Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-10

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Gulfport?

In short

A salon or barber in Gulfport, MS has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Planning & Zoning Division charges $17.25 one-time, per request for the zoning determination letter. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Gulfport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionNo feenot stated — the application does not specify a term, though a sign permit is a one-time construction permit rather than a renewable license2026-09-10
Salon or Barber Shop LicenseMississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering$85 to open, including the initial inspection; renewal is $60biennial2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Gulfport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Gulfport pageone-time, per project2026-09-10
Zoning Determination Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Planning & Zoning Division$17.25 one-time, per requestone-time, per request2026-09-10
Certificate of Occupancy / Final Building InspectionCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-10
Fire Prevention Inspection and PermitsCity of Gulfport Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionNo feenot stated2026-09-10
Business Privilege LicenseCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Gulfport pageannual — the City's own application does not state a specific renewal month; staff approval of a new application expires after 60 days if a license is not issued by then2026-09-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MS registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax PermitMississippi Department of RevenueNo feeno expiration — continues until revoked, provided the business stays the same at the same location2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionVaries — formula on the MS pageannual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — State of Mississippi positiononly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionNo feeset by the city or town2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Gulfport?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a salon or barber in Gulfport, MS, 6 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $85.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Gulfport permits page and the MS state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Gulfport?

Permits for a salon or barber in Gulfport, MS come from 6 separate offices: City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division, City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Planning & Zoning Division, City of Gulfport Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Mississippi Department of Revenue, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Gulfport that other businesses do not?

1 of the 2 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Gulfport: Salon or Barber Shop License.

Salon or Barber Shop License

Mississippi combines cosmetology and barbering into a single board, and a salon and a barbershop take the identical establishment fee under it — the fee schedule draws no distinction between the two trades at all. Eighty-five dollars covers the application and the initial inspection together; renewal is $60, and a licensee aged seventy or older pays no renewal fee at all. A reinspection outside the normal cycle costs $35.

Shared with other businesses in Gulfport

  • Sign Permit — City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division, No fee, not stated — the application does not specify a term, though a sign permit is a one-time construction permit rather than a renewable license. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Gulfport, MS; what each one involves is set out on the Gulfport permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MS and are covered on the MS state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Gulfport?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon or Barber Shop License. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Gulfport, MS, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios1110
Auto repair shops2111
Retail stores2111
Veterinary clinics2111
Coffee shops3112
Restaurants3112
Childcare centres1021
Contractors and trades3023
Food trucks3023

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Gulfport permits page and the MS state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — fee scheduleMississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.