12 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Rowlett?
In short
A retail store in Rowlett, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Rowlett Health and Code Services charges $100 per year for the farmers market permit. 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Rowlett
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $100 per year | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $258–$773 per year, by gross annual food sales | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Rowlett Building Safety | $100 per registration | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Food Service Establishment Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Health and Code Services | $50 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rowlett
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | up to 6 months for the annual temporary sign plan | 2026-08-27 |
| Annual Business Fire Prevention Inspection | City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal | No fee — initial inspection | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Trade and Miscellaneous Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Rowlett?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a retail store in Rowlett, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment Permit: $258–$773 per year, by gross annual food sales
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rowlett permits page and the TX state page.
Is Rowlett expensive for a retail store?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Rowlett sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Farmers Market Permit: Rowlett charges $100. Across 8 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Victoria County to $250 in Allen, with a median of $100. 2 charge less, 1 charges more and 4 charge exactly the same.
Contractor Registration: Rowlett charges $100. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Allen to $100 in Richardson, with a median of $100. 2 charge less and 3 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Farmers Market Permit varies by $220 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Rowlett?
Permits for a retail store in Rowlett, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, City of Rowlett Building Safety, City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Rowlett Health and Code ServicesIssues 3 permits on this page: Farmers Market Permit, Food Establishment Permit, Food Service Establishment Reinspection4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088www.rowletttx.gov/163/Permits-and-Licenses
- City of Rowlett Building SafetyIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Sign Permit, Contractor Registration4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088 · (972) 412-6125www.rowletttx.gov/101/Building-Inspections
- City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire MarshalIssues 1 permit on this page: Annual Business Fire Prevention Inspection4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088www.rowletttx.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Rowlett that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Rowlett
- Farmers Market Permit — City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, $100 per year, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Food Establishment Permit — City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, $258–$773 per year, by gross annual food sales, 1 year. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Contractor Registration — City of Rowlett Building Safety, $100 per registration, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for auto repair shops, contractors and trades, restaurants and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.
- Food Service Establishment Reinspection — City of Rowlett Health and Code Services, $50 per reinspection, per inspection. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rowlett, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Rowlett permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Rowlett?
The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A retail store also needs Contractor Registration. A coffee shop needs Grease Trap and Interceptor Inspection, which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee shops | 4 | 3 | 1 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, restaurants page and salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rowlett permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
