14 permits · verified 2026-09-14
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Burlington?
In short
A fitness studio in Burlington, VT has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division charges $155 one-time filing for the articles of organization (llc). 6 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Burlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness Studio — City Zoning and Permits Only (Burlington)only if it applies to you | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | A $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Burlington
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Business License — Burlington Position (24 V.S.A. § 2291)only if it applies to you | City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's Office | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-14 |
| Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Development Review Board Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | one-time per application | 2026-09-14 |
| Zoning Permit (required for change of use, not only construction) | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-14 |
| Zoning Certificate of Occupancy | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | one-time; a temporary certificate is time-limited by its own terms | 2026-09-14 |
| Building Permit | City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | a building permit becomes invalid after three years under Code §8-27 | 2026-09-14 |
| Fire and Life Safety Inspection | City of Burlington Office of the City Fire Marshal | Varies — formula on the Burlington page | per inspection cycle | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
VT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $155 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $45 a year | annual — due within 3 months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 31 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit | Vermont Department of Taxes | No fee | no expiration — no renewal required | 2026-09-04 |
| Corporation Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | $60 a year | annual — due within two and a half months after the entity's own fiscal year end, roughly March 15 for a calendar-year filer | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Vermont Secretary of State Fee Scheduleonly if it applies to you | Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Burlington?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a fitness studio in Burlington, VT, 5 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
6 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: A $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00.
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Burlington permits page and the VT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Burlington?
Permits for a fitness studio in Burlington, VT come from 5 separate offices: City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's Office, City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections, City of Burlington Office of the City Fire Marshal, Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division, Vermont Department of Taxes. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Burlington Clerk/Treasurer's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: General Business License — Burlington Position (24 V.S.A. § 2291)149 Church Street, Burlington, VT 05401 · (802) 865-7000www.burlingtonvt.gov/1064/Business-Licenses
- City of Burlington Department of Permitting and InspectionsIssues 6 permits on this page, including Fitness Studio — City Zoning and Permits Only (Burlington), Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Development Review Board Application, Zoning Permit (required for change of use, not only construction)645 Pine Street, Burlington, VT 05401 · (802) 863-0442www.burlingtonvt.gov/558/Permit-Fees
- City of Burlington Office of the City Fire MarshalIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire and Life Safety Inspection132 North Avenue, Burlington, VT 05401 · (802) 864-5577www.burlingtonvt.gov/181
- Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Articles of Organization (LLC), Articles of Incorporation, LLC Annual Report128 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633 · (802) 828-2386sos.vermont.gov/business-services
- Vermont Department of TaxesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales Tax Permit133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05633tax.vermont.gov/business/sales-and-use-tax
What does a fitness studio need in Burlington that other businesses do not?
1 of the 2 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Burlington: Fitness Studio — City Zoning and Permits Only (Burlington).
Fitness Studio — City Zoning and Permits Only (Burlington)
No fee applies: the Clerk/Treasurer's Business Licenses page lists no fitness license, and 24 V.S.A. § 2291 grants no municipal power to license fitness businesses. The nearest chapter is Chapter 4, AMUSEMENTS, and it is essentially empty — §§4-1 through 4-3, 4-5 through 4-7 and 4-11 through 4-30 are all reserved. A gym appears in the CDO use table as 'Health Club.' A studio's city obligations are therefore the universal set: zoning permit for the use, zoning certificate of occupancy, building and trade permits for fit-out, sign permit, and the fire and life safety inspection, whose first inspection and first re-inspection are free of charge. Where the district makes a health club a conditional use, the $195.00 conditional use fee applies on top of the zoning permit.
Shared with other businesses in Burlington
- Sign Permit — City of Burlington Department of Permitting and Inspections, A $15.00 filing fee plus $118.00 for one sign, plus $80.00 for each additional sign. Signs forming part of an approved Master Sign Plan are charged at half price per sign. An application to establish or amend a Master Sign Plan is treated as another Development Review Board matter at $155.00, and a sign-related variance is charged as a variance at $195.00., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Burlington, VT; what each one involves is set out on the Burlington permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across VT and are covered on the VT state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Burlington?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 1 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Fitness Studio — City Zoning and Permits Only (Burlington). A retail store needs Food Service Establishment License — Vermont Department of Health (Burlington), which a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 1 | 1 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 1 | 1 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Burlington permits page and the VT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Business Licenses — the Clerk/Treasurer's own current index, listing the only four licenses the City issues (cannabis, liquor, peddler, taxi) and establishing that Burlington has no general business licenseCity of Burlington · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Code of Ordinances, City of Burlington, current through Ord. 7-15-26 — Chapter 8 §8-28 (building permit fee and minimum), Chapter 12 §12-26 (electrical), Chapter 19 §§19-2 and 19-18 (licenses and entertainment permits), Chapter 13 §13-22 (fire re-inspection fees), Chapter 23 §23-6 (peddler license fees) and Chapter 25 §25-12 (plumbing)City of Burlington, codified by General Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
