10 permits · verified 2026-08-27
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Rowlett?
In short
A salon or barber in Rowlett, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Rowlett Building Safety charges $100 per registration for the contractor registration. 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-27 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in Rowlett
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor Registration | City of Rowlett Building Safety | $100 per registration | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $78 per license period | two years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Rowlett
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | up to 6 months for the annual temporary sign plan | 2026-08-27 |
| Annual Business Fire Prevention Inspection | City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal | No fee — initial inspection | 1 year | 2026-08-27 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-27 |
| Commercial Trade and Miscellaneous Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Rowlett Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Rowlett page | per permit | 2026-08-27 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Rowlett?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a salon or barber in Rowlett, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $178.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Rowlett permits page and the TX state page.
Is Rowlett expensive for a salon or barber?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Rowlett sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Contractor Registration: Rowlett charges $100. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Allen to $100 in Richardson, with a median of $100. 2 charge less and 3 charge exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Contractor Registration varies by $50 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Rowlett?
Permits for a salon or barber in Rowlett, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Rowlett Building Safety, City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire Marshal, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Rowlett Building SafetyIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Sign Permit, Contractor Registration4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088 · (972) 412-6125www.rowletttx.gov/101/Building-Inspections
- City of Rowlett Fire Rescue, Fire MarshalIssues 1 permit on this page: Annual Business Fire Prevention Inspection4000 Main Street, Rowlett, TX 75088www.rowletttx.gov
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a salon or barber need in Rowlett that other businesses do not?
1 of the 2 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Rowlett: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License.
Contractor Registration
$100 for a general contractor and $100 again for an HVAC contractor, registered separately. A firm holding both pays both. Right-of-way and franchise utility subcontractors are registered under a different line at $150 annually, so a contractor doing work in the street as well as on the building has a third registration to hold.
Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License
Establishment licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue, so the $78 is a two-year cost rather than an annual one — worth halving before you compare it with a yearly permit elsewhere. The fee applies to standard and specialty establishments; a mini-establishment license is $70. It covers full-service, mobile and specialty establishments, and applies to licenses expiring on or after 1 September 2023. Individual practitioners are licensed separately from the establishment, so a salon needs both its own license and a license for each operator working in it.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Rowlett, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Rowlett permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Rowlett?
The closest match is a contractor or trade, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License. A contractor or trade needs Liquid Waste Hauler Permit and Electrical Contractor License, which a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 4 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 1 | 1 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 1 | 1 | 7 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Rowlett permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Rowlett Master Fee Schedule, 36 pages, approved as Resolution No. RES-26-05-42R on 19 May 2026City of Rowlett · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27
- Barbering and Cosmetology Fee Changes — TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
