Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-09

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in West Jordan?

In short

A childcare centre in West Jordan, UT has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Building & Safety Division charges $290 one-time, per certificate; first reinspection included at no charge, each additional reinspection $75 for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in West Jordan

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Home Childcare Facility Fire Inspectiononly if it applies to youWest Jordan Fire Department$44 per inspectionnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service Inspectiononly if it applies to youSalt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau)$115 per inspectionnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-09
Child Care Centre LicenseUtah Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and Background Checks$62 license fee, plus $200 for a new centre and $1.75 for every child of licensed capacityannual — the same fee applies at renewal as at first issue2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in West Jordan

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Business Fire InspectionWest Jordan Fire DepartmentVaries — formula on the West Jordan pagerecurring — either biennial or annual depending on which version of the fee schedule's own contradictory text currently governs; confirm with the Fire Department (801-840-4000)2026-09-09
General Business LicenseCity of West Jordan Finance Department, Business Licensing DivisionVaries — formula on the West Jordan pageannual — a 'license year' runs twelve consecutive calendar months from the date of commencement (not a calendar year), per Municipal Code § 4-1B-17; expires no later than 120 days after continuous closure of the business per § 4-1B-302026-09-09
Building Permit (Commercial)City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Building & Safety DivisionVaries — formula on the West Jordan pageone-time, per project; no refunds issued more than one year after issuance2026-09-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of West Jordan Community Development Department, Building & Safety Division$290 one-time, per certificate; first reinspection included at no charge, each additional reinspection $75one-time, no expiration2026-09-09
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of West Jordan Community Development Department, Planning and Zoning Division$150 one-time, per requestone-time, no stated expiration2026-09-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

UT registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$59 one-time filingperpetual, but a renewal is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Utah State Position (Entity Registration)only if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial CodeNo feeset by the city or county2026-09-04
Annual Renewalonly if it applies to youUtah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code$18 a year; a late renewal adds $10annual — due in the calendar month tied to the entity's own formation anniversary2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in West Jordan?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a childcare centre in West Jordan, UT, 5 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $290.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Child Care Centre License: $62 license fee, plus $200 for a new centre and $1.75 for every child of licensed capacity

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the West Jordan permits page and the UT state page.

Which offices issue these permits in West Jordan?

Permits for a childcare centre in West Jordan, UT come from 7 separate offices: West Jordan Fire Department, City of West Jordan Finance Department, Business Licensing Division, City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Building & Safety Division, City of West Jordan Community Development Department, Planning and Zoning Division, Salt Lake County Health Department, Environmental Health Division (Food Protection Bureau), Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code, Utah Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Licensing and Background Checks. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in West Jordan that other businesses do not?

3 of the 3 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in West Jordan: Home Childcare Facility Fire Inspection, Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service Inspection and Child Care Centre License.

Home Childcare Facility Fire Inspection

A named Fire Department line specific to home-based (in-residence) daycare, confirmed absent from Salt Lake City's and West Valley City's own fire fee tables. A center-based, commercial childcare facility does not have its own named category on this table and is instead billed under the general Commercial Business Fire Inspection's employee-count tiers, recorded above; the two are distinct lines on the schedule.

Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service Inspection

The Health Department's own kitchen/food-service inspection for a childcare centre that prepares or serves food, additional to and separate from the Utah DLBC state child-care license recorded at the state layer, the West Jordan Fire Department's own Home Childcare Facility inspection recorded above (which applies only to home-based daycare), and the general Commercial Business Fire Inspection that a center-based childcare facility owes instead. Easy to miss because it is filed with the county health department rather than the childcare licensing agency.

Child Care Centre License

The base license fee is a flat $62 whether a facility is a family home or a centre, but a centre pays two further charges a home does not: $200 as a one-time fee for a new centre or a change of location, and $1.75 for every child of approved capacity, applied at both first issue and renewal — a fifty-child centre pays $87.50 on that line alone. A family or home-based provider pays only the flat $62. Renewing more than thirty days late adds a $31 penalty plus, for a centre, seventy-five cents per child. Fingerprinting for a required background check is billed separately, at $42 per person.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in West Jordan, UT; what each one involves is set out on the West Jordan permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across UT and are covered on the UT state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in West Jordan?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Home Childcare Facility Fire Inspection, Residential Care (Adult and Child) Food Service Inspection and Child Care Centre License. A auto repair shop needs Sign Permit (Sign Review), Hazardous Materials Permit (Tier II), Motor Vehicle Body Shop License and Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Utah MVED Position, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in West Jordan, UT, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops4034
Coffee shops5035
Contractors and trades5035
Fitness studios1031
Food trucks5035
Restaurants5035
Retail stores2032
Salons and barbers3033
Veterinary clinics2032

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the West Jordan permits page and the UT state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Consolidated Fee Schedule, effective through June 30, 2027, updated June 23, 2026 by Resolution 26-021 — Business Licensing, Building Permits, Fire Department, Fire Inspections, and Planning and Engineering fee tablesCity of West Jordan · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-09
  2. Health Department Fee Schedule, September 2026 editionSalt Lake County Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-08
  3. Utah Division of Licensing and Background Checks — child care licensing fee schedule, effective 1 July 2025Utah Division of Licensing and Background Checks · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.