11 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Jackson?
In short
A salon or barber in Jackson, MS has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) charges $75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection for the certificate of occupancy / occupancy inspection. 3 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in Jackson
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division | No fee | not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Salon or Barber Shop License | Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering | $85 to open, including the initial inspection; renewal is $60 | biennial | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Jackson
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit (Commercial) | City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) | Varies — formula on the Jackson page | one-time, per project | 2026-09-10 |
| Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits | Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Occupancy / Occupancy Inspection | City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division) | $75 flat, per Occupancy Inspection/Business Inspection | one-time, per issuance | 2026-09-10 |
| Business Privilege License | City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division | Varies — formula on the Jackson page | annual — renewed every year; the City's own FAQ does not state a specific renewal month | 2026-09-10 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
MS registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Mississippi Department of Revenue | No fee | no expiration — continues until revoked, provided the business stays the same at the same location | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | Varies — formula on the MS page | annual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — State of Mississippi positiononly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | No fee | set by the city or town | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Jackson?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a salon or barber in Jackson, MS, 6 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $160.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Jackson permits page and the MS state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Jackson?
Permits for a salon or barber in Jackson, MS come from 6 separate offices: City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division, City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division), Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Mississippi Department of Revenue, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Sign Permit, Business Privilege License200 S. President Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-1148jacksonms.gov/business/business-licenses
- City of Jackson, Planning and Development Department, Office of Code Services (Building Permits Division)Issues 2 permits on this page: Building Permit (Commercial), Certificate of Occupancy / Occupancy Inspection219 S. President Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-0794jacksonms.gov/government/city-departments/planning-and-development/office-of-code-services/building-permits
- Jackson Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Inspection and Permits555 S. West St., Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 960-2018jacksonms.gov/government/city-departments/jackson-fire-department
- Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and BarberingIssues 1 permit on this page: Salon or Barber Shop Licensewww.msbcb.ms.gov
- Mississippi Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax Permit500 Clinton Center Drive, Clinton, MS 39056 · (601) 923-7700www.dor.ms.gov/business/sales-use-tax/registration-information-sales-and-use-tax-applicants
- Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Annual Report, Certificate of Formation (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, General Business License — State of Mississippi position125 South Congress Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 359-1633www.sos.ms.gov/business-services-regulation
What does a salon or barber need in Jackson that other businesses do not?
1 of the 2 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Jackson: Salon or Barber Shop License.
Salon or Barber Shop License
Mississippi combines cosmetology and barbering into a single board, and a salon and a barbershop take the identical establishment fee under it — the fee schedule draws no distinction between the two trades at all. Eighty-five dollars covers the application and the initial inspection together; renewal is $60, and a licensee aged seventy or older pays no renewal fee at all. A reinspection outside the normal cycle costs $35.
Shared with other businesses in Jackson
- Sign Permit — City of Jackson, Office of Economic Development, Business Licensing / Signs and License Division, No fee, not stated. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Jackson, MS; what each one involves is set out on the Jackson permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MS and are covered on the MS state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Jackson?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Salon or Barber Shop License. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Jackson permits page and the MS state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — fee scheduleMississippi State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
