10 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Brazos County?
In short
A restaurant in Brazos County, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services charges $10 per person for the food handler class. 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Brazos County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary Food Service Permitonly if it applies to you | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $52–$200 single, seasonal or multi-event | 14 consecutive days at one location, 3 per year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Class | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $10 per person | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Permitonly if it applies to you | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $570 per new commercial application | per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $350–$675 per year, by risk and size | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| New City Food Permit (College Station and Bryan) | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $500–$700 first year, by risk | first year, prorated by quarter | 2026-08-24 |
| Farmer's Market Permitonly if it applies to you | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $100 per year | 1 year minimum, by statute | 2026-08-24 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to you | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission | $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal | every 2 years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Brazos County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a restaurant in Brazos County, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $10.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Temporary Food Service Permit: $52–$200 single, seasonal or multi-event
Food Establishment Permit: $350–$675 per year, by risk and size
New City Food Permit (College Station and Bryan): $500–$700 first year, by risk
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal
Is Brazos County expensive for a restaurant?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Brazos County sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Farmers Market Permit: Brazos County charges $100. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Victoria County to $250 in Allen, with a median of $100. 2 charge less, 1 charges more and 4 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Farmers Market Permit varies by $220 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Brazos County?
Permits for a restaurant in Brazos County, TX come from 4 separate offices: Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health ServicesIssues 6 permits on this page, including Temporary Food Service Permit, Food Handler Class, On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Permit201 North Texas Avenue, Bryan, TX 77803-5317 · 979-361-4450health.brazoscountytx.gov
- Texas Alcoholic Beverage CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)www.tabc.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a restaurant need in Brazos County that other businesses do not?
1 of the 7 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Brazos County: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).
On-Site Sewage Facility (OSSF) Permit
$570 for a new commercial application, against $445 residential. An expedite fee of $100 guarantees review within three business days, a modification or repair is $100, and a reinspection issued for non-compliance is $100. This applies to premises on septic rather than mains sewer, which outside College Station and Bryan is common — and it is the cost most often missing from a rural site budget.
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)
Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.
Shared with other businesses in Brazos County
- Temporary Food Service Permit — Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, $52–$200 single, seasonal or multi-event, 14 consecutive days at one location, 3 per year. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Handler Class — Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, $10 per person, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Establishment Permit — Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, $350–$675 per year, by risk and size, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- New City Food Permit (College Station and Bryan) — Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, $500–$700 first year, by risk, first year, prorated by quarter. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Farmer's Market Permit — Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, $100 per year, 1 year minimum, by statute. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Brazos County?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 6 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A retail store needs Swimming Pool and Spa Permit, which a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 7 | 6 | 1 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 5 | 2 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 3 | 4 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 1 | 6 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brazos County permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Brazos County Health District Retail Food Permit Fees, revised August 2025 (filed with Texas DSHS 1 September 2025)Brazos County Health District, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
