Commercial Compliance Hub

10 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Brazos County?

In short

A retail store in Brazos County, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services charges $250 per year for the swimming pool and spa permit. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Brazos County

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Temporary Food Service Permitonly if it applies to youBrazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services$52–$200 single, seasonal or multi-event14 consecutive days at one location, 3 per year2026-08-24
Swimming Pool and Spa PermitBrazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services$250 per year1 year2026-08-24
Food Handler ClassBrazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services$10 per personnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-24
On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Permitonly if it applies to youBrazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services$570 per new commercial applicationper application2026-08-24
Food Establishment PermitBrazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services$350–$675 per year, by risk and size1 year2026-08-24
New City Food Permit (College Station and Bryan)Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services$500–$700 first year, by riskfirst year, prorated by quarter2026-08-24
Farmer's Market Permitonly if it applies to youBrazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services$100 per year1 year minimum, by statute2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Brazos County?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a retail store in Brazos County, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $260.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Temporary Food Service Permit: $52–$200 single, seasonal or multi-event

Food Establishment Permit: $350–$675 per year, by risk and size

New City Food Permit (College Station and Bryan): $500–$700 first year, by risk

Is Brazos County expensive for a retail store?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Brazos County sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Farmers Market Permit: Brazos County charges $100. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Victoria County to $250 in Allen, with a median of $100. 2 charge less, 1 charges more and 4 charge exactly the same.

Swimming Pool and Spa Permit: Brazos County charges $250. Across 4 jurisdictions it runs from $100 in Midland to $300 in Grayson County, with a median of $225. 2 charge less and 1 charges more.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Farmers Market Permit varies by $220 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Brazos County?

Permits for a retail store in Brazos County, TX come from 3 separate offices: Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Brazos County that other businesses do not?

Temporary Food Service Permit

$52 for fourteen consecutive days at one location, capped at three such permits a year — a limit most jurisdictions do not impose, and the reason a regular trader has to move up the ladder rather than repeat-buying. Above it sit a seasonal permit at $175 for four consecutive months and a multi-event permit at $200. A roadside vendor, where all food must be prepared and packaged at a permitted establishment, is $258.

Food Handler Class

$10 per person, run in English and Spanish by the district itself. Budget per member of staff. The schedule does not state how long the certification lasts.

Food Establishment Permit

A nine-cell grid: risk 1 low, 2 medium, 3 high, crossed with size A small (1–10 employees), B medium (11–50) and C large (over 50). Low risk runs $350, $375 and $400; medium risk $500, $525 and $550; high risk $625, $650 and $675. Risk moves the fee far more than size does — going from low to high adds $275, while going from small to large adds only $50 — so the kitchen's menu matters more to the bill than its headcount. A registered 501(c)(3) non-profit food establishment pays no fee. A follow-up or reinspection is $150 and a transfer of ownership with an existing permit is $250.

Shared with other businesses in Brazos County

The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Brazos County?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 6 of these permits. A retail store also needs Swimming Pool and Spa Permit. A restaurant needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Brazos County, TX, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Restaurants7611
Coffee shops5520
Food trucks4341
Contractors and trades2161
Fitness studios2161
Childcare centres2072

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page, restaurants page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brazos County permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Brazos County Health District Retail Food Permit Fees, revised August 2025 (filed with Texas DSHS 1 September 2025)Brazos County Health District, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.