Commercial Compliance Hub

20 permits · verified 2026-10-01

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Washington County Ut?

In short

A coffee shop in Washington County Ut, UT has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 13 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Southwest Utah Public Health Department charges $220 flat, one-time, per change of ownership for the food establishment conditional permit (change of ownership). 12 of the 20 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-01 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Washington County Ut

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Major Home Occupation Business Licenseonly if it applies to youWashington County Community Development Department$50.00 major home occupation business license (annual), plus the $10.00 application processing fee and the $10.00/$5.00 full-time/part-time employee fees; a 2-year license option is also available at the same per-year rate.Annual, or a 2-year option2026-10-01
County Alcohol Business Licenseonly if it applies to youWashington County Community Development DepartmentSingle-license application: $25.00 processing fee plus $250.00 alcohol license fee, per the county's own live alcohol-license application portal. Applying for multiple alcohol licenses at the same time: $225.00 for the first license plus $25.00 processing fee for each additional license, per the county's business-license-information page.Annual, expiring January 31; renewal due by February 28 (a 50% penalty applies after February 28, and a 100% penalty with required reapplication applies after March 31)2026-10-01
Food Establishment PermitSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$220–$660 a year, by risk category, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026: Risk 1 $220.00; Risk 2 $325.00; Risk 3 $450.00; Risk 4 $660.00not stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-01
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health DepartmentTier/Risk 1 $60.00 (plus $25.00 if applied for on-site); Tier/Risk 2 $85.00 (plus $25.00 if applied for on-site); Seasonal (up to 6 months) Tier 1 $125.00; Tier 2 $180.00. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.Per event, or up to 6 months under the seasonal tier2026-10-01
Food Handler Card / Food Safety Manager CertificationSouthwest Utah Public Health DepartmentFood Handler Card $25.00, valid 3 years; duplicate card $5.00. Food Safety Manager Exam Proctor Fee $25.00, including one retake. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.3 years (Food Handler Card); per exam (Food Safety Manager Proctor Fee)2026-10-01
Minor Home Occupation — License Not Required Under County Code § 10-26-3(B)only if it applies to youWashington County Community Development DepartmentNo feen/a — no license is issued unless a courtesy license is separately requested2026-10-01
Food Establishment Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$400–$660 one-time, per project, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026: Risk 1/2 $400.00; Risk 3/4 $660.00One-time, per project2026-10-01
Mobile Food Establishment PermitSouthwest Utah Public Health DepartmentMobile establishment plan review $380.00 (one-time); primary permit Tier 1 $350.00 a year; primary permit Tier 2 $500.00 a year. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.Annual, after a one-time $380.00 plan review for a new unit2026-10-01
Food Establishment Conditional Permit (Change of Ownership)only if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health Department$220 flat, one-time, per change of ownershipOne-time, per change of ownership2026-10-01
Food Handler CardUtah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services DivisionFood handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once3 years, valid statewide (rule R392-103)2026-09-04
Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state)Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services DivisionNo feeset locally2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Washington County Ut

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Business License (Standard)Washington County Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Washington County Ut pageAnnual, expiring January 31; an application filed after July 1 is prorated to half the annual fee2026-10-01
Building Permit and Related Building-Division Feesonly if it applies to youWashington County Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Washington County Ut pageOne-time, per project; add-on inspection fees are billed per occurrence2026-10-01
Zoning / Land Use / Planning Application Feesonly if it applies to youWashington County Community Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Washington County Ut pagePer application2026-10-01
Commercial Septic System Permitsonly if it applies to youSouthwest Utah Public Health DepartmentVaries — formula on the Washington County Ut pageOne-time per installation for a conventional system; annual renewal for an alternative/experimental system or a hauler-vehicle permit2026-10-01

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

UT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sales and Use Tax LicenseUtah State Tax CommissionNo feeongoing — no fixed expiration, with a filing frequency the state assigns and can revisit2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-04
Annual Renewalonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$18 a year; a late renewal adds $10annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Washington County Ut?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 20 records listed for a coffee shop in Washington County Ut, UT, 7 apply to every business of this type and 13 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

12 of the 20 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Major Home Occupation Business License: $50.00 major home occupation business license (annual), plus the $10.00 application processing fee and the $10.00/$5.00 full-time/part-time employee fees; a 2-year license option is also available at the same per-year rate.

County Alcohol Business License: Single-license application: $25.00 processing fee plus $250.00 alcohol license fee, per the county's own live alcohol-license application portal. Applying for multiple alcohol licenses at the same time: $225.00 for the first license plus $25.00 processing fee for each additional license, per the county's business-license-information page.

Food Establishment Permit: $220–$660 a year, by risk category, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026: Risk 1 $220.00; Risk 2 $325.00; Risk 3 $450.00; Risk 4 $660.00

Temporary Food Establishment Permit: Tier/Risk 1 $60.00 (plus $25.00 if applied for on-site); Tier/Risk 2 $85.00 (plus $25.00 if applied for on-site); Seasonal (up to 6 months) Tier 1 $125.00; Tier 2 $180.00. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.

