Commercial Compliance Hub

11 permits · verified 2026-09-10

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Gulfport?

In short

A retail store in Gulfport, MS has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Planning & Zoning Division charges $17.25 one-time, per request for the zoning determination letter. 3 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Gulfport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail StoreCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionBanded by the store's own assessed inventory value (as determined for ad valorem taxation) rather than by employee count: $20/year where stock never exceeds $7,000, rising through narrow bands — $25 at $10,000, $50 at $15,000-$20,000 — to $1,840/year where stock value sometimes exceeds $450,000.annual2026-09-10
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionNo feenot stated — the application does not specify a term, though a sign permit is a one-time construction permit rather than a renewable license2026-09-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Gulfport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Gulfport pageone-time, per project2026-09-10
Zoning Determination Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Planning & Zoning Division$17.25 one-time, per requestone-time, per request2026-09-10
Certificate of Occupancy / Final Building InspectionCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-10
Fire Prevention Inspection and PermitsCity of Gulfport Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionNo feenot stated2026-09-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MS registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax PermitMississippi Department of RevenueNo feeno expiration — continues until revoked, provided the business stays the same at the same location2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionVaries — formula on the MS pageannual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — State of Mississippi positiononly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionNo feeset by the city or town2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Gulfport?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a retail store in Gulfport, MS, 5 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

3 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store: Banded by the store's own assessed inventory value (as determined for ad valorem taxation) rather than by employee count: $20/year where stock never exceeds $7,000, rising through narrow bands — $25 at $10,000, $50 at $15,000-$20,000 — to $1,840/year where stock value sometimes exceeds $450,000.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Gulfport permits page and the MS state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Gulfport?

Permits for a retail store in Gulfport, MS come from 5 separate offices: City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division, City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Planning & Zoning Division, City of Gulfport Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Mississippi Department of Revenue, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Gulfport that other businesses do not?

1 of the 2 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Gulfport: Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store.

Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store

Gulfport's own Privilege License Application asks a sales-type business directly how much its inventory is worth, confirming this is the schedule actually applied to retail stores rather than the general employee-count schedule. The same 2025 bill, SB 3125, would have repealed this section outright; it died in committee in February 2025, so this inventory-based schedule remains the current one in force for a Gulfport retailer.

Shared with other businesses in Gulfport

  • Sign Permit — City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division, No fee, not stated — the application does not specify a term, though a sign permit is a one-time construction permit rather than a renewable license. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Gulfport, MS; what each one involves is set out on the Gulfport permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MS and are covered on the MS state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Gulfport?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A retail store also needs Business Privilege License — Wholesale or Retail Store. A fitness studio needs nothing here that a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Gulfport, MS, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios1110
Auto repair shops2111
Salons and barbers2111
Veterinary clinics2111
Coffee shops3112
Restaurants3112
Childcare centres1021
Contractors and trades3023
Food trucks3023

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Gulfport permits page and the MS state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Mississippi Code § 27-17-365 — Local Privilege Tax Law, inventory-value-banded tax on wholesale or retail storesState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
  2. Privilege License Application (Business License) and Certificate of Zoning Compliance — a combined form: the license application asks a service business how many full-time employees it has and a sales business how much its inventory is worth, requires Planning Division and Building Code Services approval, and the attached Certificate of Zoning Compliance is issued under Section VIII(A)(2) of the Comprehensive Zoning OrdinanceCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
  3. Senate Bill 3125 (2025 Regular Session) bill history — disposition "Dead," "02/26 (S) Died In Committee," for the bill that would have set a flat $10 total local privilege tax and repealed section 27-17-365Mississippi Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.