10 permits · verified 2026-09-10
What permits do you need to open a food truck in Southaven?
In short
A food truck in Southaven, MS has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division charges $50 one-time filing for the certificate of formation (llc). 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-10 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
The permits at a glance
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Marshal Inspection (Business Occupancy Checklist) | Southaven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office / Fire Prevention Division | No fee | not stated | 2026-09-10 |
| Business Privilege License | City of Southaven, Office of the City Clerk | 1 to 3 full-time employees: $20/year; 4 to 10 employees: $30/year; 11 or more employees: $3 per employee, capped at a $150/year maximum — the same employee-count schedule Mississippi's Local Privilege Tax Law sets, which the City's own Costs & Fees page applies directly, in the same numbers, to every service-based commercial business. | annual — all Southaven business licences expire December 31 regardless of issue date; a licence obtained between February 1 and December 1 is prorated through that December 31 | 2026-09-10 |
| Privilege License to Operate Transient Business (Mobile Food Vendor) | City of Southaven, Office of the City Clerk | $250.00 for a new permit — the exact maximum a Mississippi municipality may charge under state law (Miss. Code § 75-85-13 caps it at "Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00)") — and $25.00 to renew before the original expires. A single permit and its one renewal each run 90 consecutive days, for a combined maximum of 180 days in any calendar year, after which the vendor must vacate the City for the remainder of the year. | 90 days from issuance, renewable once for an additional 90 consecutive days (maximum 180 days per calendar year); the licence is not transferable | 2026-09-10 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual — an annual report is due every year, and for a Mississippi LLC that report is free | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $50 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report costing $25 is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business Licence (not required by Mississippi)only if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | No fee | set by the city or town | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division | $0 for a domestic LLC; $25 for a corporation, domestic or foreign | annual — due 15 April; a nonprofit's version is due 15 May | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Permit | Mississippi Department of Revenue | No fee | no expiration — continues until revoked, provided the business stays the same at the same location | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection | $40–$264.50 a year, banded by the department's own risk classification | annual | 2026-09-04 |
| Certified Food Protection Manager | Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection | No fee | not stated in the state's own regulation text | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a food truck in Southaven?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a food truck in Southaven, MS, 6 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
4 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones that vary:
Business Privilege License: 1 to 3 full-time employees: $20/year; 4 to 10 employees: $30/year; 11 or more employees: $3 per employee, capped at a $150/year maximum — the same employee-count schedule Mississippi's Local Privilege Tax Law sets, which the City's own Costs & Fees page applies directly, in the same numbers, to every service-based commercial business.
Privilege License to Operate Transient Business (Mobile Food Vendor): $250.00 for a new permit — the exact maximum a Mississippi municipality may charge under state law (Miss. Code § 75-85-13 caps it at "Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00)") — and $25.00 to renew before the original expires. A single permit and its one renewal each run 90 consecutive days, for a combined maximum of 180 days in any calendar year, after which the vendor must vacate the City for the remainder of the year.
Annual Report: $0 for a domestic LLC; $25 for a corporation, domestic or foreign
Food Establishment Permit: $40–$264.50 a year, banded by the department's own risk classification
Which offices issue these permits in Southaven?
Permits for a food truck in Southaven, MS come from 5 separate offices: Southaven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office / Fire Prevention Division, City of Southaven, Office of the City Clerk, Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation Division, Mississippi Department of Revenue, Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food Protection. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Southaven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office / Fire Prevention DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Marshal Inspection (Business Occupancy Checklist)8710 Northwest Drive, 2nd Floor, Southaven, MS 38671 · (662) 393-7466southaven.org/140/Fire-Prevention
- City of Southaven, Office of the City ClerkIssues 2 permits on this page: Business Privilege License, Privilege License to Operate Transient Business (Mobile Food Vendor)8710 Northwest Drive, Southaven, MS 38671 · (662) 280-6554southaven.org/111/Business-License-Information
- Mississippi Secretary of State, Business Services and Regulation DivisionIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, General Business Licence (not required by Mississippi), Annual Report125 South Congress Street, Jackson, MS 39201 · (601) 359-1633www.sos.ms.gov/business-services-regulation
- Mississippi Department of RevenueIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax Permit500 Clinton Center Drive, Clinton, MS 39056 · (601) 923-7700www.dor.ms.gov/business/sales-use-tax/registration-information-sales-and-use-tax-applicants
- Mississippi State Department of Health, Office of Food ProtectionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Establishment Permit, Certified Food Protection Manager(601) 364-2832msdh.ms.gov/page/30,0,77,311.html
Is anything about these requirements changing?
