7 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Brown County?
In short
A retail store in Brown County, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Brownwood and Brown County Health Department charges $215 per year for the food establishment permit. 3 of the 7 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Brown County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Fire Inspection | Brownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal | $75–$300 by sprinkler system and floor area | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Brownwood and Brown County Health Department | $215 per year | 1 January to 31 December | 2026-08-25 |
| Temporary and Seasonal Food Permitonly if it applies to you | Brownwood and Brown County Health Department | $52–$100 temporary or seasonal | 1 to 14 days, or up to 6 months for a seasonal permit | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Brown County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| False Alarm Feeonly if it applies to you | Brownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal | Varies — formula on the Brown County page | per occurrence | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Brown County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 7 records listed for a retail store in Brown County, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $215.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 7 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Commercial Building Fire Inspection: $75–$300 by sprinkler system and floor area
Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit: $52–$100 temporary or seasonal
The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Brown County permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Brown County?
Permits for a retail store in Brown County, TX come from 4 separate offices: Brownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal, Brownwood and Brown County Health Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Brownwood and Brown County Fire MarshalIssues 2 permits on this page: Commercial Building Fire Inspection, False Alarm Fee501 Center Avenue, Brownwood, TX 76801www.brownwoodtexas.gov
- Brownwood and Brown County Health DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment Permit, Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit501 Center Avenue, Brownwood, TX 76801www.brownwoodtexas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Brown County that other businesses do not?
Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit
$52 for one to fourteen days — the state ceiling — or $100 for a seasonal permit of up to six months. At two events the seasonal permit is already the better buy, and it is half what Gillespie County charges for its annual equivalent.
Shared with other businesses in Brown County
- Commercial Building Fire Inspection — Brownwood and Brown County Fire Marshal, $75–$300 by sprinkler system and floor area, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Establishment Permit — Brownwood and Brown County Health Department, $215 per year, 1 January to 31 December. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 1 local permit in the tables apply to every type of business in Brown County, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Brown County permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Brown County?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 3 of these permits. A restaurant needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 4 | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brown County permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Brownwood/Brown County amended fee ordinance 25-09 (filed with Texas DSHS 3 November 2025)City of Brownwood and Brown County, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
