Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-08-26

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Beaumont?

In short

A retail store in Beaumont, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Beaumont Building Codes Division charges $125 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-26 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Beaumont

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Parking Lot, Paving and Site Works Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Beaumont Building Codes Division$50–$300 per permit, by work typeper permit2026-08-26
Temporary Food Service Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health$52 per permit14 consecutive days2026-08-26
Inspection and Re-Inspection Feeonly if it applies to youCity of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health$150–$200 inspection or re-inspectionper inspection2026-08-26
Yearly Gas InspectionCity of Beaumont Building Codes Division$100 per year1 year2026-08-26
Retail Food Store PermitCity of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health$19,250–$35,750 per year, by checkout countersnot stated in the published schedule2026-08-26
Seafood Establishment Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health$22–$44 retail or wholesalenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-26

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Beaumont

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building PermitCity of Beaumont Building Codes DivisionVaries — formula on the Beaumont pageper permit2026-08-26
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Beaumont Building Codes Division$125 per certificate30 days for a temporary certificate2026-08-26
Mechanical, Electrical, Plumbing and Gas PermitCity of Beaumont Building Codes DivisionVaries — formula on the Beaumont pageper permit2026-08-26

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Beaumont?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a retail store in Beaumont, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $225.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Parking Lot, Paving and Site Works Permit: $50–$300 per permit, by work type

Inspection and Re-Inspection Fee: $150–$200 inspection or re-inspection

Retail Food Store Permit: $19,250–$35,750 per year, by checkout counters

Seafood Establishment License: $22–$44 retail or wholesale

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Beaumont permits page and the TX state page.

Is Beaumont expensive for a retail store?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Beaumont sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Beaumont charges $125. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 12 charge less, 8 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Beaumont?

Permits for a retail store in Beaumont, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Beaumont Building Codes Division, City of Beaumont Public Health Department, Environmental Health, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Beaumont that other businesses do not?

Retail Food Store Permit

Banded by checkout counters, which no other jurisdiction in this dataset uses: $192.50 for 0 to 2 counters, $247.50 for 3 to 5, $302.50 for 6 to 9 and $357.50 for 10 or more. The steps are an even $55 apart. Like the chair bands, it is a proxy for size a retailer can count before applying — and one that changes if you reconfigure the front of the store.

Shared with other businesses in Beaumont

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Beaumont, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Beaumont permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Beaumont?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 6 of these permits. A restaurant needs Food Permit and Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Beaumont, TX, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Restaurants8602
Coffee shops5421
Auto repair shops2240
Childcare centres2151
Contractors and trades2151
Fitness studios2151
Food trucks2151
Veterinary clinics2151
Salons and barbers1061

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the veterinary clinics page, restaurants page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Beaumont permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Beaumont Ordinance No. 25-058, FY2026 fee schedule, Environmental Health (filed with Texas DSHS 30 October 2025)City of Beaumont, filed with Texas Department of State Health Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-26

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.