Gulfport
City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division
In short
City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division issues 7 permits we publish for Gulfport, last verified 2026-09-10. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store | City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division | Banded by the store's own assessed inventory value (as determined for ad valorem taxation) rather than by employee count: $20/year where stock never exceeds $7,000, rising through narrow bands — $25 at $10,000, $50 at $15,000-$20,000 — to $1,840/year where stock value sometimes exceeds $450,000. | annual | 2026-09-10 |
| Building Permit (Commercial) | City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division | A $30.00 base permit fee plus a valuation-banded fee: $24.00 for the first $1,000 (or fraction) of valuation, plus $4.00 for each additional $1,000 or fraction thereof, up to and including $500,001; above that, $2,020.00 for the first $500,000 plus $3.20 for each additional $1,000 or fraction thereof. Separate trade permits use their own schedules with the same $30.00 base: electrical work is priced per component (e.g., $20.00 for a 125-200 amp service entrance, $6.00 per branch circuit), mechanical work is priced on the same style of valuation table starting at $20.00 for the first $1,000, and plumbing work is priced per fixture (e.g., $5.00 per water closet or sink, $50.00 per swimming pool). | one-time, per project | 2026-09-10 |
| Privilege Tax License — Mobile Vendors, Peddlers/Solicitors | City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division | $25.00 annual privilege tax license fee per Peddler/Solicitor/Mobile Vendor (the same amount applies to a Temporary/Special Event license), plus a separate $25.00 background-check and fingerprinting fee charged by the Gulfport Police Department per person, plus a $1,000 bond posted on each individual licensee (or a company bond in the same amount) payable to the City of Gulfport. | annual, or temporary for the duration of a specific special event (per the two license-type checkboxes on the application itself) | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Occupancy / Final Building Inspection | City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-10 |
| Local Contractor's Licenseonly if it applies to you | City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division | $100 one-time application/licensing fee; waived for an applicant who already holds a Certificate of Responsibility (COR) from the Mississippi State Board of Contractors | not stated in the published application — no renewal cadence or expiration date is specified on the application itself | 2026-09-10 |
| Business Privilege License | City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division | $20/year for a business with three or fewer employees; $30/year for four to ten employees; for eleven or more employees, $30 plus $3 for each employee over ten, capped at a maximum of $150/year (a manufacturer of that size instead pays a flat $80/year) — the general schedule under Mississippi's own Local Privilege Tax Law, collected locally by the City of Gulfport as the municipality's tax collector rather than set by city ordinance. | annual — the City's own application does not state a specific renewal month; staff approval of a new application expires after 60 days if a license is not issued by then | 2026-09-10 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division | No fee | not stated — the application does not specify a term, though a sign permit is a one-time construction permit rather than a renewable license | 2026-09-10 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store
Gulfport's own Privilege License Application asks a sales-type business directly how much its inventory is worth, confirming this is the schedule actually applied to retail stores rather than the general employee-count schedule. The same 2025 bill, SB 3125, would have repealed this section outright; it died in committee in February 2025, so this inventory-based schedule remains the current one in force for a Gulfport retailer.
Building Permit (Commercial)
The Building, Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Permit Fee Schedules are each still headed "FY 2002," but the General Permit Application paired with them on the same current page was itself revised as recently as March 2024, and the City's permit page publishes no newer fee schedule superseding the 2002 figures, so they are treated here as the current schedule. Staff approval of a General Permit Application expires after 180 days if a permit is not issued. A separate Sign Permit Application exists for signage (recorded below) and a separate local Contractor's License applies to the trades performing this work (also recorded below).
Privilege Tax License — Mobile Vendors, Peddlers/Solicitors
A copy of a current MSDH food permit (health certificate letter grade) must be attached whenever non-packaged food is sold, cross-referencing the state-issued food permit recorded at the state layer rather than duplicating it here. The application also requires four written character-reference statements and discloses that failure to provide any applicable requirement results in a denied license. Neither the general Business Privilege License application (recorded above) nor this Mobile Vendor application cross-references the other, so whether a food truck owes both fees concurrently or only this specific vendor license is not stated in either document. Confirm directly with Building Code Services (228-868-5715) before budgeting for one fee or both.
Certificate of Occupancy / Final Building Inspection
No distinct certificate-of-occupancy line item appears anywhere in the City's currently published Building, Electrical, Mechanical or Plumbing Permit Fee Schedules — unlike Jackson, whose own schedule prices a $75 flat "Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection" line — so this fee is unpublished. The General Permit Application itself collects an occupancy-type classification (business, mercantile, assembly, etc.) as one of its own fields — the application's only textual link between final occupancy sign-off and the standard building-permit process — rather than a separately priced certificate. Confirm directly with Building Code Services (228-868-5715) before budgeting for this step.
Local Contractor's License
This license covers a far broader set of trades than Jackson's equivalent local layer: Master Electrical, Master Plumbing, Mechanical/HVAC, Hood & Duct, Fixed Suppression, Fire Sprinkler, Fire Alarm, Lawn Irrigation, three tiers of General Contractor (A: commercial work over $100,000 or 7,500 sq. ft.; B: light commercial and residential; C: residential remodeler), Roofing and Swimming Pool. The $100 fee and the application's five-reference-letter requirement are both waived for anyone who already holds a Mississippi Board of Contractors Certificate of Responsibility (COR) — meaning this local license genuinely bites hardest below the state's $50,000 commercial threshold, or for trades the state COR does not cover. Regardless of COR status, every applicant must submit a Certificate of Insurance with $100,000/$300,000 public liability coverage naming the City of Gulfport as certificate holder, plus a copy of a current business privilege license from the jurisdiction where the applicant's company is headquartered.
