Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Warwick?

In short

A fitness studio in Warwick, RI has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Warwick Zoning Board of Review charges $100 one-time, per application (the 'Multi-Family Dwelling or Commercial Property' rate; a lower $50.00 rate applies only to a single-family residential dwelling) for the zoning certificate. 2 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Warwick

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permit (fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Warwick Building DepartmentNo feenot stated in the City's published forms or fee schedule2026-09-12
General Business Licensing — City of Warwick Board of Public Safety structure (retail, veterinary, fitness)only if it applies to youCity of Warwick Police Department, Licensing DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Warwick

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Warwick Building DepartmentNo feeone-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Warwick Zoning Board of Review$100 one-time, per application (the 'Multi-Family Dwelling or Commercial Property' rate; a lower $50.00 rate applies only to a single-family residential dwelling)one-time, per application; the City's own form states a minimum of fifteen business days to process2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit)only if it applies to youCity of Warwick Zoning Board of ReviewVaries — formula on the Warwick pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Prevention/Commercial Fire Inspection (fee not published)only if it applies to youWarwick Fire DepartmentNo feenot stated on the Fire Department's Fire Prevention page2026-09-12
Building PermitCity of Warwick Building DepartmentVaries — formula on the Warwick pageone-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

RI registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$150 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Rhode Island Department of State Guidanceonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$50 a year; missing 31 May adds a further $25annual — filed between 1 February and 1 May, excluding the year of formation2026-09-04
Sales Tax PermitRhode Island Division of TaxationNo feeannual — runs 1 July through 30 June, and still must be renewed every year despite no fee2026-09-04
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youRhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division$230 minimum one-time filing, for up to 75 million authorised sharesperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Warwick?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in Warwick, RI, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

2 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 6 have no fee published at all.

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Warwick permits page and the RI state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Warwick?

Permits for a fitness studio in Warwick, RI come from 6 separate offices: City of Warwick Building Department, City of Warwick Zoning Board of Review, Warwick Fire Department, City of Warwick Police Department, Licensing Division, Rhode Island Department of State, Business Services Division, Rhode Island Division of Taxation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Warwick that other businesses do not?

General Business Licensing — City of Warwick Board of Public Safety structure (retail, veterinary, fitness)

The City's published pages set no fee for a general business license for a retail store, veterinary practice or fitness studio. The City Clerk's Office page covers vital records, land recordings and dog licenses, and refers trade-name certificates to the Rhode Island Secretary of State. The City's Board of Public Safety page states that this three-member board 'acts as the licensing authority for the City of Warwick,' and the Police Department's Licensing Division processes license and permit requests by appointment only; the City's Businesses and Building Department Forms pages route a 'Business License Application' to that Police Department page. The Licensing Division page lists Concealed Carry, Weapons Carry and Raffle applications and names no license category for an ordinary retail store, veterinary practice or fitness studio. For these three industries the City-level steps recorded on this page are the Building Permit, Zoning Certificate and Zoning Board of Review process, alongside any Rhode Island state credential that applies to the trade.

Shared with other businesses in Warwick

  • Sign Permit (fee not published) — City of Warwick Building Department, No fee, not stated in the City's published forms or fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Warwick, RI; what each one involves is set out on the Warwick permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across RI and are covered on the RI state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Warwick?

A fitness studio and a retail store in Warwick, RI need exactly the same 2 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Warwick, RI, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Retail stores2200
Veterinary clinics3201
Auto repair shops3112
Salons and barbers3112
Coffee shops4113
Restaurants4113
Childcare centres2022
Contractors and trades4024
Food trucks3023

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Warwick permits page and the RI state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Licenses & Permits — the Warwick Police Department Licensing Division's own current page (Concealed Carry, Weapons Carry, and Raffle applications; appointment-only intake)City of Warwick Police Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Board of Public Safety — the City's own current page stating the Board 'acts as the licensing authority for the City of Warwick'City of Warwick · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  3. City Clerk's Office — the department's own current page, listing vital records, land recordings, and dog licenses but no business-licensing functionCity of Warwick · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  4. Businesses — the City's own current page routing 'Business License Application' to the Police Department Licensing DivisionCity of Warwick · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.