Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-10

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Gulfport?

In short

A restaurant in Gulfport, MS has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Planning & Zoning Division charges $17.25 one-time, per request for the zoning determination letter. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Gulfport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionNo feenot stated — the application does not specify a term, though a sign permit is a one-time construction permit rather than a renewable license2026-09-10
Food Establishment PermitMississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection$40–$264.50 a year, banded by the department's own risk classificationannual2026-09-04
Certified Food Protection ManagerMississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food ProtectionNo feenot stated in the state's own regulation text2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Gulfport

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building Permit (Commercial)City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Gulfport pageone-time, per project2026-09-10
Zoning Determination Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Planning & Zoning Division$17.25 one-time, per requestone-time, per request2026-09-10
Certificate of Occupancy / Final Building InspectionCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-10
Fire Prevention Inspection and PermitsCity of Gulfport Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionNo feenot stated2026-09-10
Business Privilege LicenseCity of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services DivisionVaries — formula on the Gulfport pageannual — the City's own application does not state a specific renewal month; staff approval of a new application expires after 60 days if a license is not issued by then2026-09-10

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

MS registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax PermitMississippi Department of RevenueNo feeno expiration — continues until revoked, provided the business stays the same at the same location2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionVaries — formula on the MS pageannual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division$50 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — State of Mississippi positiononly if it applies to youMississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionNo feeset by the city or town2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Gulfport?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a restaurant in Gulfport, MS, 7 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

4 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Permit: $40–$264.50 a year, banded by the department's own risk classification

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Gulfport permits page and the MS state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Gulfport?

Permits for a restaurant in Gulfport, MS come from 6 separate offices: City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Building Code Services Division, City of Gulfport, Department of Urban Development, Planning & Zoning Division, City of Gulfport Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection, Mississippi Department of Revenue, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Gulfport that other businesses do not?

Sign Permit

The Sign Permit Application itself states no fee amount, and no dedicated sign-permit fee schedule could be found anywhere on the City's site, so this fee is unpublished. A related but distinct charge is confirmed: the Electrical Permit Fee Schedule separately prices an illuminated sign's electrical hookup at $10.00 per light for the first ten lights (and each additional ten or fraction), plus $10.00 per transformer or ballast — but that is the electrical trade permit for the sign's wiring, not a confirmed fee for the sign structure permit itself. A new off-premises sign additionally requires a credit certificate under Section 9-122 of the Sign Ordinance. Confirm the current sign-permit fee directly with Building Code Services (228-868-5715) before budgeting for it.

Food Establishment Permit

Priced by risk category rather than seating or size: $40 a year at the lowest risk level, rising to $132.25, $198 and $264.50 at the highest, with the higher tiers also inspected at least twice a year rather than once. A new establishment additionally pays a $224.25 plan review fee before it can open, and a reinspection requested outside the routine schedule costs $165.

Certified Food Protection Manager

No state fee — the certificate comes from an accredited private training provider at that provider's price. This is a genuine, unqualified requirement rather than one option among several: the permit holder or a designated person in charge must have completed an approved manager certification course, full stop, and be present during all hours of operation. The state's own food code contains no separate general food handler card requirement for line-level staff — commercial training vendors market inexpensive cards under the Mississippi name, but nothing in the state's regulation requires every employee to hold one, only the person in charge.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Gulfport, MS; what each one involves is set out on the Gulfport permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across MS and are covered on the MS state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Gulfport?

A restaurant and a coffee shop in Gulfport, MS need exactly the same 3 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Gulfport, MS, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops3300
Food trucks3211
Fitness studios1120
Auto repair shops2121
Retail stores2121
Salons and barbers2121
Veterinary clinics2121
Childcare centres1031
Contractors and trades3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Gulfport permits page and the MS state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Sign Permit Application — no fee amount stated on the form; requires a credit certificate for new off-premises signs under Section 9-122 of the Sign OrdinanceCity of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
  2. Electrical Permit Fee Schedule (FY 2002) — a $30.00 base permit fee plus item-based charges for service entrances, feeder circuits, distribution panels, branch circuits, major appliances, motors, generators, and signs/outline lighting ($10.00 per light for the first ten lights, $10.00 per transformer or ballast)City of Gulfport, Mississippi, Urban Development, Building Code Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
  3. Mississippi Administrative Code title 15, part 13, chapters 2 and 4 — food establishment permits and fees by risk categoryMississippi State Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.