8 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Carrollton?
In short
A coffee shop in Carrollton, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division charges $75 per 14 days for the temporary food establishment permit for change of ownership. 3 of the 8 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Carrollton
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary Food Establishment Permit for Change of Ownershiponly if it applies to you | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $75 per 14 days | 14 days | 2026-08-24 |
| Farmers Market Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $100–$150 per year, operator or vendor | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $45 per hour, two-hour minimum | per reinspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Permit | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $250–$770 per year, by establishment type | 1 year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Certification | City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division | $10 per certification | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Carrollton?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 8 records listed for a coffee shop in Carrollton, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $10.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 8 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Farmers Market Permit: $100–$150 per year, operator or vendor
Food Establishment Reinspection Fee: $45 per hour, two-hour minimum
Food Establishment Permit: $250–$770 per year, by establishment type
Which offices issue these permits in Carrollton?
Permits for a coffee shop in Carrollton, TX come from 3 separate offices: City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Carrollton Environmental Quality DivisionIssues 5 permits on this page, including Temporary Food Establishment Permit for Change of Ownership, Farmers Market Permit, Food Establishment Reinspection Fee1945 E Jackson Road, Carrollton, TX 75006www.cityofcarrollton.com/departments/departments-a-f/environmental-quality/food-consumer-safety
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a coffee shop need in Carrollton that other businesses do not?
Temporary Food Establishment Permit for Change of Ownership
$75 for fourteen days. This is the bridge permit that lets a business keep trading between contracts exchanging and the new owner's own permit issuing — a fortnight, not indefinitely. If a sale is going to take longer than two weeks to settle, ask the division what happens on day fifteen before you complete.
Farmers Market Permit
Two permits, not one: the market operator pays $150 a year and each concession vendor pays $100 a year. If you run the market you need the operator permit; if you have a stall at it you need the vendor permit; if you do both you need both. Special event food sales are charged separately at $50 per food vendor.
Food Establishment Reinspection Fee
Charged by the hour with a two-hour minimum, so the floor is $90 and there is no ceiling. Most cities in this dataset charge a flat reinspection fee — Garland $200, McKinney $200, Brazos County $100 — and a flat fee is predictable in a way an hourly one is not. Applies where an establishment fails to meet code standards at first inspection.
Food Handler Certification
$10 for the state-accredited food handlers certification. The city also runs its own on-site food service worker class at $80 per class, which is the option worth considering when you are training a whole shift rather than one new hire. The schedule does not state how long a certification lasts; Texas food handler certificates generally run two years, but confirm with the division rather than relying on that.
Shared with other businesses in Carrollton
- Food Establishment Permit — City of Carrollton Environmental Quality Division, $250–$770 per year, by establishment type, 1 year. Also required for restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Carrollton?
A coffee shop and a retail store in Carrollton, TX need exactly the same 5 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 5 | 5 | 0 | 0 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 5 | 0 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 3 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Carrollton permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Carrollton Code of Ordinances Chapter 31, Comprehensive Fee Schedule, effective 1 October 2025 — Environmental Quality Division extract filed with Texas DSHS 27 October 2025City of Carrollton, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
