18 permits · verified 2026-09-30
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Weber County?
In short
A coffee shop in Weber County, UT has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Weber-Morgan Health Department charges $25 per worker ($15.00 state fee plus $10.00 WMHD training); a duplicate card is $5.00 for the wmhd food worker permit. 9 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-30 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Weber County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WMHD Food Worker Permit | Weber-Morgan Health Department | $25 per worker ($15.00 state fee plus $10.00 WMHD training); a duplicate card is $5.00 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-30 |
| WMHD Food Establishment Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | Weber-Morgan Health Department | New construction or an extensive remodel, by risk category: Risk 1 $425.00; Risk 2 $675.00; Risk 3 $1,050.00; Risk 4 $1,200.00. Onsite consultation or a small remodel: $100.00. Change-of-ownership review: $230.00. | one-time (new construction or extensive remodel) | 2026-09-30 |
| General Business License — Restaurant | Weber County Business License Division (Department of Operations Management) | $100 a year | annual (calendar year, January 1 to December 31); a license issued mid-year is prorated to year-end | 2026-09-30 |
| WMHD Food Establishment Permit (Restaurant / Coffee Shop) | Weber-Morgan Health Department | $200–$735 a year, by risk category (2026 fee schedule, effective July 1, 2026): Risk 1 $200.00; Risk 2 $400.00; Risk 3 $575.00; Risk 4 $735.00 | annual | 2026-09-30 |
| Food Handler Card | Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division | Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once | 3 years, valid statewide (rule R392-103) | 2026-09-04 |
| Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state) | Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division | No fee | set locally | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Weber County
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Inspection Add-On Fees (Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical)only if it applies to you | Weber County Building Inspection / Building Official | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | per permit | 2026-09-30 |
| Land Use Permit | Weber County Planning Division | $250 one-time, per new business license application ($150.00 Planning Division base fee plus $100.00 Engineering Division fee; a re-review, where needed, adds $75.00 Planning plus $25.00 Engineering) | one-time, accompanying a new business license application | 2026-09-30 |
| Building Permitonly if it applies to you | Weber County Building Inspection / Building Official | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | one-time, per permit | 2026-09-30 |
| Beer License — Class D (Special Event)only if it applies to you | Weber County Commission | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | per event, at commission-designated premises and times | 2026-09-30 |
| WMHD Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | Weber-Morgan Health Department | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | per event | 2026-09-30 |
| WMHD Onsite Wastewater (Septic) Permitonly if it applies to you | Weber-Morgan Health Department | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | per permit | 2026-09-30 |
| General Business License — Home Occupationonly if it applies to you | Weber County Business License Division (Department of Operations Management) | Varies — formula on the Weber County page | annual (calendar year, January 1 to December 31); a license issued mid-year is prorated to year-end | 2026-09-30 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
UT registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sales and Use Tax License | Utah State Tax Commission | No fee | ongoing — no fixed expiration, with a filing frequency the state assigns and can revisit | 2026-09-04 |
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $59 one-time filing | perpetual, but a renewal is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $59 one-time filing | perpetual, but a renewal is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | No fee | set by the city or county | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Renewalonly if it applies to you | Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code | $18 a year; a late renewal adds $10 | annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Weber County?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a coffee shop in Weber County, UT, 7 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $375.00. That is a floor, not a total. 9 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
WMHD Food Establishment Plan Review: New construction or an extensive remodel, by risk category: Risk 1 $425.00; Risk 2 $675.00; Risk 3 $1,050.00; Risk 4 $1,200.00. Onsite consultation or a small remodel: $100.00. Change-of-ownership review: $230.00.
WMHD Food Establishment Permit (Restaurant / Coffee Shop): $200–$735 a year, by risk category (2026 fee schedule, effective July 1, 2026): Risk 1 $200.00; Risk 2 $400.00; Risk 3 $575.00; Risk 4 $735.00
Food Handler Card: Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once
The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Weber County permits page and the UT state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Weber County?
