Commercial Compliance Hub

9 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Brownsville?

In short

A coffee shop in Brownsville, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 3 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 1 of the 9 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Brownsville

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Restaurant PermitCity of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services$100 per yearnot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Food Handler and Food Manager CertificationCity of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal ServicesNo feenot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Fixed Pipe Extinguishing System InspectionBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$40 per inspectionnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Brownsville

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a change of use requires a new certificate2026-08-24
Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50 per permitnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy Fire InspectionBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Brownsville pageper inspection2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Brownsville?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 9 records listed for a coffee shop in Brownsville, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 3 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $240.00. That is a floor, not a total. 1 of the 9 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all.

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Brownsville permits page and the TX state page.

Is Brownsville expensive for a coffee shop?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Brownsville sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Brownsville charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Brownsville?

Permits for a coffee shop in Brownsville, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division, Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Brownsville that other businesses do not?

Fixed Pipe Extinguishing System Inspection

$40 to inspect a fixed pipe extinguishing system — the commercial kitchen hood suppression system over a cooking line, and the commercial cooking suppression systems the Fire Marshal's page lists among its programmes. The cheapest hood-related fire charge in this dataset: Grand Prairie charges $75 for the equivalent permit and Pasadena folds it into a $200 automatic extinguishing system review.

Shared with other businesses in Brownsville

  • Restaurant Permit — City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services, $100 per year, not stated in the published material. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Handler and Food Manager Certification — City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services, No fee, not stated in the published material. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Brownsville, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Brownsville permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Brownsville?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 3 of these permits. A restaurant needs Fire Plan Review, Fire Sprinkler System Permit, Sprinkler Modification Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Brownsville, TX, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants7304
Food trucks2121
Retail stores7215
Auto repair shops5035
Childcare centres4034
Contractors and trades5035
Fitness studios4034
Salons and barbers1031
Veterinary clinics4034

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brownsville permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Fee Schedule — City Code Sec. 50-73, Fire prevention feesBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.