Brownsville
City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services
In short
City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services issues 2 permits we publish for Brownsville, last verified 2026-08-24. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurant Permit | City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services | $100 per year | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler and Food Manager Certification | City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services | No fee | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Restaurant Permit
$100 a year, now confirmed against the city's own published Fees for Annual Health Permits. Almost everything sits at that figure — a restaurant, bakery, tortilleria, fruit stand, retail outlet, deli, meat or seafood market, catering operation, snack bar, raspa stand, day care, nursing home, public school cafe and private school all pay $100. Three categories pay $125: bars, public cafeterias and mobile units. Temporary permits are $25 for a single day per stand and $50 for fourteen days, a carnival permit covering more than two stands is $50 for the day, and a seasonal permit for a UTB, BISD or farmers market semester is $50. A follow-up or reinspection is $30, and formally discontinuing a food operation costs $50. All permits except temporary ones run for up to twelve months from the date of issue.
Food Handler and Food Manager Certification
Brownsville does not train or charge for this itself — it accepts certification from a named list of approved agencies, which is why no city fee appears. For managers and food handlers: ABA Food Services, RGV Food Safety Services and Marine Academy. For food handlers only: A Butter-Fly Services, Oscar Cabrera, Valley Baptist Health System and Zepol Dietary Consults. The city also accepts the Texas DSHS approved online providers for both certified food manager examination and food handler training. The department notes it is in the process of updating this list, so confirm an agency is still approved before paying for a course. Compare with cities that run their own classes: Fort Worth charges $10 to $16 and Bell County $20 to $25.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Brownsville
- Phone
- Not verified — use the website
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Brownsville Fees for Annual Health PermitsCity of Brownsville Department of Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Manager & Food Handlers CertificationCity of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Other offices serving Brownsville
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
