Salt Lake City, West Jordan and West Valley City
Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau)
In short
Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) issues 12 permits we publish for Salt Lake City, West Jordan and West Valley City, last verified 2026-09-09. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
Issued in Salt Lake City
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Permit | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | Priced by risk level, assigned by the Food Protection Bureau at application: Risk Level 1 (includes Shaved Ice Stand, Self-Service Mobile, Venue Cart) $275; Risk Level 2 (includes Venue Cart) $405; Risk Level 3 (includes Venue Cart) $555; Risk Level 4 $770. A new, converted or remodeled facility separately owes a plan review fee: Level 1 $580, Level 2 $870, Level 3 $1,140, Level 4 $1,345. A failed inspection or follow-up inspection is $155. | annual | 2026-09-09 |
| Mobile Food Service (Food Truck) Permit | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | Food Truck Permit Tier 1: $350/year; Tier 2: $500/year. A new or remodeled mobile unit separately owes a $755 plan review fee (Mobile Food Cart, Truck, Trailer). A separate Food Cart Permit (for carts and shaved-ice stands rather than trucks/trailers) is priced by risk level instead: Risk Level 1 $230, Level 2 $275, Level 3 $385. | annual | 2026-09-09 |
| Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | $115 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
| Cosmetology Facility Permit | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | Plan Review and Initial Permit: $305 plus $20/station. Permit Renewal: $220 plus $20/station. Follow-Up Inspection: $135. Temporary Cosmetology Facility Permit: $110 plus $20/station. | annual (renewal cycle inferred from the schedule's own 'Permit Renewal' line; not independently restated elsewhere) | 2026-09-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Issued in West Jordan
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetology Facility Permit | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | Plan Review and Initial Permit: $305 plus $20/station. Permit Renewal: $220 plus $20/station. Follow-Up Inspection: $135. Temporary Cosmetology Facility Permit: $110 plus $20/station. | annual (renewal cycle inferred from the schedule's own 'Permit Renewal' line; not independently restated elsewhere) | 2026-09-09 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | Priced by risk level, assigned by the Food Protection Bureau at application: Risk Level 1 (includes Shaved Ice Stand, Self-Service Mobile, Venue Cart) $275; Risk Level 2 (includes Venue Cart) $405; Risk Level 3 (includes Venue Cart) $555; Risk Level 4 $770. A new, converted or remodeled facility separately owes a plan review fee: Level 1 $580, Level 2 $870, Level 3 $1,140, Level 4 $1,345. A failed inspection or follow-up inspection is $155. | annual | 2026-09-09 |
| Mobile Food Service (Food Truck) Permit | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | Food Truck Permit Tier 1: $350/year; Tier 2: $500/year. A new or remodeled mobile unit separately owes a $755 plan review fee (Mobile Food Cart, Truck, Trailer). A separate Food Cart Permit (for carts and shaved-ice stands rather than trucks/trailers) is priced by risk level instead: Risk Level 1 $230, Level 2 $275, Level 3 $385. | annual | 2026-09-09 |
| Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | $115 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Issued in West Valley City
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service Inspectiononly if it applies to you | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | $115 per inspection | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-09 |
| Food Establishment Permit | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | Priced by risk level, assigned by the Food Protection Bureau at application: Risk Level 1 (includes Shaved Ice Stand, Self-Service Mobile, Venue Cart) $275; Risk Level 2 (includes Venue Cart) $405; Risk Level 3 (includes Venue Cart) $555; Risk Level 4 $770. A new, converted or remodeled facility separately owes a plan review fee: Level 1 $580, Level 2 $870, Level 3 $1,140, Level 4 $1,345. A failed inspection or follow-up inspection is $155. | annual | 2026-09-09 |
| Mobile Food Service (Food Truck) Permit | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | Food Truck Permit Tier 1: $350/year; Tier 2: $500/year. A new or remodeled mobile unit separately owes a $755 plan review fee (Mobile Food Cart, Truck, Trailer). A separate Food Cart Permit (for carts and shaved-ice stands rather than trucks/trailers) is priced by risk level instead: Risk Level 1 $230, Level 2 $275, Level 3 $385. | annual | 2026-09-09 |
| Cosmetology Facility Permit | Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau) | Plan Review and Initial Permit: $305 plus $20/station. Permit Renewal: $220 plus $20/station. Follow-Up Inspection: $135. Temporary Cosmetology Facility Permit: $110 plus $20/station. | annual (renewal cycle inferred from the schedule's own 'Permit Renewal' line; not independently restated elsewhere) | 2026-09-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Food Establishment PermitSalt Lake City
Salt Lake City has no health department of its own; this is the real, delegated local food-permitting authority — the Salt Lake County Health Department, confirmed as the department's current name since 2013 despite the city's own Mobile Food Business page still using the retired 'Salt Lake Valley Health Department' label. Plan review requires a minimum of 10 working days and must be approved before construction or remodeling begins. A city business license application also requires this permit to be on file. A coffee shop preparing and serving food or beverages for immediate consumption is licensed the same way as a restaurant.
Mobile Food Service (Food Truck) PermitSalt Lake City
Requires attending a Mobile Food Service Class, a signed Commissary Agreement (a residential kitchen is not allowed), and a Restroom Agreement, all completed before the plan review stage. This is the food-safety half of Salt Lake City's food-truck requirements; the city's own separate Mobile Food Business license (recorded above, from the Finance Department) additionally licenses the vehicle as a business and is required on top of this county permit.
Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service InspectionSalt Lake City
This is the Health Department's own kitchen/food-service inspection for a childcare centre that prepares or serves food, additional to and separate from the Utah DLBC state child-care license and the city's own Childcare Facilities business-license fee recorded above — easy to miss because it is filed with the county health department rather than the childcare licensing agency. The September 2026 Health Department Fee Schedule lists it as 'Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service Inspection' at $115.
