Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Brownsville?

In short

A restaurant in Brownsville, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Brownsville

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Plan ReviewBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plansone-time, per review2026-08-24
Restaurant PermitCity of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services$100 per yearnot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Food Handler and Food Manager CertificationCity of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal ServicesNo feenot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Fire Sprinkler System Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 headsnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Fixed Pipe Extinguishing System InspectionBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$40 per inspectionnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Sprinkler Modification Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$5.00 per head for 1-9 heads; $50.00 for 10 to 2,000 headsnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to youTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission$2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewalevery 2 years2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Brownsville

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a change of use requires a new certificate2026-08-24
Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50 per permitnot stated in the published ordinance2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy Fire InspectionBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Brownsville pageper inspection2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Brownsville?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a restaurant in Brownsville, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $240.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Plan Review: $50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plans

Fire Sprinkler System Permit: $100 for 1-200 heads; $0.50 per head for 201 or more; capped at $1,500 over 3,000 heads

Sprinkler Modification Permit: $5.00 per head for 1-9 heads; $50.00 for 10 to 2,000 heads

Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal

The other 1 variable fee belongs to permits that apply to every type of business here; its formula is set out on the Brownsville permits page and the TX state page.

Is Brownsville expensive for a restaurant?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Brownsville sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Brownsville charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Brownsville?

Permits for a restaurant in Brownsville, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Brownsville Planning & Redevelopment Services, Building Permits and Inspections Division, Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Brownsville that other businesses do not?

1 of the 7 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Brownsville: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).

Restaurant Permit

$100 a year, now confirmed against the city's own published Fees for Annual Health Permits. Almost everything sits at that figure — a restaurant, bakery, tortilleria, fruit stand, retail outlet, deli, meat or seafood market, catering operation, snack bar, raspa stand, day care, nursing home, public school cafe and private school all pay $100. Three categories pay $125: bars, public cafeterias and mobile units. Temporary permits are $25 for a single day per stand and $50 for fourteen days, a carnival permit covering more than two stands is $50 for the day, and a seasonal permit for a UTB, BISD or farmers market semester is $50. A follow-up or reinspection is $30, and formally discontinuing a food operation costs $50. All permits except temporary ones run for up to twelve months from the date of issue.

Fire Sprinkler System Permit

$100 covers a new system or an addition up to 200 heads, then fifty cents a head above that, capped at $1,500 once you pass 3,000 heads. A small tenant fit-out therefore permits for $100 — cheaper than Odessa, which charges $150 plus three cents a square foot for the same work. A major sprinkler system taken as an underground fire line permit is a separate $100, and the initial inspection covering underground fire line, sprinkler system and fire alarm together is $100.

Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)

Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.

Shared with other businesses in Brownsville

  • Fire Plan Review — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $50 an hour, with a two-hour minimum for sprinkler plans, one-time, per review. Also required for retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Food Handler and Food Manager Certification — City of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services, No fee, not stated in the published material. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Fixed Pipe Extinguishing System Inspection — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $40 per inspection, not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Sprinkler Modification Permit — Brownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $5.00 per head for 1-9 heads; $50.00 for 10 to 2,000 heads, not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Brownsville, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Brownsville permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Brownsville?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 5 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Fixed Pipe Extinguishing System Inspection and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A retail store needs Temporary Aboveground Flammable Liquid Tank Permit and Storage Tank Permit, which a restaurant does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Brownsville, TX, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Retail stores7522
Coffee shops3340
Childcare centres4341
Fitness studios4341
Veterinary clinics4341
Auto repair shops5342
Contractors and trades5253
Food trucks2161
Salons and barbers1071

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, food trucks page, coffee shops page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brownsville permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Manager & Food Handlers CertificationCity of Brownsville Department of Health, Wellness and Animal Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. City of Brownsville Fees for Annual Health PermitsCity of Brownsville Department of Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  3. Fee Schedule — City Code Sec. 50-73, Fire prevention feesBrownsville Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  4. Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.