Commercial Compliance Hub

9 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Brownsville?

In short

A contractor or trade in Brownsville, TX has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 9 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Brownsville

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Plan ReviewBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plansone-time, per review2026-08-24
Temporary Aboveground Flammable Liquid Tank Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50–$100 by permit duration90 days, 180 days or one year2026-08-24
Storage Tank Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50–$75 per tank, by type and sizenot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Fire Sprinkler System Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 headsnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to youTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation$110 non-refundable applicationannual2026-08-20

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Brownsville

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a change of use requires a new certificate2026-08-24
Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50 per permitnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Brownsville?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 9 records listed for a contractor or trade in Brownsville, TX, 2 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 9 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Plan Review: $50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plans

Temporary Aboveground Flammable Liquid Tank Permit: $50–$100 by permit duration

Storage Tank Permit: $50–$75 per tank, by type and size

Fire Sprinkler System Permit: $100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 heads

Is Brownsville expensive for a contractor or trade?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Brownsville sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Brownsville charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Brownsville?

Permits for a contractor or trade in Brownsville, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division, Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a contractor or trade need in Brownsville that other businesses do not?

1 of the 5 permits particular to a contractor or trade here applies to no other business type we cover in Brownsville: Electrical Contractor License.

Electrical Contractor License

Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.

Shared with other businesses in Brownsville

  • Fire Plan Review — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plans, one-time, per review. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Temporary Aboveground Flammable Liquid Tank Permit — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50–$100 by permit duration, 90 days, 180 days or one year. Also required for auto repair shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
  • Storage Tank Permit — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50–$75 per tank, by type and size, not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for auto repair shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
  • Fire Sprinkler System Permit — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 heads, not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 2 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Brownsville, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Brownsville permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Brownsville?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Electrical Contractor License. A auto repair shop needs Sprinkler Modification Permit, which a contractor or trade does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Brownsville, TX, compared with a contractor or trade
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a contractor or tradeOnly a contractor or trade needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops5411
Retail stores7413
Childcare centres4232
Fitness studios4232
Veterinary clinics4232
Restaurants7235
Coffee shops3053
Food trucks2052
Salons and barbers1051

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, auto repair shops page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brownsville permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.