Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in West Jordan?

In short

A coffee shop in West Jordan, UT has 9 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. West Jordan Fire Department charges $127 per inspection for the kitchen hood plan review/inspection. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in West Jordan

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Kitchen Hood Plan Review/Inspectiononly if it applies to youWest Jordan Fire Department$127 per inspectionnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Food Establishment PermitSalt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau)Priced by risk level, assigned by the Food Protection Bureau at application: Risk Level 1 (includes Shaved Ice Stand, Self-Service Mobile, Venue Cart) $275; Risk Level 2 (includes Venue Cart) $405; Risk Level 3 (includes Venue Cart) $555; Risk Level 4 $770. A new, converted or remodeled facility separately owes a plan review fee: Level 1 $580, Level 2 $870, Level 3 $1,140, Level 4 $1,345. A failed inspection or follow-up inspection is $155.annual2026-09-09
Sign Permit (Sign Review)City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Planning and Zoning DivisionPriced by sign valuation on the Planning and Engineering 'Sign Review' table: $1-$500, $35 flat; $501-$2,000, $35 plus $2.00 per additional $100; $2,001-$25,000, a $65 base fee (the table's own per-$1,000 additional rate for this tier did not render legibly in the retrieved copy of the fee schedule); $25,001-$50,000, $345 plus $8 per additional $1,000; over $50,001, $525 plus $6 per additional $1,000. Bus bench signs are $60; bus shelters $90; off-premises development/construction signs $300; a Planning Commission Review is $500; temporary sign review is $35. Installing a sign without a permit doubles the fee.one-time, per sign2026-09-09
Food Handler CardUtah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services DivisionFood handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once3 years, valid statewide (rule R392-103)2026-09-04
Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state)Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services DivisionNo feeset locally2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in West Jordan

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Business Fire InspectionWest Jordan Fire DepartmentVaries — formula on the West Jordan pagerecurring — either biennial or annual depending on which version of the fee schedule's own contradictory text currently governs; confirm with the Fire Department (801-840-4000)2026-09-09
General Business LicenseCity of West Jordan Finance Department, Business Licensing DivisionVaries — formula on the West Jordan pageannual — a 'license year' runs twelve consecutive calendar months from the date of commencement (not a calendar year), per Municipal Code § 4-1B-17; expires no later than 120 days after continuous closure of the business per § 4-1B-302026-09-09
Building Permit (Commercial)City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Building & Safety DivisionVaries — formula on the West Jordan pageone-time, per project; no refunds issued more than one year after issuance2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of West Jordan Community Development Department, Building & Safety Division$290 one-time, per certificate; first reinspection included at no charge, each additional reinspection $75one-time, no expiration2026-09-09
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of West Jordan Community Development Department, Planning and Zoning Division$150 one-time, per requestone-time, no stated expiration2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

UT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax LicenseUtah State Tax CommissionNo feeongoing — no fixed expiration, with a filing frequency the state assigns and can revisit2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-04
Annual Renewalonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$18 a year; a late renewal adds $10annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in West Jordan?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a coffee shop in West Jordan, UT, 9 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 9 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $290.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Permit: Priced by risk level, assigned by the Food Protection Bureau at application: Risk Level 1 (includes Shaved Ice Stand, Self-Service Mobile, Venue Cart) $275; Risk Level 2 (includes Venue Cart) $405; Risk Level 3 (includes Venue Cart) $555; Risk Level 4 $770. A new, converted or remodeled facility separately owes a plan review fee: Level 1 $580, Level 2 $870, Level 3 $1,140, Level 4 $1,345. A failed inspection or follow-up inspection is $155.

Sign Permit (Sign Review): Priced by sign valuation on the Planning and Engineering 'Sign Review' table: $1-$500, $35 flat; $501-$2,000, $35 plus $2.00 per additional $100; $2,001-$25,000, a $65 base fee (the table's own per-$1,000 additional rate for this tier did not render legibly in the retrieved copy of the fee schedule); $25,001-$50,000, $345 plus $8 per additional $1,000; over $50,001, $525 plus $6 per additional $1,000. Bus bench signs are $60; bus shelters $90; off-premises development/construction signs $300; a Planning Commission Review is $500; temporary sign review is $35. Installing a sign without a permit doubles the fee.

Food Handler Card: Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the West Jordan permits page and the UT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in West Jordan?

Permits for a coffee shop in West Jordan, UT come from 8 separate offices: West Jordan Fire Department, City of West Jordan Finance Department, Business Licensing Division, City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Building & Safety Division, Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau), City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Planning and Zoning Division, Utah State Tax Commission, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in West Jordan that other businesses do not?

Shared with other businesses in West Jordan

  • Kitchen Hood Plan Review/Inspection — West Jordan Fire Department, $127 per inspection, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau), Priced by risk level, assigned by the Food Protection Bureau at application: Risk Level 1 (includes Shaved Ice Stand, Self-Service Mobile, Venue Cart) $275; Risk Level 2 (includes Venue Cart) $405; Risk Level 3 (includes Venue Cart) $555; Risk Level 4 $770. A new, converted or remodeled facility separately owes a plan review fee: Level 1 $580, Level 2 $870, Level 3 $1,140, Level 4 $1,345. A failed inspection or follow-up inspection is $155., annual. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Sign Permit (Sign Review) — City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Planning and Zoning Division, Priced by sign valuation on the Planning and Engineering 'Sign Review' table: $1-$500, $35 flat; $501-$2,000, $35 plus $2.00 per additional $100; $2,001-$25,000, a $65 base fee (the table's own per-$1,000 additional rate for this tier did not render legibly in the retrieved copy of the fee schedule); $25,001-$50,000, $345 plus $8 per additional $1,000; over $50,001, $525 plus $6 per additional $1,000. Bus bench signs are $60; bus shelters $90; off-premises development/construction signs $300; a Planning Commission Review is $500; temporary sign review is $35. Installing a sign without a permit doubles the fee., one-time, per sign. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Food Handler Card — Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once, 3 years, valid statewide (rule R392-103). Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state) — Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, No fee, set locally. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in West Jordan, UT; what each one involves is set out on the West Jordan permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in West Jordan?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in West Jordan, UT need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in West Jordan, UT, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants5500
Food trucks5233
Fitness studios1140
Retail stores2141
Veterinary clinics2141
Salons and barbers3142
Auto repair shops4143
Childcare centres3053
Contractors and trades5055

Sources

Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, veterinary clinics page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the West Jordan permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

    Related

    Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.