El Paso
City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement
In short
City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement issues 6 permits we publish for El Paso, last verified 2026-08-25. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Handler Certification | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $10–$32 per person, internet or in person | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Day Care Center Permit | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $79–$170 per year, by capacity | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $79–$265 temporary, seasonal or recurrent | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $105–$263 per review, by floor area | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Administrative Change Feeonly if it applies to you | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $105 per change | per change | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $174–$685 per year, by floor area | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Food Handler Certification
$10 for the internet course with badge and certificate, $32 for the in-person certificate course. A three-fold difference for the same certification, so unless you specifically want the classroom session, the online route is the obvious one. Budget per member of staff.
Day Care Center Permit
$79 for a home child care facility of twelve or fewer, $170 for a day care centre with more than twelve. Related care permits sit on the same schedule: an adult foster care or private care home for four or fewer is $79, and a personal care home is $105 for five to eight recipients and $158 for nine to eighteen. All of these are city permits and sit on top of the state license from Texas Health and Human Services. A health and sanitary site visit for a sack lunch day care without a food permit is $47. Most lines add an unquantified "applicable tech fee"; the schedule never states what it is, so confirm it before budgeting to the dollar.
Temporary Food Establishment Permit
Three tiers, all covering exposed or unexposed food: a temporary establishment is $79, a seasonal establishment $158 and a recurrent establishment $265. El Paso is one of the few cities covered here to price "recurrent" separately from "seasonal", which matters if you trade the same pitch repeatedly through the year rather than in one block. A kiosk service permit is $105 for new permits, and an outdoor market for produce sales is $163. Most lines add an unquantified "applicable tech fee"; the schedule never states what it is, so confirm it before budgeting to the dollar.
Food Establishment Plan Review
Banded on the same floor areas as the permit: $105 under 3,000 square feet, $158 from 3,001 to 6,000, $210 from 6,001 to 9,000 and $263 above 9,000. A facility remodel is $105 whatever the size. Expedited review, turned round in three to seven business days, is the applicable plan review fee plus $158 — proportionally a much bigger premium than Williamson County's $118 on an $882 base, but on a far smaller starting figure. A site assessment is charged separately: $105 under 3,000 square feet, or $47 for premises under 200 square feet, mobile operations, outdoor markets, home day care and adult foster or personal care. Most lines add an unquantified "applicable tech fee"; the schedule never states what it is, so confirm it before budgeting to the dollar.
Administrative Change Fee
$105 for a change of business name, a change in equipment, a significant change in menu, or any other deviation from the original application where ownership does not change. The menu clause is the one operators miss: reworking a menu significantly is a notifiable change in El Paso, not a private commercial decision, and doing it without telling Code Enforcement puts you outside the terms of the permit you hold.
Food Service Establishment Permit
Four bands on floor area: $174 under 3,000 square feet, $344 from 3,001 to 6,000, $515 from 6,001 to 9,000 and $685 at 9,001 or more. Floor-area banding is unusual — most Texas cities price on turnover, employee count or risk — and it makes El Paso cheap for a small high-turnover operation and dear for a large low-margin one. The $174 entry is the second lowest of any large Texas city covered here, behind Lubbock's $100. Renew more than thirty days after expiry and a late fee of twenty per cent of the renewal is added, which on the top band is $137. Registered charitable and non-profit organisations are exempt from permit and license fees entirely. Most lines add an unquantified "applicable tech fee"; the schedule never states what it is, so confirm it before budgeting to the dollar.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- El Paso
- Phone
- (915) 212-6610
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of El Paso FY 2026 Schedule C, Departmental Fee List (85 pages)City of El Paso · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- El Paso Municipal Code section 18.02.106, Permit Fees (Ord. No. 019528, 1 August 2023) — establishes fees, states no amountsCity of El Paso · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Other offices serving El Paso
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
