7 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Brazos County?
In short
A food truck in Brazos County, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services charges $10 per person for the food handler class. 2 of the 7 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a food truck in Brazos County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary Food Service Permitonly if it applies to you | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $52–$200 single, seasonal or multi-event | 14 consecutive days at one location, 3 per year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Class | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $10 per person | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Farmer's Market Permitonly if it applies to you | Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services | $100 per year | 1 year minimum, by statute | 2026-08-24 |
| Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State) | Texas Department of State Health Services | $309–$876 application fee, by food-handling type | one year from the pre-licensing inspection | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Brazos County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 7 records listed for a food truck in Brazos County, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $10.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 7 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Temporary Food Service Permit: $52–$200 single, seasonal or multi-event
Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State): $309–$876 application fee, by food-handling type
Is Brazos County expensive for a food truck?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Brazos County sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Farmers Market Permit: Brazos County charges $100. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Victoria County to $250 in Allen, with a median of $100. 2 charge less, 1 charges more and 4 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Farmers Market Permit varies by $220 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Brazos County?
Permits for a food truck in Brazos County, TX come from 4 separate offices: Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Department of State Health Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health ServicesIssues 3 permits on this page: Temporary Food Service Permit, Food Handler Class, Farmer's Market Permit201 North Texas Avenue, Bryan, TX 77803-5317 · 979-361-4450health.brazoscountytx.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Department of State Health ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State)www.dshs.texas.gov
What does a food truck need in Brazos County that other businesses do not?
1 of the 4 permits particular to a food truck here applies to no other business type we cover in Brazos County: Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State).
Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State)
Since 1 July 2026 one DSHS permit covers every Texas jurisdiction, replacing separate permits from each local health department. Three tiers by food handling: Type I (no time/temperature controlled foods) $309 with no pre-licensing inspection fee; Type II (limited TCS handling) $618 plus a $400 pre-licensing inspection; Type III (full preparation) $876 plus a $500 pre-licensing inspection. The license expires one year from the successfully completed pre-licensing inspection, not from the application date. Temporary food dealer permits could not be issued to mobile vendors in Texas after 30 June 2026.
Shared with other businesses in Brazos County
- Temporary Food Service Permit — Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, $52–$200 single, seasonal or multi-event, 14 consecutive days at one location, 3 per year. Also required for coffee shops, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Food Handler Class — Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, $10 per person, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Farmer's Market Permit — Brazos County Health District, Environmental Health Services, $100 per year, 1 year minimum, by statute. Also required for coffee shops, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a food truck compare with other businesses in Brazos County?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A food truck also needs Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State). A coffee shop needs Food Establishment Permit and New City Food Permit (College Station and Bryan), which a food truck does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a food truck | Only a food truck needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 5 | 3 | 1 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 3 | 1 | 4 |
| Retail stores | 7 | 3 | 1 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Brazos County permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Mobile Food Vendors - Texas DSHSTexas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
