15 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in San Antonio?
In short
A contractor or trade in San Antonio, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of San Antonio Development Services Department charges $155 per appeal for the building and fire code appeal. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building and Fire Code Appealonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $155 per appeal | one-time, per appeal | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Changeonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $795–$5,930 by site acreage | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Landscape Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $175–$1,000 by site acreage | one-time, per review | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $100–$650 by number of storeys | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Contractor License | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $85 initial city license | renewed at $35 | 2026-08-24 |
| Master Electrical License | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $300 two-year city license renewal | two years | 2026-08-24 |
| Vacant Structure Registration | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $750 per year, structures other than single family | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Operator's License | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $100–$375 on-premises or off-premises, per year | renewed at the same rate | 2026-08-24 |
| Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $110 non-refundable application | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | a plan review extension costs 25% of the plan review fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | an extension costs 50% of the permit, in addition to the permit cost | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Trade Permit — Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $50 per re-inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in San Antonio?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a contractor or trade in San Antonio, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $1,135.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Zoning Change: $795–$5,930 by site acreage
Landscape Plan Review: $175–$1,000 by site acreage
Commercial Demolition Permit: $100–$650 by number of storeys
Sign Operator's License: $100–$375 on-premises or off-premises, per year
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in San Antonio?
Permits for a contractor or trade in San Antonio, TX come from 3 separate offices: City of San Antonio Development Services Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of San Antonio Development Services DepartmentIssues 12 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review, Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Trade Permit — Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing(210) 207-1111www.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/DSD/Resources/Fees
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Electrical Contractor License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
What does a contractor or trade need in San Antonio that other businesses do not?
3 of the 9 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in San Antonio: Demolition Contractor License, Master Electrical License and Electrical Contractor License.
Landscape Plan Review
$175 up to 1.9 acres, $200 for 2-2.9, $300 for 3-5.9, $400 for 6-10.9, $500 for 11-15.9, $600 for 16-20.9, $700 for 21-30.9, $800 for 31-35.9, $900 for 36-40.9 and $1,000 at 41 acres or more. A commercial pool carries its own landscape plan review on the same acreage bands. Eligible for the city Fee Waiver Programme.
Commercial Demolition Permit
$100 for a single-storey commercial building, $200 for two to three storeys and $650 above three — San Antonio is one of only two cities in this dataset that bands demolition by height rather than area, the other being Abilene. Residential demolition is $75. Eligible for the city Fee Waiver Programme.
Demolition Contractor License
$85 to license initially and $35 to renew — the renewal is under half the initial fee, which is unusual and worth noting against Fort Worth, where a specialized certificate renews at the full $1,125. A duplicate copy of the license is $5 plus tax.
Master Electrical License
$300 to renew the city license for two years. Registering a state electrical contractor license with the city, and renewing it annually, is $85. A restricted residential wireman renews at $60 for two years, a maintenance electrician at $60, and a maintenance technician — limited to work under a maintenance permit — at $35 a year. Changing the DBA on a master license is $20.
Electrical Contractor License
Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.
Shared with other businesses in San Antonio
- Building and Fire Code Appeal — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $155 per appeal, one-time, per appeal. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Zoning Change — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $795–$5,930 by site acreage, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Vacant Structure Registration — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $750 per year, structures other than single family, one year. Also required for retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Sign Operator's License — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $100–$375 on-premises or off-premises, per year, renewed at the same rate. Also required for retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in San Antonio, TX; what each one involves is set out on the San Antonio permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in San Antonio?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 6 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Demolition Contractor License, Master Electrical License and Electrical Contractor License. A retail store needs Food Establishment Re-inspection Fee, Non-Conforming Use Registration, Coin-Operated Amusement Machine Decal and 12 more, which a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 21 | 6 | 3 | 15 |
| Fitness studios | 10 | 3 | 6 | 7 |
| Restaurants | 19 | 4 | 5 | 15 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 1 | 8 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 0 | 9 | 4 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 0 | 9 | 7 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 9 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 0 | 9 | 3 |
| Veterinary clinics | 4 | 0 | 9 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Development Fee Schedule, rev. October 2025City of San Antonio Development Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
