12 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Lewiston?
In short
A fitness studio in Lewiston, ME has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department charges $150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit for the board of appeals petition (variance / administrative appeal / conditional use). 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Lewiston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator)only if it applies to you | Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau | A burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only)only if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area. | one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lewiston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | Varies — formula on the Lewiston page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | No fee | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use | 2026-09-12 |
| Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)only if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | $150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Development Review (Site Plan Review / Conditional Use)only if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | Varies — formula on the Lewiston page | initial approval expires if the development has not started within two years; not completed within five years | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
ME registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $145 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $175 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Registration | Maine Revenue Services | No fee | no expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | Varies — formula on the ME page | annual — due 1 June every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | No fee | set by the town or city | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Lewiston?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in Lewiston, ME, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
5 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator): A burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box.
Sign Permit: $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Lewiston?
Permits for a fitness studio in Lewiston, ME come from 5 separate offices: City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)City Hall, 27 Pine Street, 3rd Floor, Lewiston, ME 04240 · (207) 513-3125www.lewistonmaine.gov/140/Planning-Code-Enforcement
- Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator)2 College Street, Lewiston, ME 04240 · (207) 513-3002www.lewistonmaine.gov/338/Fire-Prevention
- City of Lewiston, City Clerk's DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only)City Hall, 27 Pine Street, Lewiston, ME 04240 · (207) 513-3124www.lewistonmaine.gov/121/Business-Licenses
- Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Formation (LLC), Annual Report, General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)6 East Chestnut Street, 5th Floor, Augusta, ME 04333 · (207) 624-7752www.maine.gov/sos/corporations-commissions
- Maine Revenue ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax RegistrationPO Box 1060, Augusta, ME 04332www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/sales-use-service-provider-tax
What does a fitness studio need in Lewiston that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Lewiston
- Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator) — Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, A burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
- Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only) — City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, salons and barbers and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Sign Permit — City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lewiston, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Lewiston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Lewiston?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 3 of these permits. A retail store needs Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale), which a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 4 | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 2 | 1 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 2 | 1 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the childcare centres page, retail stores page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