Business Privilege License
Gulfport's own Privilege License Application confirms the same two-track split Jackson's did: it asks a service-type business how many full-time employees it has (this state employee-count schedule) or a sales-type business how much its inventory is worth (the separate retail/wholesale schedule recorded below). The same application packet includes a Certificate of Zoning Compliance, signed by the City's Building Official/Planning Administrator under Section VIII(A)(2) of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance, confirming the proposed use conforms to zoning before the license issues — so no separate, standalone zoning-sign-off product is recorded for that step (the distinct, requestable $17.25 Zoning Determination Letter recorded separately below is a different, due-diligence product). A 2025 bill, SB 3125, would have replaced this whole employee-count schedule with a flat $10 total privilege tax; it died in committee in February 2025, so the current banded figures above remain what a Gulfport business actually owes. No separate, additional salon-, fitness-, veterinary-, auto-repair-, or childcare-specific municipal license beyond this general privilege license could be confirmed for any of these industries.
Sign Permit
The Sign Permit Application itself states no fee amount, and no dedicated sign-permit fee schedule could be found anywhere on the City's site, so this fee is unpublished. A related but distinct charge is confirmed: the Electrical Permit Fee Schedule separately prices an illuminated sign's electrical hookup at $10.00 per light for the first ten lights (and each additional ten or fraction), plus $10.00 per transformer or ballast — but that is the electrical trade permit for the sign's wiring, not a confirmed fee for the sign structure permit itself. A new off-premises sign additionally requires a credit certificate under Section 9-122 of the Sign Ordinance. Confirm the current sign-permit fee directly with Building Code Services (228-868-5715) before budgeting for it.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Gulfport
- Phone
- (228) 868-5715
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Application for Contractor's License — Requirements to Obtain a Contractor's License, listing a $100.00 licensing fee (waived for holders of a Mississippi Board of Contractors Certificate of Responsibility) across trade categories including Master Electrical, Master Plumbing, Mechanical/HVAC, Hood & Duct, Fixed Suppression, Fire Sprinkler, Fire Alarm, Lawn Irrigation, General Contractor A/B/C, Roofing and Swimming PoolCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development, Building Code Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Building Permit Fee Schedule (FY 2002) — a $30.00 base permit fee plus a building-valuation-banded fee: $24.00 for the first $1,000 of valuation plus $4.00 per additional $1,000 or fraction up to $500,000, then $2,020.00 for the first $500,000 plus $3.20 per additional $1,000City of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development, Building Code Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (FY 2002) — a $30.00 base permit fee plus item-based charges for service entrances, feeder circuits, distribution panels, branch circuits, major appliances, motors, generators, and signs/outline lighting ($10.00 per light for the first ten lights, $10.00 per transformer or ballast)City of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development, Building Code Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Food Permits and Fees — confirming MSDH itself "now processes food facility permits electronically," with no Hinds County or other county office named as an issuing authorityMississippi State Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- General Permit Application, Ver. 3/2024 — covers new construction, additions, alterations, repairs, fences, demolition and building moves; staff approval expires after 180 days if a permit is not issuedCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mechanical Permit Fee Schedule (FY 2002) — a $30.00 base permit fee plus a valuation-banded fee starting at $20.00 for the first $1,000City of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development, Building Code Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Code § 27-17-365 — Local Privilege Tax Law, inventory-value-banded tax on wholesale or retail storesState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Code § 27-17-453 — Local Privilege Tax Law, sworn written application procedure, payment due with application, three-year record retentionState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Code § 27-17-9 — Local Privilege Tax Law, general employee-count privilege tax schedule and municipal tax-collector administrationState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Plumbing Permit Fee Schedule (FY 2002) — a $30.00 base permit fee plus a per-fixture fee (e.g., $5.00 per water closet or sink, $50.00 per swimming pool)City of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development, Building Code Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Privilege License Application (Business License) and Certificate of Zoning Compliance — a combined form: the license application asks a service business how many full-time employees it has and a sales business how much its inventory is worth, requires Planning Division and Building Code Services approval, and the attached Certificate of Zoning Compliance is issued under Section VIII(A)(2) of the Comprehensive Zoning OrdinanceCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Privilege Tax License Application — Mobile Vendors, Peddlers/Solicitors — states a $25.00 license fee per vendor, a separate $25.00 Police Department background-check/fingerprinting fee, and a $1,000 bond requirementCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Senate Bill 3125 (2025 Regular Session) bill history — disposition "Dead," "02/26 (S) Died In Committee," for the bill that would have set a flat $10 total local privilege tax and repealed section 27-17-365Mississippi Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Sign Permit Application — no fee amount stated on the form; requires a credit certificate for new off-premises signs under Section 9-122 of the Sign OrdinanceCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
Other offices serving Gulfport
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Mississippi jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
