Commercial Compliance Hub

19 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Lubbock?

In short

A retail store in Lubbock, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety charges $75 per site for the sign permit. 14 of the 19 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Lubbock

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Establishment PermitCity of Lubbock Environmental Health$100–$350 by risk bandnot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Temporary Food Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Environmental Health$52 per permitunder 14 days2026-08-24
Sample Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Environmental Health$25 for the first two days, then $5 for each day afternot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Food Processing Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Environmental Health$135–$205 per year, by floor areanot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Contractor RegistrationCity of Lubbock Department of Building Safety$0–$65 per year1 year, running 1 January to 31 December2026-08-24
Flammable Liquid and LPG Tank Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office$50–$300 per tank, install or removalper permit2026-08-24
Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Signonly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office$30–$2,000 per permit, by typeper permit or per event2026-08-24
Zoning and Platting Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Planning Department$50–$1,500 per application, by typeper application2026-08-24
Public Infrastructure Plan Review, Testing and Inspectiononly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Engineering ServicesPlan review is the greater of a $100 minimum or the unit rate — $0.25 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.30 per linear foot of sewer pipe, $0.50 per linear foot of curb. Testing and inspection is a $200 administration fee plus $0.65 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.95 per linear foot of sewer pipe or $0.65 per square yard of pavementper project2026-08-24
Drainage, Grading and Cut-and-Fill Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Engineering Services$25–$3,500 per review, by type and acreageper review2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lubbock

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Department of Building Safety$75 per siteper permit2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Lubbock Department of Building SafetyVaries — formula on the Lubbock pageper permit; an expired permit renews at 50% of the original fee2026-08-24
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Lubbock Department of Building SafetyVaries — formula on the Lubbock pagenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-24
Mechanical, Plumbing and Electrical Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Lubbock Department of Building SafetyVaries — formula on the Lubbock pageper permit2026-08-24
Fire Protection System Plan ReviewCity of Lubbock Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Lubbock pageper review2026-08-24
Final Fire InspectionCity of Lubbock Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Lubbock pageper inspection2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Lubbock?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 19 records listed for a retail store in Lubbock, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 14 of the 19 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Permit: $100–$350 by risk band

Sample Permit: $25 for the first two days, then $5 for each day after

Food Processing Permit: $135–$205 per year, by floor area

Contractor Registration: $0–$65 per year

Flammable Liquid and LPG Tank Permit: $50–$300 per tank, install or removal

Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Sign: $30–$2,000 per permit, by type

Zoning and Platting Application: $50–$1,500 per application, by type

Public Infrastructure Plan Review, Testing and Inspection: Plan review is the greater of a $100 minimum or the unit rate — $0.25 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.30 per linear foot of sewer pipe, $0.50 per linear foot of curb. Testing and inspection is a $200 administration fee plus $0.65 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.95 per linear foot of sewer pipe or $0.65 per square yard of pavement

Drainage, Grading and Cut-and-Fill Review: $25–$3,500 per review, by type and acreage

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lubbock permits page and the TX state page.

Is Lubbock expensive for a retail store?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Lubbock sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Sign Permit: Lubbock charges $75. Across 5 jurisdictions it runs from $75 here to $114 in Amarillo, with a median of $88. Nowhere else covered here charges less.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Sign Permit varies by $39 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Lubbock?

Permits for a retail store in Lubbock, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety, City of Lubbock Environmental Health, City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office, City of Lubbock Planning Department, City of Lubbock Engineering Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Lubbock that other businesses do not?

Sample Permit

$25 for the first two days and $5 a day after — half the temporary permit rate, for sampling rather than selling. A distinct permit type most Texas cities do not publish separately, and the right one for a grocer or producer running an in-store tasting.

Public Infrastructure Plan Review, Testing and Inspection

These are the charges for putting public water, sewer or paving into the ground — a new-build or a subdivision meets them, a fit-out in an existing unit does not. Review and inspection are priced separately and both are charged per plan type, so a site laying all three pays six charges. Inspection is much the dearer of the two: sewer inspection at 95 cents a linear foot is more than three times the 30-cent review rate. Note the two methods differ — review is the GREATER of the minimum or the unit rate, while inspection is the administration fee PLUS the unit rate.

Shared with other businesses in Lubbock

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lubbock, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Lubbock permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Lubbock?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 9 of these permits. A retail store also needs Flammable Liquid and LPG Tank Permit. A restaurant needs Grit Interceptor and Oil/Water Separator Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Lubbock, TX, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Restaurants11912
Contractors and trades9732
Auto repair shops5461
Coffee shops5461
Fitness studios3281
Food trucks2191
Salons and barbers2191
Childcare centres3192
Veterinary clinics3192

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, contractors and trades page, fitness studios page and veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lubbock permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Environmental Health — Food Establishment Permit types and feesCity of Lubbock · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. City of Lubbock Public Infrastructure Plan Review, Testing and Inspection Fees, November 2023City of Lubbock Engineering Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.