Rowlett
City of Rowlett Building Safety
In short
City of Rowlett Building Safety issues 5 permits we publish for Rowlett, last verified 2026-08-27. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Valuation table: $636.25 for the first $100,000 plus $3.50 per additional $1,000 to $500,000; $2,036.25 for the first $500,000 plus $3.30 per $1,000 to $1m; $3,686.25 for the first $1m plus $2.50 per $1,000 | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | $25–$175 per sign, by type | up to 6 months for the annual temporary sign plan | 2026-08-27 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Rowlett Building Safety | $100 per registration | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Rowlett Building Safety | $90–$180 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Trade and Miscellaneous Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | $30–$160 per permit, by work type | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Commercial Building Permit
Read how the valuation is set before estimating: Rowlett takes the International Code Council Building Valuation Data table multiplied by 70 per cent, or the valuation you declare on the application, whichever is HIGHER. Declaring low does not help. Shell buildings and finish-outs then get a further 75 per cent multiplier, which is the one genuine discount in the method. Trade plan review is $100 per trade on top. Two provisions to avoid: working without a permit doubles the fee, and a permit extension costs half the original permit and plan fees again.
Sign Permit
$100 for a permanent sign without electrical and $175 with — the electrical connection adds $75, which is the same distinction Allen draws at a smaller gap. An off-site directional real estate sign is $150. Temporary signage is the bargain: $25 for a single temporary sign permit, and $25 again for an annual temporary sign plan covering up to six months, so a shop running seasonal banners should buy the plan rather than permit each one.
Contractor Registration
$100 for a general contractor and $100 again for an HVAC contractor, registered separately. A firm holding both pays both. Right-of-way and franchise utility subcontractors are registered under a different line at $150 annually, so a contractor doing work in the street as well as on the building has a third registration to hold.
Certificate of Occupancy
$180 as standard, halving to $90 where a certificate was issued for the same space within the last six months or the space is under 250 square feet. That six-month rule is worth knowing when a short-lived tenant vacates: taking on premises that were certificated recently costs half. A temporary certificate, including extensions, is $100. At $180 this is among the dearer certificates in the dataset — Allen charges $125, Mansfield $75.
Commercial Trade and Miscellaneous Permit
Miscellaneous electrical, mechanical and plumbing permits are $30 plus $50 for each inspection, which makes the inspection count rather than the permit the real cost. Flat items: a commercial panel or service change $85, solar $160, a commercial HVAC unit replacement $100 each, a commercial water heater $100 each, commercial re-roofing $80, a commercial fence $100, screening $150 and flatwork $75. Reinspection is where Rowlett is unusually severe on larger premises — $60 under 5,000 square feet, but $150 at 5,000 and above, then $300, $500, $750 and $1,000 for the fifth and each subsequent visit.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Rowlett
- Phone
- (972) 412-6125
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Rowlett Master Fee Schedule, 36 pages, approved as Resolution No. RES-26-05-42R on 19 May 2026City of Rowlett · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
Other offices serving Rowlett
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
