Commercial Compliance Hub

30 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Arlington?

In short

A retail store in Arlington, TX has 13 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 17 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Arlington Health Services charges $200 per booth, per venue for the seasonal market permit. 11 of the 30 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Arlington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Seasonal Market Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Health Services$200 per booth, per venue15 to 180 days2026-08-24
Fire PermitArlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention$250–$2,500 by project valuationnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Food Establishment Change of Ownershiponly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Health Services$350 per applicationone-time, per application2026-08-24
Specific Use Permit or Planned Developmentonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or moreone-time, per application2026-08-24
Food Establishment Master Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Health Services$240–$340 per year, by inspection priorityone year from the date of issuance2026-08-24
Zoning Changeonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$1,200–$3,000 by site acreageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Food Establishment Plan ReviewCity of Arlington Health Services$500 per applicationone-time, per application2026-08-24
Food Establishment Operating PermitCity of Arlington Health Services$300–$425 per year, by inspection priorityone year from the date of issuance2026-08-24
Short-Term Rental PermitCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$500 per yearone year2026-08-24
Home Based Business Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$50 per licensenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Health Services$52 per booth, per event1 to 14 days, tied to a permitted special event2026-08-24
Food Handler PermitCity of Arlington Health Services$16 per persontwo years2026-08-24
Hotel Sanitation InspectionCity of Arlington Health Services$75 per room, with a minimum charge of $225inspection frequency is risk-based2026-08-24
Public and Semi-Public Pool Operational PermitCity of Arlington Health Services$200–$350 seasonal or year-roundsix months seasonal, or one year year-round2026-08-24
Boarding Home Facility PermitCity of Arlington Health Services$1,200–$1,500 per year, inspection feeone year from the date of issuance2026-08-24
On-Site Sewage System Installation Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Health Services$250 per applicationone-time, per application2026-08-24
Backflow Prevention Device Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$30 per device, first deviceone-time, per installation2026-08-24
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$75 per siteone-time, per site2026-08-24
Commercial Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$1,000 per reviewone-time, per application2026-08-24
Temporary Outdoor Event Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$100 per event, up to 500 attendeesper event2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Arlington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of Arlington Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Arlington pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Temporary Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$150 per certificatenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Arlington Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Arlington pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$200 per buildingnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy — New StructureCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner2026-08-24
Certificate of Occupancy — Existing StructureCity of Arlington Planning and Development Services$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of use, tenant or owner2026-08-24
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Arlington Planning and Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Arlington pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Arlington?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 30 records listed for a retail store in Arlington, TX, 13 apply to every business of this type and 17 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 13 that always apply, 6 carry a flat fee, coming to $1,216.00. That is a floor, not a total. 11 of the 30 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Permit: $250–$2,500 by project valuation

Specific Use Permit or Planned Development: $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more

Food Establishment Master Permit: $240–$340 per year, by inspection priority

Zoning Change: $1,200–$3,000 by site acreage

Food Establishment Operating Permit: $300–$425 per year, by inspection priority

Hotel Sanitation Inspection: $75 per room, with a minimum charge of $225

Public and Semi-Public Pool Operational Permit: $200–$350 seasonal or year-round

Boarding Home Facility Permit: $1,200–$1,500 per year, inspection fee

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page.

Is Arlington expensive for a retail store?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Arlington sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Short-Term Rental Permit: Arlington charges $500. Across 4 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Pearland to $500 here, with a median of $250. Nowhere else covered here charges more.

Food Establishment Plan Review: Arlington charges $500. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $150 in Bell County to $500 here, with a median of $200. Nowhere else covered here charges more.

Demolition Permit: Arlington charges $200. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 here, with a median of $106.50. Nowhere else covered here charges more.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Short-Term Rental Permit varies by $425 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Arlington?

Permits for a retail store in Arlington, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Arlington Health Services, City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Arlington that other businesses do not?

3 of the 20 permits particular to a retail store here apply to no other business type we cover in Arlington: Short-Term Rental Permit, Hotel Sanitation Inspection and Boarding Home Facility Permit.

Food Establishment Master Permit

$240 low priority, $260 medium, $340 high. This is the rate for an establishment holding ten or more food inventories in one location under one ownership — a supermarket with a deli, a bakery, a sushi counter and a hot bar, rather than ten separate shops. It is roughly 20% below the standard permit at every priority level, so a large grocer that permits each department separately is paying more than it needs to.

