12 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Victoria County?
In short
A retail store in Victoria County, TX has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services charges $30 per permit for the farmers market permit. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Victoria County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail Food Establishment Permit | Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services | $200–$300 per year, by employee count | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services | $52–$200 per event or per year | per event, or 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to you | Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services | $30 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| County Clerk Wet/Dry Certification for a TABC Permit Applicationonly if it applies to you | Victoria County Clerk | No certification charge is printed on the County Clerk's Alcoholic Beverage License page; state permit fees are set by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission. | per application | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Victoria County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Marshal Commercial Construction Permit and Plan Review (Unincorporated Areas)only if it applies to you | Victoria County Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Victoria County page | per project | 2026-10-09 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Commercialonly if it applies to you | Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services Division (OSSF and Floodplain Administration) | $385 per commercial OSSF permit; reinspection $100 | Authorization to Construct valid for one year from issue | 2026-10-09 |
| Floodplain Development Permitonly if it applies to you | Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services Division (OSSF and Floodplain Administration) | Varies — formula on the Victoria County page | expires 180 days from issue | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Protection and Notification System Permits (Unincorporated Areas)only if it applies to you | Victoria County Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Victoria County page | per installation | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Marshal Certificate of Compliance — Change of Owner or Business Name (Unincorporated Areas)only if it applies to you | Victoria County Fire Marshal's Office | $100 per change of owner or business name | per change of owner or business name | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Victoria County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a retail store in Victoria County, TX, 2 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Retail Food Establishment Permit: $200–$300 per year, by employee count
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: $52–$200 per event or per year
County Clerk Wet/Dry Certification for a TABC Permit Application: No certification charge is printed on the County Clerk's Alcoholic Beverage License page; state permit fees are set by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Victoria County permits page and the TX state page.
Is Victoria County expensive for a retail store?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Victoria County sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Farmers Market Permit: Victoria County charges $30. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $30 here to $250 in Allen, with a median of $100. Nowhere else covered here charges less.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Farmers Market Permit varies by $220 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Victoria County?
Permits for a retail store in Victoria County, TX come from 6 separate offices: Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services, Victoria County Fire Marshal's Office, Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services Division (OSSF and Floodplain Administration), Victoria County Clerk, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental ServicesIssues 3 permits on this page: Retail Food Establishment Permit, Temporary Food Establishment Permit, Farmers Market Permit2805 N Navarro Street, Victoria, TX 77901www.victoriacountytx.gov
- Victoria County Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Marshal Commercial Construction Permit and Plan Review (Unincorporated Areas), Fire Protection and Notification System Permits (Unincorporated Areas), Fire Marshal Certificate of Compliance — Change of Owner or Business Name (Unincorporated Areas)361-579-9103www.victoriacountytx.gov/259/Permits
- Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services Division (OSSF and Floodplain Administration)Issues 2 permits on this page: On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Commercial, Floodplain Development Permit2805 N Navarro Street, Victoria, TX 77901 · 361-578-6281www.victoriacountytx.gov/316/On-Site-Sewage-Facility
- Victoria County ClerkIssues 1 permit on this page: County Clerk Wet/Dry Certification for a TABC Permit Applicationwww.victoriacountytx.gov/194/Alcoholic-Beverage-License
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Victoria County that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Victoria County
- Retail Food Establishment Permit — Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services, $200–$300 per year, by employee count, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services, $52–$200 per event or per year, per event, or 1 year. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Farmers Market Permit — Victoria County Public Health Department, Environmental Services, $30 per permit, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- County Clerk Wet/Dry Certification for a TABC Permit Application — Victoria County Clerk, No certification charge is printed on the County Clerk's Alcoholic Beverage License page; state permit fees are set by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission., per application. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Victoria County, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Victoria County permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Victoria County?
A retail store and a coffee shop in Victoria County, TX need exactly the same 4 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 4 | 0 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 0 | 0 | 4 | 0 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, food trucks page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Victoria County permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
