Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Lewiston?

In short

A auto repair shop in Lewiston, ME has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department charges $150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit for the board of appeals petition (variance / administrative appeal / conditional use). 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Lewiston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, City Clerk's DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department$25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area.one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811)only if it applies to youMaine Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State Police, Traffic DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lewiston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentVaries — formula on the Lewiston pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentNo feeone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use2026-09-12
Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department$150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Development Review (Site Plan Review / Conditional Use)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentVaries — formula on the Lewiston pageinitial approval expires if the development has not started within two years; not completed within five years2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ME registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$145 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$175 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax RegistrationMaine Revenue ServicesNo feeno expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsVaries — formula on the ME pageannual — due 1 June every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsNo feeset by the town or city2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Lewiston?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a auto repair shop in Lewiston, ME, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Lewiston?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Lewiston, ME come from 5 separate offices: City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services, Maine Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State Police, Traffic Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Lewiston that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here applies to no other business type we cover in Lewiston: Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811).

Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811)

No fee applies: 29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811, the statute governing motor vehicle repair facilities, imposes consumer-protection duties directly, such as capping charges above an estimate and disclosing the use of used parts, without ever requiring the shop itself to register or be licensed. A shop that also wants to perform official state safety inspections has a separate, genuinely optional path: becoming a state police-licensed inspection station, on a two-year cycle, and employing a certified inspection mechanic, whose own fee is confirmed directly at $1 for a five-year certificate. A shop that also buys or sells vehicles, or salvages and dismantles them, needs a further dealer or recycler license from the Secretary of State — a different requirement again, triggered by sales rather than repair.

Shared with other businesses in Lewiston

  • Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only) — City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, veterinary clinics, fitness studios, salons and barbers and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lewiston, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Lewiston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Lewiston?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811). A fitness studio needs Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator), which a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Lewiston, ME, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios3211
Salons and barbers3211
Veterinary clinics3211
Retail stores4212
Childcare centres4123
Coffee shops6125
Restaurants6125
Contractors and trades6036
Food trucks4034

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. 29-A Maine Revised Statutes section 1801 — motor vehicle repair facility consumer duties, with no licensing mechanismMaine Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.