Commercial Compliance Hub

18 permits · verified 2026-08-27

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Allen?

In short

A restaurant in Allen, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Allen Planning and Development charges $100 per permit for the temporary use and special event permit. 8 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Allen

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment PermitCity of Allen Environmental Health$200–$450 per year, by establishment type1 year2026-08-27
Temporary and Seasonal Food Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Allen Environmental Health$100–$150 by durationup to 14 days, or 14 days to 6 months for a concession stand2026-08-27
Specific Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Allen Planning and Development$450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new developmentper application2026-08-27
Temporary Use and Special Event Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Allen Planning and Development$100 per permitper event or per permit term2026-08-27
Health Plan ReviewCity of Allen Environmental Health$200 per reviewper review2026-08-27
Food Establishment Reinspectiononly if it applies to youCity of Allen Environmental Health$75 per reinspectionper inspection2026-08-27
Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Allen Environmental Health$250 per year1 year2026-08-27
Contractor RegistrationCity of Allen Building and Permitting Division$50 per year1 year2026-08-27
Commercial Kitchen Hood Extinguishing System PermitCity of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$50 per systemper permit2026-08-27
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to youTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission$2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewalevery 2 years2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Allen

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building PermitCity of Allen Building and Permitting DivisionVaries — formula on the Allen pageper permit2026-08-27
Fire Protection System Construction PermitCity of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Allen pageper permit2026-08-27
Commercial Trade and Over-the-Counter Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Allen Building and Permitting DivisionVaries — formula on the Allen pageper permit2026-08-27
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Allen Planning and DevelopmentVaries — formula on the Allen page1 year for temporary and billboard permits; not stated for permanent signs2026-08-27
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Allen Building and Permitting Division$125 per certificatenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-27

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Allen?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a restaurant in Allen, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $425.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Permit: $200–$450 per year, by establishment type

Temporary and Seasonal Food Permit: $100–$150 by duration

Specific Use Permit: $450–$700 per application, plus $10 per acre on new development

Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Allen permits page and the TX state page.

Is Allen expensive for a restaurant?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Allen sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Allen charges $125. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 12 charge less, 8 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Farmers Market Permit: Allen charges $250. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Victoria County to $250 here, with a median of $100. Nowhere else covered here charges more.

Food Establishment Re-inspection: Allen charges $75. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 here to $200 in Bell County, with a median of $100. Nowhere else covered here charges less.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Allen?

Permits for a restaurant in Allen, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Allen Environmental Health, City of Allen Building and Permitting Division, City of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, City of Allen Planning and Development, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Allen that other businesses do not?

1 of the 10 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Allen: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).

Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)

Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.

Shared with other businesses in Allen

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Allen, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Allen permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Allen?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 9 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A retail store needs Flammable and Combustible Liquids and Storage Tank Permit and Public and Semi-Public Swimming Pool, Spa and Water Feature Permit, which a restaurant does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Allen, TX, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Retail stores11912
Coffee shops7730
Food trucks4371
Auto repair shops3281
Fitness studios4282
Salons and barbers2191
Veterinary clinics2191
Childcare centres3192
Contractors and trades4193

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, food trucks page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Allen permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.