18 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Burleson?
In short
A retail store in Burleson, TX has 10 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Burleson Environmental Health charges $15 per person for the food handler class. 14 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Burleson
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Service Permit | City of Burleson Environmental Health | $150–$400 per year, by floor area | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Establishment Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Burleson Environmental Health | $100–$175 by inspection type | per inspection | 2026-08-27 |
| Grocery Permit | City of Burleson Environmental Health | $275–$400 per year, by floor area | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Temporary and Seasonal Food Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Burleson Environmental Health | $50–$100 temporary or seasonal | per event, or seasonal | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | City of Burleson Environmental Health | $0–$100 per review, by floor area | per review | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Handler Class | City of Burleson Environmental Health | $15 per person | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Swimming Pool, Spa and Interactive Water Feature Permit | City of Burleson Environmental Health | $75–$250 by service | 1 year for the annual permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Code Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Burleson Fire Department, Fire Prevention | $45–$250 per permit, by type | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Burleson
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Burleson Building Permits and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burleson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Remodel and Addition Permit | City of Burleson Building Permits and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burleson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Single Trade Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Burleson Building Permits and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burleson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Burleson Building Permits and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burleson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Fire Alarm System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Burleson Fire Department, Fire Prevention | Varies — formula on the Burleson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Automatic Sprinkler System Permit | City of Burleson Fire Department, Fire Prevention | Varies — formula on the Burleson page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Burleson Building Permits and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burleson page | 30 days for a temporary certificate, not to exceed 90 days | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Burleson?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a retail store in Burleson, TX, 10 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 10 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $15.00. That is a floor, not a total. 14 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Service Permit: $150–$400 per year, by floor area
Food Establishment Reinspection: $100–$175 by inspection type
Grocery Permit: $275–$400 per year, by floor area
Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit: $50–$100 temporary or seasonal
Food Establishment Plan Review: $0–$100 per review, by floor area
Swimming Pool, Spa and Interactive Water Feature Permit: $75–$250 by service
Fire Code Operational Permit: $45–$250 per permit, by type
The other 7 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Burleson permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Burleson?
Permits for a retail store in Burleson, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Burleson Environmental Health, City of Burleson Building Permits and Inspections, City of Burleson Fire Department, Fire Prevention, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Burleson Environmental HealthIssues 7 permits on this page, including Food Service Permit, Food Establishment Reinspection, Grocery Permit141 W Renfro Street, Burleson, TX 76028www.burlesontx.com
- City of Burleson Building Permits and InspectionsIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Remodel and Addition Permit, Commercial Single Trade Permit141 W Renfro Street, Burleson, TX 76028www.burlesontx.com
- City of Burleson Fire Department, Fire PreventionIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Alarm System Permit, Automatic Sprinkler System Permit, Fire Code Operational Permit141 W Renfro Street, Burleson, TX 76028burlesontx.com/479/Fire-Prevention-Permits
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Burleson that other businesses do not?
Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit
$50 for a temporary food service. A seasonal permit covering a farmers market or a snow cone stand is $100 — Burleson is one of very few jurisdictions here to name a snow cone stand explicitly, which tells you something about what the seasonal permit is really for. A food truck operational site permit is $50 for six months.
Swimming Pool, Spa and Interactive Water Feature Permit
$250 for the annual permit, $150 for plan review and the opening inspection, and $75 for a required reinspection. The three are charged separately, so opening a new hotel or apartment pool costs $400 in the first year before any reinspection. Not present in the schedule Burleson filed with the state — it appears only in the city's own adopted document.
Shared with other businesses in Burleson
- Food Service Permit — City of Burleson Environmental Health, $150–$400 per year, by floor area, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment Reinspection — City of Burleson Environmental Health, $100–$175 by inspection type, per inspection. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Grocery Permit — City of Burleson Environmental Health, $275–$400 per year, by floor area, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment Plan Review — City of Burleson Environmental Health, $0–$100 per review, by floor area, per review. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Handler Class — City of Burleson Environmental Health, $15 per person, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Fire Code Operational Permit — City of Burleson Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $45–$250 per permit, by type, per permit. Also required for auto repair shops, coffee shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios, restaurants and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Burleson, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Burleson permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Burleson?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 7 of these permits. A retail store also needs Swimming Pool, Spa and Interactive Water Feature Permit. A coffee shop needs nothing here that a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 7 | 7 | 1 | 0 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 6 | 2 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 6 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 6 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 1 | 7 | 0 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 7 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 1 | 7 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 8 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 8 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, restaurants page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Burleson permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Burleson 2025-2026 Fee Schedule, Environmental Health — the adopted scheduleCity of Burleson · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
