16 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Arlington?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Arlington, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Arlington Planning and Development Services charges $150 per certificate for the temporary certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Arlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Permit | Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention | $250–$2,500 by project valuation | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Specific Use Permit or Planned Developmentonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| On-Site Sewage System Installation Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Health Services | $250 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Backflow Prevention Device Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $30 per device, first device | one-time, per installation | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $75 per site | one-time, per site | 2026-08-24 |
| Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | No fee | not yet in effect — rules being written | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Arlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Arlington page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $150 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Arlington page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $200 per building | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — New Structure | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — Existing Structure | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Arlington Planning and Development Services | Varies — formula on the Arlington page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Arlington?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Arlington, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Permit: $250–$2,500 by project valuation
Specific Use Permit or Planned Development: $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page.
Is Arlington expensive for a veterinary clinic?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Arlington sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Demolition Permit: Arlington charges $200. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 here, with a median of $106.50. Nowhere else covered here charges more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Demolition Permit varies by $150 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Arlington?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Arlington, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, City of Arlington Health Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Arlington Planning and Development ServicesIssues 10 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review Fee, Specific Use Permit or Planned Development, Temporary Certificate of Occupancywww.arlingtontx.gov/Business/Development-Resources
- Arlington Fire Department, Fire PreventionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Permit817-459-5539www.arlingtontx.gov/City-Services/Public-Safety/Fire-Department
- City of Arlington Health ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: On-Site Sewage System Installation Permit(817) 459-6693www.arlingtontx.gov/Business/Health-Services/Health-Services
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a veterinary clinic need in Arlington that other businesses do not?
1 of the 6 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Arlington: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.
On-Site Sewage System Installation Permit
$250 for the installation permit and application. A repair permit is $150, and the real estate inspection needed on a sale is $125. Only relevant where the site is not on city sewer, which in Arlington means the outer edges rather than the built-up core.
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027
Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.
Shared with other businesses in Arlington
- Fire Permit — Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $250–$2,500 by project valuation, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Specific Use Permit or Planned Development — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Backflow Prevention Device Permit — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $30 per device, first device, one-time, per installation. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, salons and barbers and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Zoning Verification Letter — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $75 per site, one-time, per site. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios, childcare centres and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Arlington, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Arlington permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Arlington?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs On-Site Sewage System Installation Permit and Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A auto repair shop needs Zoning Change, Grease Interceptor Plumbing Permit and Commercial Site Plan Review, which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 7 | 4 | 2 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 8 | 4 | 2 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 5 | 3 | 3 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 19 | 5 | 1 | 14 |
| Retail stores | 20 | 5 | 1 | 15 |
| Salons and barbers | 5 | 2 | 4 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 10 | 2 | 4 | 8 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 1 | 5 | 5 |
| Food trucks | 6 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, fitness studios page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Health Permits & Fees — fees effective 1 September 2025City of Arlington Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
