13 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Brownsville?
In short
A retail store in Brownsville, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Brownsville
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Plan Review | Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plans | one-time, per review | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Aboveground Flammable Liquid Tank Permitonly if it applies to you | Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $50–$100 by permit duration | 90 days, 180 days or one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Storage Tank Permitonly if it applies to you | Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $50–$75 per tank, by type and size | not stated in the published ordinance | 2026-08-24 |
| Restaurant Permit | City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services | $100 per year | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler and Food Manager Certification | City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services | No fee | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Sprinkler System Permitonly if it applies to you | Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 heads | not stated in the published ordinance | 2026-08-24 |
| Sprinkler Modification Permitonly if it applies to you | Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $5.00 per head for 1-9 heads; $50.00 for 10 to 2,000 heads | not stated in the published ordinance | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Brownsville
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a change of use requires a new certificate | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to you | Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $50 per permit | not stated in the published ordinance | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy Fire Inspection | Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Brownsville page | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Brownsville?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a retail store in Brownsville, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Plan Review: $50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plans
Temporary Aboveground Flammable Liquid Tank Permit: $50–$100 by permit duration
Storage Tank Permit: $50–$75 per tank, by type and size
Fire Sprinkler System Permit: $100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 heads
Sprinkler Modification Permit: $5.00 per head for 1-9 heads; $50.00 for 10 to 2,000 heads
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Brownsville permits page and the TX state page.
Is Brownsville expensive for a retail store?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Brownsville sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Brownsville charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Brownsville?
Permits for a retail store in Brownsville, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division, Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Certificate of Occupancywww.brownsvilletx.gov/1919/Certificate-of-Occupancy
- Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 7 permits on this page, including Fire Alarm Permit, Fire Plan Review, Temporary Aboveground Flammable Liquid Tank Permit1001 E Elizabeth Street, Brownsville, TX 78520 · 956-546-4357www.brownsvilletx.gov/2123/Fee-Schedule
- City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal ServicesIssues 2 permits on this page: Restaurant Permit, Food Handler and Food Manager Certificationwww.brownsvilletx.gov/577/Department-of-Health-Wellness-and-Animal
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Brownsville that other businesses do not?
Fire Plan Review
$50 an hour to review sprinkler, site and fire alarm plans, with a minimum of two hours on sprinkler plans — so $100 is the floor there. Charged by time rather than by building area or device count, which is unusual: Pasadena bands the same review at $230 to $900 by square footage.
Shared with other businesses in Brownsville
- Temporary Aboveground Flammable Liquid Tank Permit — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50–$100 by permit duration, 90 days, 180 days or one year. Also required for auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Storage Tank Permit — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50–$75 per tank, by type and size, not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Restaurant Permit — City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services, $100 per year, not stated in the published material. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Handler and Food Manager Certification — City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services, No fee, not stated in the published material. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Fire Sprinkler System Permit — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 heads, not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for restaurants, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Sprinkler Modification Permit — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $5.00 per head for 1-9 heads; $50.00 for 10 to 2,000 heads, not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for restaurants, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Brownsville, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Brownsville permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Brownsville?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 5 of these permits. A retail store also needs Restaurant Permit and Food Handler and Food Manager Certification. A auto repair shop needs nothing here that a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 5 | 2 | 0 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 5 | 2 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 4 | 3 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 3 | 4 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 3 | 4 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 3 | 4 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 2 | 5 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 1 | 6 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page, restaurants page, food trucks page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brownsville permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Fee Schedule — City Code Sec. 50-73, Fire prevention feesBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
