10 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Gulfport?
In short
A food truck in Gulfport, MS has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division charges $50 one-time filing for the certificate of formation (llc). 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Privilege License | City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division | $20/year for a business with three or fewer employees; $30/year for four to ten employees; for eleven or more employees, $30 plus $3 for each employee over ten, capped at a maximum of $150/year (a manufacturer of that size instead pays a flat $80/year) — the general schedule under Mississippi's own Local Privilege Tax Law, collected locally by the City of Gulfport as the municipality's tax collector rather than set by city ordinance. | annual — the City's own application does not state a specific renewal month; staff approval of a new application expires after 60 days if a licence is not issued by then | 2026-09-10 |
| Privilege Tax License — Mobile Vendors, Peddlers/Solicitors | City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division | $25.00 annual privilege tax licence fee per Peddler/Solicitor/Mobile Vendor (the same amount applies to a Temporary/Special Event licence), plus a separate $25.00 background-check and fingerprinting fee charged by the Gulfport Police Department per person, plus a $1,000 bond posted on each individual licensee (or a company bond in the same amount) payable to the City of Gulfport. | annual, or temporary for the duration of a specific special event (per the two licence-type checkboxes on the application itself) | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits | City of Gulfport Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division | No fee | not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business Licence (not required by Mississippi)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | No fee | set by the city or town | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $0 for a domestic LLC; $25 for a corporation, domestic or foreign | annual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Mississippi Department of Revenue | No fee | no expiration — continues until revoked, provided the business stays the same at the same location | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection | $40–$264.50 a year, banded by the department's own risk classification | annual | 2026-09-04 |
| Certified Food Protection Manager | Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection | No fee | not stated in the state's own regulation text | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Gulfport?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a food truck in Gulfport, MS, 6 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
4 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Business Privilege License: $20/year for a business with three or fewer employees; $30/year for four to ten employees; for eleven or more employees, $30 plus $3 for each employee over ten, capped at a maximum of $150/year (a manufacturer of that size instead pays a flat $80/year) — the general schedule under Mississippi's own Local Privilege Tax Law, collected locally by the City of Gulfport as the municipality's tax collector rather than set by city ordinance.
Privilege Tax License — Mobile Vendors, Peddlers/Solicitors: $25.00 annual privilege tax licence fee per Peddler/Solicitor/Mobile Vendor (the same amount applies to a Temporary/Special Event licence), plus a separate $25.00 background-check and fingerprinting fee charged by the Gulfport Police Department per person, plus a $1,000 bond posted on each individual licensee (or a company bond in the same amount) payable to the City of Gulfport.
Annual Report: $0 for a domestic LLC; $25 for a corporation, domestic or foreign
Food Establishment Permit: $40–$264.50 a year, banded by the department's own risk classification
Which offices issue these permits in Gulfport?
Permits for a food truck in Gulfport, MS come from 5 separate offices: City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division, City of Gulfport Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division, Mississippi Department of Revenue, Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Business Privilege License, Privilege Tax License — Mobile Vendors, Peddlers/Solicitors1410 24th Avenue, Gulfport, MS 39501 · (228) 868-5715www.gulfport-ms.gov/departments/urban_development/building_code_services/index.php
- City of Gulfport Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits(228) 868-5700www.gulfport-ms.gov/government/fire/index.php
- Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, General Business Licence (not required by Mississippi), Annual Report125 South Congress Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 359-1633www.sos.ms.gov/business-services-regulation
- Mississippi Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax Permit500 Clinton Center Drive, Clinton, MS 39056 · (601) 923-7700www.dor.ms.gov/business/sales-use-tax/registration-information-sales-and-use-tax-applicants
- Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food ProtectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment Permit, Certified Food Protection Manager(601) 364-2832msdh.ms.gov/page/30,0,77,311.html
Is anything about these requirements changing?
Gulfport's own Privilege License Application confirms the same two-track split Jackson's did: it asks a service-type business how many full-time employees it has (this state employee-count schedule) or a sales-type business how much its inventory is worth (the separate retail/wholesale schedule recorded below). The same application packet includes a Certificate of Zoning Compliance, signed by the City's Building Official/Planning Administrator under Section VIII(A)(2) of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance, confirming the proposed use conforms to zoning before the licence issues — so no separate, standalone zoning-sign-off product is recorded for that step (the distinct, requestable $17.25 Zoning Determination Letter recorded separately below is a different, due-diligence product). A 2025 bill, SB 3125, would have replaced this whole employee-count schedule with a flat $10 total privilege tax; it died in committee in February 2025, so the current banded figures above remain what a Gulfport business actually owes. No separate, additional salon-, fitness-, veterinary-, auto-repair-, or childcare-specific municipal licence beyond this general privilege licence could be confirmed for any of these industries.
