Commercial Compliance Hub

10 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Brownsville?

In short

A childcare centre in Brownsville, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Brownsville

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Plan ReviewBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plansone-time, per review2026-08-24
Fire Sprinkler System Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 headsnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Sprinkler Modification Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$5.00 per head for 1-9 heads; $50.00 for 10 to 2,000 headsnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Child Care LicenseTexas Health and Human Services$35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacityannual2026-08-20

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Brownsville

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a change of use requires a new certificate2026-08-24
Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50 per permitnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy Fire InspectionBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Brownsville pageper inspection2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Brownsville?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a childcare centre in Brownsville, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Plan Review: $50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plans

Fire Sprinkler System Permit: $100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 heads

Sprinkler Modification Permit: $5.00 per head for 1-9 heads; $50.00 for 10 to 2,000 heads

Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Brownsville permits page and the TX state page.

Is Brownsville expensive for a childcare centre?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Brownsville sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Brownsville charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Brownsville?

Permits for a childcare centre in Brownsville, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division, Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Brownsville that other businesses do not?

1 of the 4 permits particular to a childcare centre here applies to no other business type we cover in Brownsville: Child Care License.

Sprinkler Modification Permit

Moving nine sprinkler heads or fewer costs $5 a head — as little as $5 for a single head. From ten heads up to two thousand it is a flat $50. This is the cheapest way through a partition change in any city covered here, and it is worth knowing before a landlord quotes a fit-out on the assumption that touching the sprinklers means a full system permit.

Child Care License

Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.

Shared with other businesses in Brownsville

  • Fire Plan Review — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plans, one-time, per review. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Fire Sprinkler System Permit — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 heads, not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Brownsville, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Brownsville permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Brownsville?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 3 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Child Care License. A fitness studio needs Health Spa Certificate of Registration, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Brownsville, TX, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios4311
Veterinary clinics4311
Auto repair shops5312
Restaurants7314
Retail stores7314
Contractors and trades5223
Coffee shops3043
Food trucks2042
Salons and barbers1041

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brownsville permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Fee Schedule — City Code Sec. 50-73, Fire prevention feesBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.