29 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a retail store in San Antonio?
In short
A retail store in San Antonio, TX has 13 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 16 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. San Antonio Metropolitan Health District charges $150 per re-inspection for the food establishment re-inspection fee. 11 of the 29 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Establishment Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | San Antonio Metropolitan Health District | $150 per re-inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Non-Conforming Use Registrationonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $350 new application, including letter | one year; annual renewal is $150 including the letter | 2026-08-24 |
| Coin-Operated Amusement Machine Decal | City of San Antonio Finance Department | $15 per machine, per year | expires 31 May each year | 2026-08-24 |
| Building and Fire Code Appealonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $155 per appeal | one-time, per appeal | 2026-08-24 |
| On-Premises Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Changeonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $795–$5,930 by site acreage | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Permit | San Antonio Metropolitan Health District | $310–$928 per year, banded by gross annual food sales | annual | 2026-08-24 |
| Landscape Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $175–$1,000 by site acreage | one-time, per review | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Commercial Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $500 per certificate | extendable at $100 per extension | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy — Tentonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $100 per tent | per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $100–$650 by number of storeys | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $350 per letter | one-time, per letter | 2026-08-24 |
| Conditional Use Authorisationonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $300 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Alcohol Varianceonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $300 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Wine and Beer Retailer's License — City Fee | City of San Antonio Finance Department | $750–$1,000 original or renewal, two years | two years | 2026-08-24 |
| Credit Access Business License | City of San Antonio Finance Department | $50 per year | one year after issuance | 2026-08-24 |
| Short-Term Rental Registration | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $300–$450 by type, per registration | renewed at the same rate | 2026-08-24 |
| Vacant Structure Registration | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $750 per year, structures other than single family | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Health Licensing Inspection — Change of Ownershiponly if it applies to you | San Antonio Metropolitan Health District | $150 per inspection | one-time, per change of ownership | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Operator's License | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $100–$375 on-premises or off-premises, per year | renewed at the same rate | 2026-08-24 |
| Package Store Permit — City Fee | City of San Antonio Finance Department | $500 per two years | two years | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | a plan review extension costs 25% of the plan review fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | an extension costs 50% of the permit, in addition to the permit cost | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Trade Permit — Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Certificate of Occupancy | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $200 per certificate | does not expire, but an expired certificate carries a $500 fine plus the certificate fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $50 per re-inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in San Antonio?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 29 records listed for a retail store in San Antonio, TX, 13 apply to every business of this type and 16 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 13 that always apply, 6 carry a flat fee, coming to $1,515.00. That is a floor, not a total. 11 of the 29 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
On-Premises Sign Permit: $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height
Zoning Change: $795–$5,930 by site acreage
Food Establishment Permit: $310–$928 per year, banded by gross annual food sales
Landscape Plan Review: $175–$1,000 by site acreage
Commercial Demolition Permit: $100–$650 by number of storeys
Wine and Beer Retailer's License — City Fee: $750–$1,000 original or renewal, two years
Short-Term Rental Registration: $300–$450 by type, per registration
Sign Operator's License: $100–$375 on-premises or off-premises, per year
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in San Antonio?
Permits for a retail store in San Antonio, TX come from 5 separate offices: San Antonio Metropolitan Health District, City of San Antonio Development Services Department, City of San Antonio Finance Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- San Antonio Metropolitan Health DistrictIssues 3 permits on this page: Food Establishment Re-inspection Fee, Food Establishment Permit, Health Licensing Inspection — Change of Ownershipwww.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/SAMHD/Licenses-Food-Permits
- City of San Antonio Development Services DepartmentIssues 19 permits on this page, including Non-Conforming Use Registration, Commercial Plan Review, Commercial Building Permit(210) 207-1111www.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/DSD/Resources/Fees
- City of San Antonio Finance DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Coin-Operated Amusement Machine Decal, Wine and Beer Retailer's License — City Fee, Credit Access Business License, Package Store Permit — City Fee(210) 207-5734www.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/Finance
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in San Antonio that other businesses do not?
3 of the 21 permits particular to a retail store here apply to no other business type we cover in San Antonio: Credit Access Business License, Short-Term Rental Registration and Package Store Permit — City Fee.
Coin-Operated Amusement Machine Decal
$15 per machine per year, pro-rated to $7.50 for a decal issued after 30 November, and every decal expires on 31 May regardless of when it was issued. Releasing a sealed machine costs $5. A bar or arcade with a dozen machines is looking at $180 a year on a fixed May expiry — easy to forget and cheap to fix.
Zoning Change
$795 up to half an acre, $1,770 to 5 acres, $3,182 to 10, $5,620 to 25, $5,814 to 50 and $5,930 above 50 acres, plus $120 per acre over 25, capped at $11,500. Postponing a zoning case is $405 and a continuance $405. If you need it faster, the expedited track is roughly double at every band — $1,560 up to half an acre rising to $11,400 above 25 acres, with a $23,000 cap — which is the largest expedite premium in this dataset.