Food Establishment Operating Permit

$300 low priority, $325 medium, $425 high — priority is set by the inspection frequency criteria the city derives from the FDA Food Code 2017, not by turnover, which is what makes Arlington cheap for a high-volume low-risk operation and expensive for a small kitchen doing complex preparation. Every retail food establishment is inspected at least once a year. Since 1 September 2025 the establishment must post the letter grade from its most recent routine inspection where the public can see it; a score of 75 or less brings a scored reinspection at $200, and 76 or higher with critical violations can bring an unscored follow-up. The permit is non-transferable: on a change of ownership the new owner needs a new certificate of occupancy and a new health permit, and must pass a permitting inspection before operating.

Short-Term Rental Permit

$500 initially and $500 on each annual renewal — no reduced renewal rate. Zoning is the other half of the question: a short-term rental in Arlington may also need a specific use permit, which is priced separately and starts at $2,400 for a site under an acre.

Hotel Sanitation Inspection

$75 a room with a $225 floor, so a 100-room hotel is looking at $7,500 an inspection and the frequency is risk-based rather than fixed. Hotel plan review for new construction or a major remodel is $475. The verification audit is banded by size instead: $75 up to 50 rooms, $125 for 51-100, $250 for 101-200, $375 for 201-300 and $500 at 301 rooms or more. Reinspection is $175 per room requiring it on the city's own fees page; Exhibit A prints $200 for a hotel reinspection, and the city page is the later-published figure of the two.

Boarding Home Facility Permit

The most expensive recurring permit Arlington Health Services issues. First year is $1,500 for the inspection — covering the pre-operational inspection plus the annual health and kitchen inspections — and $1,200 in each subsequent year for the annual health and kitchen inspections. The permit application itself is a further $500, each additional building on the site is $50, and reinspection or emergency inspection is $200. The programme took effect on 1 April 2025.

Zoning Verification Letter

$75 per site. Small, and usually needed under time pressure: a lender, a franchisor or a state alcohol application will ask for one, and it is the cheapest way to find out before signing a lease whether the use you intend is allowed at that address. An alcohol distance appeal application, by contrast, is $1,000.

Shared with other businesses in Arlington

  • Seasonal Market Permit — City of Arlington Health Services, $200 per booth, per venue, 15 to 180 days. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Fire Permit — Arlington Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $250–$2,500 by project valuation, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Establishment Change of Ownership — City of Arlington Health Services, $350 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Specific Use Permit or Planned Development — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $2,400 under 1 acre; $3,000 + $200 per acre from 1 to under 5; $4,000 + $150 per acre from 5 to under 10; $6,000 + $75 per acre at 10 acres or more, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops, fitness studios, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Zoning Change — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $1,200–$3,000 by site acreage, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Establishment Plan Review — City of Arlington Health Services, $500 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Home Based Business License — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $50 per license, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for salons and barbers and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
  • Temporary Food Establishment Permit — City of Arlington Health Services, $52 per booth, per event, 1 to 14 days, tied to a permitted special event. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Handler Permit — City of Arlington Health Services, $16 per person, two years. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Public and Semi-Public Pool Operational Permit — City of Arlington Health Services, $200–$350 seasonal or year-round, six months seasonal, or one year year-round. Also required for fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • On-Site Sewage System Installation Permit — City of Arlington Health Services, $250 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, veterinary clinics and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Backflow Prevention Device Permit — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $30 per device, first device, one-time, per installation. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, auto repair shops, salons and barbers, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Commercial Site Plan Review — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $1,000 per review, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
  • Temporary Outdoor Event Permit — City of Arlington Planning and Development Services, $100 per event, up to 500 attendees, per event. Also required for restaurants, food trucks and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Arlington, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Arlington permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Arlington?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 15 of these permits. A retail store also needs Short-Term Rental Permit, Home Based Business License, Hotel Sanitation Inspection and 2 more. A restaurant needs Catering Permit, Central Preparation Facility Permit, Grease Interceptor Plumbing Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Arlington, TX, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Restaurants191554
Coffee shops108122
Fitness studios87131
Auto repair shops76141
Veterinary clinics65151
Contractors and trades64162
Food trucks64162
Childcare centres53172
Salons and barbers53172

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, fitness studios page, contractors and trades page, coffee shops page, veterinary clinics page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Arlington permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Health Permits & Fees — fees effective 1 September 2025City of Arlington Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Retail & Temporary Food Inspection ProgramCity of Arlington Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  3. Planning and Development Services Fee Schedule — Exhibit A to Resolution No. 25-258, effective 1 October 2025City of Arlington (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance and Fee Schedule Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.