The baseline fire-safety inspection every commercial business completes as Step 3 of the City's own Business Occupancy Checklist — required before a Certificate of Occupancy can be issued — carries no separately published fee of its own, so no fee applies to that routine sign-off itself. The Fire Marshal's Office does separately publish a genuinely detailed Construction Permit Fee, Operational Permit Fee, and Inspection Penalty Fee schedule covering specific systems and activities: $100.00 each for altering an automatic fire extinguishing system, a fire alarm/detection system, or fire pumps; $300.00 for hazardous materials; and inspection penalty fees — charged only after a 30-day follow-up re-inspection still finds uncorrected violations — ranging from $100 for a Business Occupancy up to $1,000 for a High Hazard or Institutional Occupancy. One named Operational Permit line item is a genuine, confirmed local requirement for a specific industry this project tracks — a $50.00 "Repair Garage" permit for auto-repair shops — recorded as its own line below. No comparable named operational-permit line item could be found for restaurant, retail, salon, fitness, veterinary, or childcare occupancies specifically, beyond this routine occupancy sign-off.
The City's own Business Occupancy Checklist lays out the real five-step process: (1) the Office of Planning and Development confirms zoning and whether any further process (conditional use, site plan, rezoning) is needed; (2) the Building Department performs a Use & Occupancy Final inspection; (3) the Fire Marshal inspects; (4) the Building Department issues the Certificate of Occupancy; (5) the City Clerk issues the Privilege Tax License itself, requiring the application, an emergency contact list, a driver's licence copy, proof of EIN/SSN, formation papers, any MS sales tax/beer/tobacco permit, an MS Health Department food permit where applicable, and proof of any professional licence (insurance, real estate, massage, etc.). No business may occupy the building until this entire process is complete — violating it risks denial of occupancy or a citation to municipal court. Retail-based businesses use a separate inventory-value schedule instead (recorded below). No separate, additional salon-, fitness-, veterinary-, auto-repair-, contractor-, or childcare-specific municipal licence beyond this general privilege licence and the standard checklist process could be confirmed for any of these industries, though "Day Care" is one of the named business types on the checklist's own Statement of Operations and this project's initial research suggested a childcare applicant's Fire Marshal review may be engaged earlier in the process than for other business types — that could not be confirmed as a distinct fee or permit product beyond the same Fire Marshal sign-off (Step 3) every business completes.
This is the real mechanism a food truck (or any other business "carried on in any building, structure, motor vehicle, or other means of conveyance ... for a period of less than six months in each calendar year," per the City's own definition) actually uses, distinct from the fixed-location Business Privilege License recorded above. Beyond the licence fee itself, the application requires: a $2,000 surety bond, or 5% of the wholesale value of inventory if lower (Miss. Code § 75-85-13); a separate $2,000 penal bond (Miss. Code § 21-19-35); a notarized Registered Agent Affidavit naming an agent who must reside in the City of Southaven (Miss. Code § 75-85-11); a Fire Inspection; and, whenever the vendor sells food, a copy of the vendor's current Mississippi State Department of Health food permit (the underlying credential recorded at the state layer). Violating the Act's provisions is a misdemeanor carrying up to a $500 fine and/or six months' imprisonment. A 2021 desototimes.com report separately describes a lower $100 permit fee plus $25/day (or $75/month) tied to a City "Food Truck Friday" program restricting trucks to two specific city-owned lots one day a week — this project read the City's own Special Events Ordinance in full and found no mention of food trucks or that figure anywhere in it, and no other current government document corroborates it, so it is disclosed here as unverified secondary-source background rather than asserted as a confirmed current fee. The transient-vendor figures above, taken directly from the City's own current application form and confirmed against the state statute's own cap, are what this project treats as the verified requirement.
Fifty dollars, the same as a corporation. What sets the LLC apart is what comes after formation: its annual report costs nothing at all, a genuine difference from a corporation's ongoing $25 — see the annual report record.
The same $50 as an LLC, and the same figure for a nonprofit corporation too. Unlike an LLC, a corporation's annual report is not free — see that record.
