8 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in El Paso?
In short
A veterinary clinic in El Paso, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department charges $110 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 2 of the 8 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in El Paso
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | No fee | not yet in effect — rules being written | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in El Paso
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso page | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | $110 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | $115 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in El Paso?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 8 records listed for a veterinary clinic in El Paso, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $110.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 8 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the El Paso permits page and the TX state page.
Is El Paso expensive for a veterinary clinic?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — El Paso sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: El Paso charges $110. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 11 charge less and 10 charge more.
Demolition Permit: El Paso charges $115. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 3 charge less and 2 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in El Paso?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in El Paso, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of El Paso Planning and Inspections DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Commercial Plan Review, Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Demolition Permit811 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901 · (915) 212-0104www.elpasotexas.gov/planning-and-inspections
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a veterinary clinic need in El Paso that other businesses do not?
1 of the 1 permit particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in El Paso: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027
Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in El Paso, TX; what each one involves is set out on the El Paso permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in El Paso?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A auto repair shop needs Fire Operational Permit, which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 0 | 1 | 6 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 1 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 0 | 1 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 1 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 9 | 0 | 1 | 9 |
| Retail stores | 8 | 0 | 1 | 8 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the El Paso permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
