13 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Midland?
In short
A contractor or trade in Midland, TX has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Midland Planning Division charges $650 per application for the planned district zone change. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Midland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preliminary Plat Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Midland Planning Division | $350–$500 by site acreage | reinstatement after lapse is $50 | 2026-08-24 |
| Planned District Zone Changeonly if it applies to you | City of Midland Planning Division | $650 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Standard Zone Changeonly if it applies to you | City of Midland Planning Division | $500 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Replat Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Midland Planning Division | $250 per replat | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Flammable and Combustible Liquids Tank Permitonly if it applies to you | Midland Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Final Plat Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Midland Planning Division | $355–$505 by site acreage, plus $1 per page | a 30-day extension is $50 | 2026-08-24 |
| Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $110 non-refundable application | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Midland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Midland page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Board of Adjustment Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Midland Planning Division | $600 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Plan Review | City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and Inspections | Varies — formula on the Midland page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Protection System Permitonly if it applies to you | Midland Fire Marshal's Office | No fee | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Midland?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a contractor or trade in Midland, TX, 2 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
4 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Preliminary Plat Application: $350–$500 by site acreage
Final Plat Application: $355–$505 by site acreage, plus $1 per page
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Midland permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Midland?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Midland, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and Inspections, City of Midland Planning Division, Midland Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Midland Development Services, Permitting and InspectionsIssues 2 permits on this page: Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Plan Reviewwww.midlandtexas.gov/1424/PermitMidland
- City of Midland Planning DivisionIssues 6 permits on this page, including Preliminary Plat Application, Planned District Zone Change, Zoning Board of Adjustment Applicationwww.midlandtexas.gov/1113/Fee-Schedule
- Midland Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Flammable and Combustible Liquids Tank Permit, Fire Protection System Permit1500 W Wall Street, Midland, TX 79701 · 432-685-7333www.midlandtexas.gov/255/Fire-Marshals-Office
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Electrical Contractor License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
What does a contractor or trade need in Midland that other businesses do not?
1 of the 7 permits particular to a contractor or trade here applies to no other business type we cover in Midland: Electrical Contractor License.
Final Plat Application
$355 up to 50 acres and $505 above, each plus $1 per page. An administrative plat is $250, a digital file conversion $50, and recording is $60 for plats up to 18" x 24" and $80 above that. Related documents are $26. A 30-day extension costs $50.
Electrical Contractor License
Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.
Shared with other businesses in Midland
- Preliminary Plat Application — City of Midland Planning Division, $350–$500 by site acreage, reinstatement after lapse is $50. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Planned District Zone Change — City of Midland Planning Division, $650 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Standard Zone Change — City of Midland Planning Division, $500 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Replat Application — City of Midland Planning Division, $250 per replat, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Flammable and Combustible Liquids Tank Permit — Midland Fire Marshal's Office, No fee, not stated in the published material. Also required for auto repair shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Midland, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Midland permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Midland?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 6 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Electrical Contractor License. A retail store needs Vendor Permit, Food Service Establishment Permit, Farmers Market Permit and 4 more, which a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 13 | 6 | 1 | 7 |
| Restaurants | 11 | 5 | 2 | 6 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 2 | 5 | 0 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 2 | 5 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 7 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 7 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 7 | 4 |
| Salons and barbers | 1 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, fitness studios page, retail stores page and auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Midland permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Planning Fee ScheduleCity of Midland · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
