Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Providence?

In short

A fitness studio in Providence, RI has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Providence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau charges $100 per inspection for the fire prevention bureau commercial inspection. 2 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Providence

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)$25 one-time, per application (the same Zoning Certificate fee); an additional Building Permit valuation fee applies if the sign requires structural or electrical workone-time, per sign — not stated in the published ordinance2026-09-12
General Business License (not found; activity-specific structure instead)only if it applies to youCity of Providence Board of LicensesNo feenot applicable2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Providence

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to youCity of Providence Zoning Board of ReviewVaries — formula on the Providence pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Bureau Commercial InspectionProvidence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau$100 per inspectionnot stated in the published fee schedule — billed per inspection whenever a qualifying trigger occurs2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)No feeone-time — issued after final inspections and close-out documentation confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Zoning Certificate / Zoning Certificate for Complianceonly if it applies to youCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)$25 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application — not stated in the published ordinance2026-09-12
Building PermitCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)Varies — formula on the Providence pageone-time, per project; the permit expires after six months if no work is performed or inspection conducted2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

RI registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$150 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitRhode Island Division of TaxationNo feeannual — runs 1 July through 30 June, and still must be renewed every year despite no fee2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised sharesperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Providence?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in Providence, RI, 4 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Providence permits page and the RI state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Providence?

Permits for a fitness studio in Providence, RI come from 6 separate offices: City of Providence Zoning Board of Review, Providence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS), City of Providence Board of Licenses, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Providence that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in Providence

  • Sign Permit — City of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS), $25 one-time, per application (the same Zoning Certificate fee); an additional Building Permit valuation fee applies if the sign requires structural or electrical work, one-time, per sign — not stated in the published ordinance. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • General Business License (not found; activity-specific structure instead) — City of Providence Board of Licenses, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Providence, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Providence permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Providence?

A fitness studio and a retail store in Providence, RI need exactly the same 2 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Providence, RI, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Retail stores2200
Salons and barbers3201
Veterinary clinics3201
Auto repair shops3112
Coffee shops5114
Restaurants5114
Childcare centres2022
Contractors and trades4024
Food trucks3023

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Providence permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.