Rowlett
City of Rowlett Health and Code Services
In short
City of Rowlett Health and Code Services issues 7 permits we publish for Rowlett, last verified 2026-08-27. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $100 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $258–$773 per year, by gross annual food sales | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $50 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Liquid Waste Hauler Permit | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $150 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| School and Non-Profit Food Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $150 per inspection | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Service Establishment Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $50 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-27 |
| Repair Shop License | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $75 per license | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Farmers Market Permit
$100 a year. Alongside it the schedule prices a temporary food permit at $50, a DSHS multiple-event temporary permit at $100, and a temporary food permit for a city-sponsored function at nothing. If your stall is trading at a city event, ask whether it qualifies for the zero-rated permit before paying the $50.
Food Establishment Permit
Three bands on gross annual food sales: $258 up to $49,999.99, $515 from $50,000 to $149,999.99 and $773 at $150,000 or more. Those are the Texas DSHS figures, which Senate Bill 1008 makes the maximum a Texas city may charge annually. Article V of the code sets the obligation — no person may operate a food establishment without a city permit, and a valid permit must be posted in or on every establishment — but the ordinance itself names no amount, referring only to "the applicable fee". Permits are not transferable between people or between locations except as the article allows, so a change of owner or premises means a fresh application rather than an amendment.
Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspection
$50 a year, matching Richardson as the cheapest grease charge in this dataset and well below Amarillo's $145. Any commercial kitchen with an interceptor should expect it annually on top of the food permit.
Liquid Waste Hauler Permit
$150 for the hauler, not the premises — this is the permit your grease or waste oil contractor must hold to collect in Rowlett, and it sits beside the $50 grease trap interceptor inspection that falls on you. Worth confirming a prospective contractor holds it, because a hauler without one cannot lawfully take the load.
School and Non-Profit Food Inspection
$150 for a school or non-profit inspection, charged instead of the turnover-banded permit. That puts a school kitchen below even the lowest commercial band, and well under what Brazos County ($300 for two inspections) or Corpus Christi ($150 per inspection, twice yearly) charge for the equivalent.
Food Service Establishment Reinspection
$50 — the joint cheapest food reinspection recorded here, level with the grease trap inspection and well under Garland's $200. A late fee of $25 applies after ten days, which is a short grace period by any standard, so diarise the renewal rather than relying on a reminder.
Repair Shop License
$75 for a repair shop license, with a duplicate at $2. Very few Texas cities in this dataset license vehicle repair as its own trade rather than treating it as an ordinary commercial use, and Rowlett is one of them — so a garage opening here has a license to obtain that its neighbours in Garland or Mesquite do not. The schedule does not state a renewal period; confirm the term with the city rather than assuming it runs with the calendar year.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Rowlett
- Phone
- Not verified — use the website
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- City of Rowlett — Permits and Licenses, food establishment permit feesCity of Rowlett · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
- City of Rowlett Code of Ordinances Article V, Food Service Establishments (sections 10-141 to 10-143) — filed with Texas DSHSCity of Rowlett, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
- City of Rowlett Master Fee ScheduleCity of Rowlett · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
- City of Rowlett Master Fee Schedule, 36 pages, approved as Resolution No. RES-26-05-42R on 19 May 2026City of Rowlett · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
Other offices serving Rowlett
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Texas jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