Cosmetology Facility PermitSalt Lake City
Utah's own cosmetology board (DOPL) licenses only the individual practitioner, never the salon itself (see this site's Utah state page) — this county permit is the actual premises-level requirement for a Salt Lake City salon. The same fee schedule prices near-identical Body Art (tattoo/piercing) and Tanning facility categories separately, for a salon that also offers those services. On the city's own Business Licensing fee schedule, a salon pays only the base Commercial license fee (recorded above) — no separate salon or barbershop category exists there.
Cosmetology Facility PermitWest Jordan
Utah's own cosmetology board (DOPL) licenses only the individual practitioner, never the salon itself, per the state layer's own findings — this county permit is the actual premises-level requirement for a West Jordan salon. West Jordan's own business-license fee schedule carries no separate salon, barbershop, or personal-services category — a salon here pays only the flat base Business license fee on top of this county permit.
Food Establishment PermitWest Jordan
West Jordan has no health department of its own; this is the delegated county-level food-permitting authority, currently named 'Salt Lake County Health Department' since 2013 — the city's own Commercial Business License checklist (last updated 09/2020) still instructs applicants to contact the 'Salt Lake Valley Health Department,' the same retired name Salt Lake City's own site was found using. Plan review requires a minimum of 10 working days and must be approved before construction or remodeling begins. A coffee shop preparing and serving food or beverages for immediate consumption is licensed the same way as a restaurant.
Mobile Food Service (Food Truck) PermitWest Jordan
Requires attending a Mobile Food Service Class, a signed Commissary Agreement (a residential kitchen is not allowed), and a Restroom Agreement, all completed before the plan review stage. This is the food-safety half of a West Jordan food truck's requirements, required on top of both the city's own Vendor License (Food Truck) and the Fire Department's own mobile-food inspection fee, both recorded above.
Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service InspectionWest Jordan
The Health Department's own kitchen/food-service inspection for a childcare centre that prepares or serves food, additional to and separate from the Utah DLBC state child-care license recorded at the state layer, the West Jordan Fire Department's own Home Childcare Facility inspection recorded above (which applies only to home-based daycare), and the general Commercial Business Fire Inspection that a center-based childcare facility owes instead. Easy to miss because it is filed with the county health department rather than the childcare licensing agency.
Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service InspectionWest Valley City
The Health Department's own kitchen/food-service inspection for a childcare centre that prepares or serves food, additional to and separate from the Utah DLBC state child-care license recorded at the state layer and from the Fire Department's own business fire and life-safety inspection recorded above. Easy to miss because it is filed with the county health department rather than the childcare licensing agency.
Food Establishment PermitWest Valley City
West Valley City's own Business License Ordinance defines 'Health Department' to mean the Salt Lake County Health Department directly, the delegated local food-permitting authority for the city. Plan review requires a minimum of 10 working days and must be approved before construction or remodeling begins. A coffee shop preparing and serving food or beverages for immediate consumption is licensed the same way as a restaurant.
Mobile Food Service (Food Truck) PermitWest Valley City
Requires attending a Mobile Food Service Class, a signed Commissary Agreement (a residential kitchen is not allowed), and a Restroom Agreement, all completed before the plan review stage. This is the food-safety half of a West Valley City food truck's requirements; the city's own separate Food Vending Unit license (recorded above, capped citywide at fifteen) additionally licenses the vehicle as a business and is required on top of this county permit.
Cosmetology Facility PermitWest Valley City
Utah's own cosmetology board (DOPL) licenses only the individual practitioner, never the salon itself, per the state layer's own findings — this county permit is the actual premises-level requirement for a West Valley City salon. West Valley City's own business-license fee schedule carries no separate salon, barbershop, or personal-services category — a salon here pays only the flat base Commercial license fee on top of this county permit.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Salt Lake City, West Jordan and West Valley City
- Phone
- (385) 468-3845
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- About — Health Department department history, stating that the Salt Lake Valley Health Department became the Salt Lake County Health Department in 2013Salt Lake County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
- Health Department Fee Schedule, September 2026 editionSalt Lake County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
- Mobile Food Service — Food Protection, application sequence, commissary requirement and inspection checklistSalt Lake County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
- Salt Lake County Health Department Fee Schedule, published September 1, 2026Salt Lake County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
- SLCoHD Food Protection — Permanent Permits (HACCP-triggering processes, plan-review process, separate city business-license note)Salt Lake County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-30
Other offices serving Salt Lake City and West Jordan and nearby
- City of Salt Lake City Finance Department, Business Licensing Division
- West Jordan Fire Department
- City of West Valley City Community and Economic Development Department, Building Inspection Division
- City of Salt Lake City, Department of Community and Neighborhoods, Building Services Division
- City of West Jordan Finance Department, Business Licensing Division
- City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Building & Safety Division
- City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Planning and Zoning Division
- City of West Valley City Finance Department, Business Licensing Division
- Salt Lake City Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau
- West Valley City Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division
- City of Salt Lake City, Planning Division
- City of West Valley City Community and Economic Development Department, Planning and Zoning Division
Jurisdictions this office serves
Industry permit lists that include this agency
- Restaurants in Salt Lake City
- Coffee shops in Salt Lake City
- Salons and barbers in Salt Lake City
- Food trucks in Salt Lake City
- Childcare centres in Salt Lake City
- Restaurants in West Jordan
- Coffee shops in West Jordan
- Salons and barbers in West Jordan
- Food trucks in West Jordan
- Childcare centres in West Jordan
- Restaurants in West Valley City
- Coffee shops in West Valley City
- All Utah license pages
Utah jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