Food Handler Card / Food Safety Manager Certification: Food Handler Card $25.00, valid 3 years; duplicate card $5.00. Food Safety Manager Exam Proctor Fee $25.00, including one retake. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.

Food Establishment Plan Review: $400–$660 one-time, per project, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026: Risk 1/2 $400.00; Risk 3/4 $660.00

Mobile Food Establishment Permit: Mobile establishment plan review $380.00 (one-time); primary permit Tier 1 $350.00 a year; primary permit Tier 2 $500.00 a year. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026.

Food Handler Card: Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Washington County Ut permits page and the UT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Washington County Ut?

Permits for a coffee shop in Washington County Ut, UT come from 5 separate offices: Washington County Community Development Department, Southwest Utah Public Health Department, Utah State Tax Commission, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Washington County Ut that other businesses do not?

Food Handler Card / Food Safety Manager Certification

Anyone handling food at a restaurant, coffee shop, or food truck anywhere in Washington County needs a Food Handler Card from SWUPHD: $25.00, valid for 3 years, with a $5.00 duplicate-card fee, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. A Food Safety Manager Exam Proctor Fee, $25.00 and including one retake, applies separately to a manager-level certification exam. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns.

Food Establishment Plan Review

Before building, remodeling, or changing ownership of a restaurant or coffee shop anywhere in Washington County, SWUPHD reviews the plans and charges a one-time fee of $400.00 for a Risk 1 or 2 establishment or $660.00 for a Risk 3 or 4 establishment, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026. This review is a prerequisite to the annual Food Establishment Permit listed separately. SWUPHD's coverage reaches every part of Washington County, including inside each of the 15 incorporated cities and towns, because it is a five-county district rather than a jurisdiction limited to unincorporated territory.

Shared with other businesses in Washington County Ut

  • Major Home Occupation Business License — Washington County Community Development Department, $50.00 major home occupation business license (annual), plus the $10.00 application processing fee and the $10.00/$5.00 full-time/part-time employee fees; a 2-year license option is also available at the same per-year rate., Annual, or a 2-year option. Also required for restaurants, childcare centres, salons and barbers, retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
  • County Alcohol Business License — Washington County Community Development Department, Single-license application: $25.00 processing fee plus $250.00 alcohol license fee, per the county's own live alcohol-license application portal. Applying for multiple alcohol licenses at the same time: $225.00 for the first license plus $25.00 processing fee for each additional license, per the county's business-license-information page., Annual, expiring January 31; renewal due by February 28 (a 50% penalty applies after February 28, and a 100% penalty with required reapplication applies after March 31). Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — Southwest Utah Public Health Department, $220–$660 a year, by risk category, per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026: Risk 1 $220.00; Risk 2 $325.00; Risk 3 $450.00; Risk 4 $660.00, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Temporary Food Establishment Permit — Southwest Utah Public Health Department, Tier/Risk 1 $60.00 (plus $25.00 if applied for on-site); Tier/Risk 2 $85.00 (plus $25.00 if applied for on-site); Seasonal (up to 6 months) Tier 1 $125.00; Tier 2 $180.00. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026., Per event, or up to 6 months under the seasonal tier. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Minor Home Occupation — License Not Required Under County Code § 10-26-3(B) — Washington County Community Development Department, No fee, n/a — no license is issued unless a courtesy license is separately requested. Also required for restaurants, childcare centres, salons and barbers, retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
  • Mobile Food Establishment Permit — Southwest Utah Public Health Department, Mobile establishment plan review $380.00 (one-time); primary permit Tier 1 $350.00 a year; primary permit Tier 2 $500.00 a year. Per the SWUPHD Fee Schedule effective May 1, 2026., Annual, after a one-time $380.00 plan review for a new unit. Also required for food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Food Establishment Conditional Permit (Change of Ownership) — Southwest Utah Public Health Department, $220 flat, one-time, per change of ownership, One-time, per change of ownership. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Handler Card — Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once, 3 years, valid statewide (rule R392-103). Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state) — Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, No fee, set locally. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Washington County Ut, UT; what each one involves is set out on the Washington County Ut permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Washington County Ut?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 10 of these permits. A coffee shop also needs Mobile Food Establishment Permit. A restaurant needs nothing here that a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Washington County Ut, UT, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants101010
Food trucks5560
Retail stores5382
Childcare centres4292
Salons and barbers5293
Contractors and trades6294
Auto repair shops20112
Fitness studios10111
Veterinary clinics10111

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page, retail stores page, restaurants page, childcare centres page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Washington County Ut permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Southwest Utah Public Health Department Fee Schedule, effective May 1, 2026Southwest Utah Public Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-02

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.