Providence
City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)
In short
City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) issues 5 permits we publish for Providence, last verified 2026-09-12. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) | No fee | one-time — issued after final inspections and close-out documentation confirm code compliance | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Certificate / Zoning Certificate for Complianceonly if it applies to you | City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) | $25 one-time, per application | one-time, per application — not stated in the published ordinance | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) | $25 one-time, per application (the same Zoning Certificate fee); an additional Building Permit valuation fee applies if the sign requires structural or electrical work | one-time, per sign — not stated in the published ordinance | 2026-09-12 |
| Contractor Registration — State RICRB Registration Applies (Providence)only if it applies to you | City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Building Permit | City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) | A project-valuation-based fee set specifically for Providence by the Rhode Island Building Code Commission (510-RICR-00-00-21 §21.12.28): $23.00 per $1,000 (or part thereof) of project valuation for the first $10,000; $230.00 plus $21.00 per $1,000 exceeding $10,000, up to $50,000; and $1,070.00 plus $19.00 per $1,000 exceeding $50,000 above that, with a $125.00 minimum fee overall. | one-time, per project; the permit expires after six months if no work is performed or inspection conducted | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Certificate of Occupancy
The Department's own current 'Request Certificate of Occupancy' page and its Permits FAQ document describe the required close-out documentation (architect/engineer affidavits, final testing reports, as-built plans, occupant load, use group) and state no standalone dollar figure for the certificate itself, so this record carries no fee beyond the Building Permit fee already listed.
Zoning Certificate / Zoning Certificate for Compliance
The Zoning Ordinance's own text states plainly: 'The fee for a zoning certificate and for a zoning certificate for compliance is $25.00.' Typically sought before signing a lease, opening a new location, or confirming a change of use complies with the applicable zoning district, and processed by DIS through its online Viewpoint permitting portal.
Sign Permit
No separate flat or per-square-foot sign permit fee could be found anywhere in the Zoning Ordinance's own Article 16 (Signs), which instead sets design and placement standards (illumination, right-of-way encroachment, awning/under-awning sign rules, etc.) without a dedicated fee section. A sign requiring compliance verification uses the same $25.00 Zoning Certificate fee recorded above; a sign requiring structural work or new electrical wiring separately requires DIS's own valuation-based Building Permit and/or Electrical Permit.
Contractor Registration — State RICRB Registration Applies (Providence)
The City's own Permits FAQ requires only 'name of contractor and license number' on a building permit application — the contractor's existing Rhode Island RICRB registration number, recorded at the state layer ($150.00/year) — and the FAQ describes no separate City verification fee, exam, or registration process, so this record carries no fee. Great Falls, Montana, by contrast, runs its own local contractor-verification layer.
Building Permit
This fee formula is set statewide by Rhode Island's own Building Code Commission on a per-municipality basis, not by Providence itself — the City's own Permits FAQ confirms this directly, stating 'these fees were set by the State of Rhode Island in July of 2018.' Providence's own DIS administers and collects the fee locally, double-checking a stated construction cost against the International Code Council's own Building Valuation Data table to prevent undervaluation. Separate Mechanical, Electrical, and Plumbing trade permits are priced under the same regulation and require a licensed contractor (or an owner-occupant of a single-family home) to apply.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Providence
- Phone
- (401) 680-5201
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- 510-RICR-00-00-21, Process for Establishing Statewide Building Permit Fees (current amendment effective 12/10/2023), §21.12.28 — the City of Providence's own fee scheduleRhode Island Building Code Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- City of Providence Official Zoning Ordinance, Article 18 §1801.G (Fees — $25.00 Zoning Certificate) and Article 16 (Signs)City of Providence, Department of Planning and Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Permits: Frequently Asked Questions — building permit fee table, six-month permit expiration, and Certificate of Occupancy requirementsCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Request Certificate of Occupancy — the Department's own current page, stating no published feeCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
Other offices serving Providence
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Rhode Island jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
