16 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Rowlett?
In short
A restaurant in Rowlett, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Rowlett Health and Code Services charges $100 per year for the farmers market permit. 6 of the 16 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Rowlett
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $100 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $258–$773 per year, by gross annual food sales | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $50 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Liquid Waste Hauler Permit | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $150 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Rowlett Building Safety | $100 per registration | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| School and Non-Profit Food Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $150 per inspection | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Service Establishment Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $50 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-27 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to you | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission | $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal | every 2 years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rowlett
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | up to 6 months for the annual temporary sign plan | 2026-08-27 |
| Annual Business Fire Prevention Inspection | City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal | No fee — initial inspection | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Trade and Miscellaneous Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Rowlett?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 16 records listed for a restaurant in Rowlett, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $250.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 16 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment Permit: $258–$773 per year, by gross annual food sales
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rowlett permits page and the TX state page.
Is Rowlett expensive for a restaurant?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Rowlett sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Farmers Market Permit: Rowlett charges $100. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Victoria County to $250 in Allen, with a median of $100. 2 charge less, 1 charges more and 4 charge exactly the same.
Contractor Registration: Rowlett charges $100. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Allen to $100 in Richardson, with a median of $100. 2 charge less and 3 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Farmers Market Permit varies by $220 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Rowlett?
Permits for a restaurant in Rowlett, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, City of Rowlett Building Safety, City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Rowlett Health and Code ServicesIssues 6 permits on this page, including Farmers Market Permit, Food Establishment Permit, Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspection4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088www.rowletttx.gov/163/Permits-and-Licenses
- City of Rowlett Building SafetyIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Sign Permit, Contractor Registration4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088 · (972) 412-6125www.rowletttx.gov/101/Building-Inspections
- City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire MarshalIssues 1 permit on this page: Annual Business Fire Prevention Inspection4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088www.rowletttx.gov
- Texas Alcoholic Beverage CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)www.tabc.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a restaurant need in Rowlett that other businesses do not?
1 of the 8 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Rowlett: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).
Food Establishment Permit
Three bands on gross annual food sales: $258 up to $49,999.99, $515 from $50,000 to $149,999.99 and $773 at $150,000 or more. Those are the Texas DSHS figures, which Senate Bill 1008 makes the maximum a Texas city may charge annually. Article V of the code sets the obligation — no person may operate a food establishment without a city permit, and a valid permit must be posted in or on every establishment — but the ordinance itself names no amount, referring only to "the applicable fee". Permits are not transferable between people or between locations except as the article allows, so a change of owner or premises means a fresh application rather than an amendment.
Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspection
$50 a year, matching Richardson as the cheapest grease charge in this dataset and well below Amarillo's $145. Any commercial kitchen with an interceptor should expect it annually on top of the food permit.
Food Service Establishment Reinspection
$50 — the joint cheapest food reinspection recorded here, level with the grease trap inspection and well under Garland's $200. A late fee of $25 applies after ten days, which is a short grace period by any standard, so diarise the renewal rather than relying on a reminder.
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)
Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.
Shared with other businesses in Rowlett
- Farmers Market Permit — City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, $100 per year, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Liquid Waste Hauler Permit — City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, $150 per permit, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for contractors and trades and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Contractor Registration — City of Rowlett Building Safety, $100 per registration, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for auto repair shops, contractors and trades, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- School and Non-Profit Food Inspection — City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, $150 per inspection, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rowlett, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Rowlett permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Rowlett?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 4 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Liquid Waste Hauler Permit, Contractor Registration, School and Non-Profit Food Inspection and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A coffee shop needs nothing here that a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 4 | 4 | 0 |
| Retail stores | 4 | 4 | 4 | 0 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 3 | 5 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 2 | 6 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 1 | 7 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 1 | 7 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 7 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 8 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 8 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, contractors and trades page, salons and barbers page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rowlett permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Rowlett — Permits and Licenses, food establishment permit feesCity of Rowlett · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
- City of Rowlett Code of Ordinances Article V, Food Service Establishments (sections 10-141 to 10-143) — filed with Texas DSHSCity of Rowlett, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
- City of Rowlett Master Fee ScheduleCity of Rowlett · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26
- City of Rowlett Master Fee Schedule, 36 pages, approved as Resolution No. RES-26-05-42R on 19 May 2026City of Rowlett · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
- Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