Food Establishment Permit
$310 up to $49,999 in gross annual food sales; $618 from $50,000 to $149,999; $928 at $150,000 or more. San Antonio sits within a dollar or two of Austin at every band, and roughly 20% above the DSHS standard used by Dallas, Fort Worth and Tarrant County. A for-profit school contractor pays $240.
Alcohol Variance
$300 to seek a variance from the distance rules that keep alcohol sales away from schools, churches and hospitals. Cheaper than Arlington's $1,000 alcohol distance appeal. Needed before the state license can proceed where the site fails the separation requirement.
Wine and Beer Retailer's License — City Fee
$1,000 for the original license and $750 at the second and subsequent renewals, each running two years. A beer retailer's on-premise license is priced identically. The off-premise versions are far cheaper — $60 for a wine and malt beverage retailer's off-premise permit and $60 for a beer retailer's off-premise license — so a shop selling for consumption elsewhere pays a fraction of what a bar pays.
Credit Access Business License
$50 a year — half what Waco charges for the same registration. A credit access business, meaning payday and title lending, licenses with the city on top of its state authorisation.
Short-Term Rental Registration
$300 to register a Type 1 short-term rental and $450 for a Type 2, with renewals at exactly the same figures. Type 1 is broadly an owner-occupied property and Type 2 one that is not, which is why the city charges half as much again for the latter. A special exception appeal to the Board of Adjustment is $400.
Vacant Structure Registration
$750 a year for a commercial or other non-single-family vacant structure, against $250 for a vacant single-family home, plus an annual inspection at $0.01 a square foot with a $50 minimum. Registration is due within 90 days and late registration adds $150. This is the cost of holding an empty commercial building in San Antonio, and it is one very few owners budget for.
Health Licensing Inspection — Change of Ownership
$150 for the pre-permitting inspection of an existing food establishment when ownership changes and a new permit is needed but no new certificate of occupancy is required — the cheaper of the two routes through a restaurant acquisition, and worth establishing early which one applies. A food permit more than 30 days overdue adds a $100 late fee, and replacing lost permit documentation is $15.
Sign Operator's License
$100 for an on-premises sign operator's license and $375 for an off-premises one, each renewing at the same figure. A master sign electrician renews the city license at $125. Off-premises signs also carry annual inspection fees — $50 up to 300 sq ft and $75 from 300 to 672 sq ft — and a digital off-premises sign is inspected annually at $200 to $400 by size, which is a standing cost a billboard operator has to carry.
Package Store Permit — City Fee
$500 for two years, against $75 for a wine-only package store permit. A brewpub license is $500, a local distributor's permit $100, a bonded warehouse permit $150 and a promotional permit $300. At the top end, a wholesaler's permit is $1,875 and a manufacturer's agent's warehousing permit $750.
Shared with other businesses in San Antonio
- Food Establishment Re-inspection Fee — San Antonio Metropolitan Health District, $150 per re-inspection, per inspection. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Non-Conforming Use Registration — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $350 new application, including letter, one year; annual renewal is $150 including the letter. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Building and Fire Code Appeal — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $155 per appeal, one-time, per appeal. Also required for restaurants, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- On-Premises Sign Permit — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, auto repair shops, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Landscape Plan Review — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $175–$1,000 by site acreage, one-time, per review. Also required for restaurants, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Temporary Commercial Certificate of Occupancy — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $500 per certificate, extendable at $100 per extension. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Certificate of Occupancy — Tent — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $100 per tent, per event. Also required for restaurants, food trucks and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Commercial Demolition Permit — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $100–$650 by number of storeys, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Zoning Verification Letter — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $350 per letter, one-time, per letter. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops, fitness studios, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Conditional Use Authorisation — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $300 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in San Antonio, TX; what each one involves is set out on the San Antonio permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in San Antonio?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 16 of these permits. A retail store also needs Credit Access Business License, Short-Term Rental Registration, Vacant Structure Registration and 2 more. A restaurant needs Mixed Beverage Permit — City Fee, School Food Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 19 | 16 | 5 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 10 | 9 | 12 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 7 | 14 | 0 |
| Contractors and trades | 9 | 6 | 15 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 5 | 16 | 0 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 3 | 18 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 19 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 2 | 19 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 1 | 20 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, fitness studios page, auto repair shops page, contractors and trades page, coffee shops page and veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Finance Compliance & Resolution FeesCity of San Antonio Finance Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Development Fee Schedule, rev. October 2025City of San Antonio Development Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- City of San Antonio Fee Schedule — Food Establishment PermitCity of San Antonio (via Texas DSHS Local Ordinance Registry) · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
