Brazos County
Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services
In short
Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services issues 8 permits we publish for Brazos County, last verified 2026-08-24. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary Food Service Permitonly if it applies to you | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $52–$200 single, seasonal or multi-event | 14 consecutive days at one location, 3 per year | 2026-08-24 |
| Swimming Pool and Spa Permit | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $250 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Class | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $10 per person | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Permitonly if it applies to you | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $570 per new commercial application | per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $350–$675 per year, by risk and size | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| New City Food Permit (College Station and Bryan) | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $500–$700 first year, by risk | first year, prorated by quarter | 2026-08-24 |
| Daycare Sanitation Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $150 per inspection | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Farmer's Market Permitonly if it applies to you | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $100 per year | 1 year minimum, by statute | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Temporary Food Service Permit
$52 for fourteen consecutive days at one location, capped at three such permits a year — a limit most jurisdictions do not impose, and the reason a regular trader has to move up the ladder rather than repeat-buying. Above it sit a seasonal permit at $175 for four consecutive months and a multi-event permit at $200. A roadside vendor, where all food must be prepared and packaged at a permitted establishment, is $258.
Swimming Pool and Spa Permit
$250 a year for a public or semi-public pool or spa, with each additional pool or spa at the same location $100. "Semi-public" catches apartment blocks, hotels, gyms and clubs — anything not a private household pool. A site with a pool and a spa pays $350, not $500.
Food Handler Class
$10 per person, run in English and Spanish by the district itself. Budget per member of staff. The schedule does not state how long the certification lasts.
On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Permit
$570 for a new commercial application, against $445 residential. An expedite fee of $100 guarantees review within three business days, a modification or repair is $100, and a reinspection issued for non-compliance is $100. This applies to premises on septic rather than mains sewer, which outside College Station and Bryan is common — and it is the cost most often missing from a rural site budget.
Food Establishment Permit
A nine-cell grid: risk 1 low, 2 medium, 3 high, crossed with size A small (1–10 employees), B medium (11–50) and C large (over 50). Low risk runs $350, $375 and $400; medium risk $500, $525 and $550; high risk $625, $650 and $675. Risk moves the fee far more than size does — going from low to high adds $275, while going from small to large adds only $50 — so the kitchen's menu matters more to the bill than its headcount. A registered 501(c)(3) non-profit food establishment pays no fee. A follow-up or reinspection is $150 and a transfer of ownership with an existing permit is $250.
New City Food Permit (College Station and Bryan)
$500 for low risk with no food preparation, $700 for medium or high risk where food is prepared or served. This is the opening cost and it is a bundle: plan review, walk-through inspection, opening inspection and compliance inspections for the first year, prorated by quarter — so opening in the fourth quarter costs a quarter of the fee. It replaces rather than adds to the annual permit for year one; the risk-and-size grid takes over at first renewal, at which point a high-risk large operation drops from $700 to $675.
Daycare Sanitation Inspection
$150 for a daycare sanitation inspection; a foster home inspection is $50. This is a local environmental health inspection and does not replace the license a child care operation holds from Texas Health and Human Services. School inspections are charged separately at $300 for two inspections a year.
Farmer's Market Permit
$100, the state ceiling. Under section 437.0065 the permit runs at least a year and covers sales at every farmers' market, farm stand and farm within the district, so one permit covers both College Station and Bryan markets.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Brazos County
- Phone
- 979-361-4450
- Website
- health.brazoscountytx.gov/
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Brazos County Health District Retail Food Permit Fees, revised August 2025 (filed with Texas DSHS 1 September 2025)Brazos County Health District, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
