applies to you | El Paso County Planning & Development Department | No amount is published here. The Right-of-Way Access Management Order directs Public Works to charge a fee for each cut of a county road under Local Government Code section 240.907, and the County's FY2027 adopted Schedule of Rates and Fees lists no separate road-cut row; the amounts printed in the 2018 Right-of-Way Cut & Entry Regulations are not presented here as current. Contact Planning & Development at (915) 273-3330 for the amount currently charged. | one permit per road cut; not stated as a renewable license | 2026-10-09 |
| Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $110 non-refundable application | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in El Paso County Tx
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Driveway (Right-of-Way Access) Permit, County Roadsonly if it applies to you | El Paso County Planning & Development Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso County Tx page | one permit per access point; not stated as a renewable license | 2026-10-09 |
| Floodplain Determination and Floodplain Development Permitonly if it applies to you | El Paso County Planning & Development Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso County Tx page | construction must start within 180 days of issue or the permit is void; up to two six-month extensions on written request | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Security Alarm Permit (Sheriff)only if it applies to you | El Paso County Sheriff's Office, Alarm Permit Officer | $60 per commercial alarm permit, initial and each renewal, valid three years | 3 years | 2026-09-29 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permitonly if it applies to you | El Paso County Public Works, On-Site Sewage Facility Program | Varies — formula on the El Paso County Tx page | authorization to construct valid for one calendar year; a license to operate is issued after final inspection and transfers to a new owner on sale | 2026-09-29 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in El Paso County Tx?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 8 records listed for a contractor or trade in El Paso County Tx, TX, 0 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
4 of the 8 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Road-Cut Permit, County Roads (Road Inspection & Maintenance Fund): No amount is published here. The Right-of-Way Access Management Order directs Public Works to charge a fee for each cut of a county road under Local Government Code section 240.907, and the County's FY2027 adopted Schedule of Rates and Fees lists no separate road-cut row; the amounts printed in the 2018 Right-of-Way Cut & Entry Regulations are not presented here as current. Contact Planning & Development at (915) 273-3330 for the amount currently charged.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the El Paso County Tx permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in El Paso County Tx?
Permits for a contractor or trade in El Paso County Tx, TX come from 5 separate offices: El Paso County Planning & Development Department, El Paso County Sheriff's Office, Alarm Permit Officer, El Paso County Public Works, On-Site Sewage Facility Program, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- El Paso County Planning & Development DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Driveway (Right-of-Way Access) Permit, County Roads, Road-Cut Permit, County Roads (Road Inspection & Maintenance Fund), Floodplain Determination and Floodplain Development Permit800 E Overland, Suite 200, El Paso, TX 79901 · (915) 273-3330www.epcounty.com/233/Planning-Development
- El Paso County Sheriff's Office, Alarm Permit OfficerIssues 1 permit on this page: Commercial Security Alarm Permit (Sheriff)3850 Justice Dr, El Paso, TX 79938 · (915) 538-2292www.epcounty.com/DocumentCenter/View/483/Order-Regulating-Alarm-Systems-PDF
- El Paso County Public Works, On-Site Sewage Facility ProgramIssues 1 permit on this page: On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit14698 Van Ln, El Paso, TX 79938 · (915) 273-3105www.epcounty.com/236/Public-Works
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Electrical Contractor License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
What does a contractor or trade need in El Paso County Tx that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in El Paso County Tx: Road-Cut Permit, County Roads (Road Inspection & Maintenance Fund) and Electrical Contractor License.
Road-Cut Permit, County Roads (Road Inspection & Maintenance Fund)
The County's Inspections page states that any person who undertakes work that will cut, break or otherwise damage a public street (right-of-way) must obtain a road-cut permit before beginning the work, and the application is submitted online through the County's Accela portal. The Right-of-Way Access Management Order applies only to public roads in the unincorporated area and directs Public Works to charge a fee for each cut of a county road made to install, maintain or repair a person's facilities. This record carries no amount: the County's FY2027 adopted Schedule of Rates and Fees lists no separate road-cut row, and the only printed road-cut figures are in the 2018 Right-of-Way Cut & Entry Regulations. It matters mainly to contractors and utility installers working in county roads; the Planning & Development Department (800 E Overland, Suite 200, (915) 273-3330) issues it.
Electrical Contractor License
Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in El Paso County Tx, TX; what each one involves is set out on the El Paso County Tx permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in El Paso County Tx?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Road-Cut Permit, County Roads (Road Inspection & Maintenance Fund) and Electrical Contractor License. A auto repair shop needs nothing here that a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the El Paso County Tx permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Right-of-Way Access Management Policies & Procedures Order (o21-0926, adopted 20 December 2021)El Paso County Commissioners Court · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Inspections (Planning & Development: driveways, sidewalks and road cuts)El Paso County Planning & Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- County Right-of-Way Cut & Entry Regulations, RIM and REAP (adopted 30 July 2018, effective 1 October 2018)El Paso County · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- FY2027 Adopted Budget Book, including the Schedule of Rates and Fees (adopted by Commissioners Court 14 September 2026)El Paso County · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Planning & Development (department contact)El Paso County Planning & Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