No fee, and the Secretary of State's own guide to opening a Mississippi business makes the split explicit: its compliance roadmap places licences and permits entirely under the city or town column, while the state government column covers only filing the entity's formation documents. Every city and town runs its own registration procedure, so check locally rather than expecting a state-issued licence.
This is a genuinely free filing for a domestic LLC — the Secretary of State's own fee schedule prices it at zero, a real distinction from most states, where an LLC annual filing costs something even if modest. A foreign LLC pays $250 for the same obligation, which is a striking gap. A corporation, domestic or foreign, pays $25 either way, due on the same 15 April deadline. There is no separate monetary late fee for missing either report — the consequence is administrative dissolution outright, and reinstatement afterward costs $50 for a domestic LLC or corporation, or $100 for a foreign one.
No fee — the statute imposes none for the general permit to engage in business, and it stays in force indefinitely as long as the holder continues in the same business at the same location. A bond is required only in narrower circumstances, such as an out-of-state applicant with no permanent Mississippi location, not as a routine part of registering.
Priced by risk category rather than seating or size: $40 a year at the lowest risk level, rising to $132.25, $198 and $264.50 at the highest, with the higher tiers also inspected at least twice a year rather than once. A new establishment additionally pays a $224.25 plan review fee before it can open, and a reinspection requested outside the routine schedule costs $165.
No state fee — the certificate comes from an accredited private training provider at that provider's price. This is a genuine, unqualified requirement rather than one option among several: the permit holder or a designated person in charge must have completed an approved manager certification course, full stop, and be present during all hours of operation. No separate general food handler card requirement for line-level staff was found anywhere in the state's own food code — commercial training vendors market inexpensive cards under the Mississippi name, but nothing in the state's regulation requires every employee to hold one, only the person in charge.
Sources
Every figure above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Fire Department Permit and Fee Schedule — Construction Permit Fees, Inspection Penalty Fees for Failure to Comply, and Operational Permit Fees, including a $50.00 "Repair Garage" operational permitSouthaven Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Business Occupancy Checklist (Rev. 4/19) — the five-step approval process (Planning & Development zoning review; Building Department Use & Occupancy Final; Fire Marshal inspection; Certificate of Occupancy issuance; Privilege Tax License) that every commercial business must complete before occupying a buildingCity of Southaven, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Code § 27-17-9 — Local Privilege Tax Law, general employee-count privilege tax schedule and municipal tax-collector administrationState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Costs & Fees — states the home-based ($20/year), retail-based (15% of true inventory value, "taken directly from § 27-17-365, Mississippi Code Annotated"), service-based (employee-count banded) and several flat-fee business licence categories, plus year-end prorationCity of Southaven, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Application for Privilege License to Operate Transient Business — states a $250.00 new permit fee and $25.00 renewal fee, a 90-day (renewable once) term, and the bond, agent-affidavit and food-permit requirements under Mississippi's Transient Vendor ActCity of Southaven, Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Code § 75-85-13 — Transient Vendor Act, licence fee "not to exceed Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00)" set by the county or municipality, and surety bond of the lesser of $2,000 or 5% of wholesale inventory valueState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Code § 75-85-7 — Transient Vendor Act, application for licence in each county and municipality where business is transactedState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Code § 21-19-35 — Municipalities, penal bond not to exceed $2,000 required of transient vendors before transacting businessState of Mississippi, republished by FindLaw · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Food Permits and Fees — confirming MSDH itself "now processes food facility permits electronically," with no Hinds County or other county office named as an issuing authorityMississippi State Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Southaven to allow food trucks to set up shop one day a week — 2021 report describing a Board of Aldermen resolution setting a $100 permit fee plus $25/day or $75/month for a "Food Truck Friday" program at two named city lots; not corroborated by any government document this project could reachdesototimes.com (DeSoto Times-Tribune, local news) · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mississippi Secretary of State — business filing fee scheduleMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Secretary of State — business welcome packet, placing licences and permits under city government rather than the stateMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Secretary of State — annual reports, due dates and administrative dissolutionMississippi Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Code section 27-65-27 — the sales tax permit, continuing in force until revokedState of Mississippi · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Mississippi Administrative Code title 15, part 13, chapters 2 and 4 — food establishment permits and fees by risk categoryMississippi State Department of Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