A copy of a current MSDH food permit (health certificate letter grade) must be attached whenever non-packaged food is sold, cross-referencing the state-issued food permit recorded at the state layer rather than duplicating it here. The application also requires four written character-reference statements and discloses that failure to provide any applicable requirement results in a denied licence. A food truck most likely also owes the general Business Privilege License recorded above like any other business operating in the city, in addition to this specific vendor licence, though this project could not independently confirm that both are charged concurrently.
The Fire Prevention page describes its own scope as inspecting the "diverse activities of commercial, industrial and residential development and operations," consistent with a mandatory pre-occupancy fire inspection, but neither that page nor the Fire Department's own page publishes a dollar figure for an inspection or permit anywhere this project could retrieve, so this fee is unpublished. Confirm the current rate directly with the Fire Department (228-868-5700) before budgeting for it.
Fifty dollars, the same as a corporation. What sets the LLC apart is what comes after formation: its annual report costs nothing at all, a genuine difference from a corporation's ongoing $25 — see the annual report record.
The same $50 as an LLC, and the same figure for a nonprofit corporation too. Unlike an LLC, a corporation's annual report is not free — see that record.
No fee, and the Secretary of State's own guide to opening a Mississippi business makes the split explicit: its compliance roadmap places licences and permits entirely under the city or town column, while the state government column covers only filing the entity's formation documents. Every city and town runs its own registration procedure, so check locally rather than expecting a state-issued licence.
This is a genuinely free filing for a domestic LLC — the Secretary of State's own fee schedule prices it at zero, a real distinction from most states, where an LLC annual filing costs something even if modest. A foreign LLC pays $250 for the same obligation, which is a striking gap. A corporation, domestic or foreign, pays $25 either way, due on the same 15 April deadline. There is no separate monetary late fee for missing either report — the consequence is administrative dissolution outright, and reinstatement afterward costs $50 for a domestic LLC or corporation, or $100 for a foreign one.
No fee — the statute imposes none for the general permit to engage in business, and it stays in force indefinitely as long as the holder continues in the same business at the same location. A bond is required only in narrower circumstances, such as an out-of-state applicant with no permanent Mississippi location, not as a routine part of registering.
Priced by risk category rather than seating or size: $40 a year at the lowest risk level, rising to $132.25, $198 and $264.50 at the highest, with the higher tiers also inspected at least twice a year rather than once. A new establishment additionally pays a $224.25 plan review fee before it can open, and a reinspection requested outside the routine schedule costs $165.
No state fee — the certificate comes from an accredited private training provider at that provider's price. This is a genuine, unqualified requirement rather than one option among several: the permit holder or a designated person in charge must have completed an approved manager certification course, full stop, and be present during all hours of operation. No separate general food handler card requirement for line-level staff was found anywhere in the state's own food code — commercial training vendors market inexpensive cards under the Mississippi name, but nothing in the state's regulation requires every employee to hold one, only the person in charge.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Mississippi Code § 27-17-9 — Local Privilege Tax Law, general employee-count privilege tax schedule and municipal tax-collector administrationState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Privilege License Application (Business License) and Certificate of Zoning Compliance — a combined form: the licence application asks a service business how many full-time employees it has and a sales business how much its inventory is worth, requires Planning Division and Building Code Services approval, and the attached Certificate of Zoning Compliance is issued under Section VIII(A)(2) of the Comprehensive Zoning OrdinanceCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Code § 27-17-453 — Local Privilege Tax Law, sworn written application procedure, payment due with application, three-year record retentionState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Senate Bill 3125 (2025 Regular Session) bill history — disposition "Dead," "02/26 (S) Died In Committee," for the bill that would have set a flat $10 total local privilege tax and repealed section 27-17-365Mississippi Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Privilege Tax License Application — Mobile Vendors, Peddlers/Solicitors — states a $25.00 licence fee per vendor, a separate $25.00 Police Department background-check/fingerprinting fee, and a $1,000 bond requirementCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Food Permits and Fees — confirming MSDH itself "now processes food facility permits electronically," with no Hinds County or other county office named as an issuing authorityMississippi State Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Fire Prevention — described scope of commercial/industrial/residential development inspections; no fee schedule publishedCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Gulfport Fire Department — services overview, including Fire Prevention, Plan Review and Building InspectionsCity of Gulfport, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Secretary of State — business filing fee scheduleMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Secretary of State — business welcome packet, placing licences and permits under city government rather than the stateMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Secretary of State — annual reports, due dates and administrative dissolutionMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Code section 27-65-27 — the sales tax permit, continuing in force until revokedState of Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Administrative Code title 15, part 13, chapters 2 and 4 — food establishment permits and fees by risk categoryMississippi State Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