Permits for a coffee shop in Weber County, UT come from 8 separate offices: Weber County Building Inspection / Building Official, Weber-Morgan Health Department, Weber County Business License Division (Department of Operations Management), Weber County Planning Division, Weber County Commission, Utah State Tax Commission, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- Weber County Building Inspection / Building OfficialIssues 2 permits on this page: Building Inspection Add-On Fees (Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical), Building Permitweber.municipalcodeonline.com/book?type=ordinances#name=Title_12_Building_Regulations_And_Site_Permits
- Weber-Morgan Health DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including WMHD Food Worker Permit, WMHD Food Establishment Plan Review, WMHD Food Establishment Permit (Restaurant / Coffee Shop)477 23rd St, Ogden, UT 84401 · (801) 399-7160 (Environmental Health); (801) 399-7100 (Administration)www.webermorganhealth.gov/about/fee-schedule-2
- Weber County Business License Division (Department of Operations Management)Issues 2 permits on this page: General Business License — Restaurant, General Business License — Home Occupation2380 Washington Blvd, Suite 240, Ogden, UT 84401 · (801) 399-8374 (shared with the Planning Division; this is the number the Business License Portal's own FAQ page lists for license questions)frontier.co.weber.ut.us/BusinessLicense/Temp/Step1
- Weber County Planning DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Land Use Permit(801) 399-8374www.webercountyutah.gov/planning/files.php
- Weber County CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Beer License — Class D (Special Event)weber.municipalcodeonline.com/book?type=ordinances#name=Title_8_Beer
- Utah State Tax CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax License210 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84134 · (801) 297-2200tax.utah.gov
- Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Food Handler Card, Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state)4315 South 2700 West, Taylorsville, UT 84129 · (385) 332-1499ag.utah.gov/regulatory-services/retail-food-regulatory-program
- Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Organization (LLC), General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration), Annual Renewal160 East 300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84111 · (801) 530-4849corporations.utah.gov
What does a coffee shop need in Weber County that other businesses do not?
WMHD Food Establishment Permit (Restaurant / Coffee Shop)
Any restaurant or coffee shop anywhere in Weber County — inside Ogden, every other incorporated city, Ogden Valley City, or the remaining unincorporated area — needs an annual food-establishment permit from the Weber-Morgan Health Department, because WMHD is a county-wide health authority for both Weber and Morgan Counties rather than a jurisdiction limited to unincorporated territory. The 2026 fee schedule, effective July 1, 2026 and superseding the prior June 26, 2025 schedule, prices the permit by risk category: Risk 1 $200.00, Risk 2 $400.00, Risk 3 $575.00, and Risk 4 $735.00 a year. A food-establishment plan review, required before new construction or an extensive remodel, is billed separately as its own WMHD requirement.
Shared with other businesses in Weber County
- WMHD Food Worker Permit — Weber-Morgan Health Department, $25 per worker ($15.00 state fee plus $10.00 WMHD training); a duplicate card is $5.00, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, food trucks and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- WMHD Food Establishment Plan Review — Weber-Morgan Health Department, New construction or an extensive remodel, by risk category: Risk 1 $425.00; Risk 2 $675.00; Risk 3 $1,050.00; Risk 4 $1,200.00. Onsite consultation or a small remodel: $100.00. Change-of-ownership review: $230.00., one-time (new construction or extensive remodel). Also required for restaurants, food trucks and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- General Business License — Restaurant — Weber County Business License Division (Department of Operations Management), $100 a year, annual (calendar year, January 1 to December 31); a license issued mid-year is prorated to year-end. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Handler Card — Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, Food handler permit fee of no more than $15, uniform statewide, paid to the local health department under rule R392-103; the approved training provider may also charge its own reasonable training fee, and may collect both at once, 3 years, valid statewide (rule R392-103). Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Food Service Establishment Permit (local, not state) — Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services Division, No fee, set locally. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Weber County, UT; what each one involves is set out on the Weber County permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Weber County?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 6 of these permits. A restaurant needs Beer License — Seasonal, Beer License — Class B (Restaurant, On-Premise) and Beer License — Class C (Draft, On or Off Premise), which a coffee shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 9 | 6 | 0 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 4 | 2 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 2 | 4 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 5 | 0 | 6 | 5 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
| Salons and barbers | 4 | 0 | 6 | 4 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Weber County permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Weber-Morgan Health Department 2026 Fee Schedule, effective July 1, 2026Weber-Morgan Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
